Appropriation

97 - Automne 2019

Contemporary art practices are constantly going outside the field of art to appropriate the codes, gestures, and mechanisms of other social and cultural spheres. However, appropriation also involves the question of social responsibility with regards to artists and curators, particularly in recent debates around cultural appropriation. The aim of this issue is to take some distance from the polarization of the controversies so as to try to better understand what these various forms of appropriation show us about current artistic creation at the aesthetic, ethical, and political levels.

$12.00

Articles à la pièce

Sommaire:

EDITO

Borrowing Without Giving Back
Sylvette Babin

DOSSIER : APPROPRIATION

Artistic Appropriation Versus Cultural Appropriation
Starting with the first definition of the act of appropriation, “to take something that does not belong to us,” the author compares the approach of appropriation artists (David Krippendorff, Sherrie Levine, Richard Prince, and others) with that of visual artists accused of cultural appropriation (Sam Durant, Dominic Gagnon, Dana Schutz, and others). The aim is to show that although the act seems similar on both sides, the motivations and consequences are diametrically opposed. One side tries to reveal relations of power, while the other tries to deny them.
[Translated from the French by Oana Avasilichioaei]

Jean-Philippe Uzel

Against Innovation: Appropriation and Disruption in the Age of Immaterial Bondage
Appropriation is defined here as the praxis that combines knowledge involved in making a work of art, activating its ideas, and engaging with the reactions they trigger. In Cannibal Culture, Deborah Root outlines the Western tendency to commodify difference in Other cultures, an idea that is enhanced through Rimbaud’s project to be absolutely modern and through fetishized innovation in today’s immaterial economy and art markets. In conjunction with plans of disruption, innovation expands corporate profits by privatizing public services and monetizing previously free amenities. As new creations benefit from limited copyright protection, entertainment firms such as Disney continually re-launch their titles so that their content never enters the public domain. Which begs the question: where exactly is culture?

Oli Sorenson

Art in the Age of Artificial Intelligence
In this article, the author considers the intersections of artificial intelligence and art production by looking at works by AICAN (Ahmed Elgammal), Obvious (Hugo Caselles-Dupré, Pierre Fautrel, and Gauthier Vernier), Mario Klingemann, and Adam Basanta. The author examines the impact of AI on conventional art world concepts of artist attribution, ownership, and creativity, while questioning whether algorithms may one day become so advanced that machine artists could replace human artists altogether.

Shauna Jean Doherty

Expropriation as Art Practice
Through the example of Adelita Husni-Bey’s White Paper series, the author approaches appropriation as an art-historical concept that cannot be dissociated from its economic and political backgrounds with regard to property. Given its direct impact upon the meaning of property, it is fruitful to relate appropriation to and distinguish it from the concept of expropriation. This concept may also serve an art-historical purpose when it comes to works such as White Paper, in the sense that questions of property are as relevant as, or even more important than, traditional questions concerning authorship and the institutional framework of art.

David A. J. Murrieta Flores

Art: Whose Legacy?
Presented in the exhibition The Radical Imaginary: The Social Contract at Centre VOX in Montreal, Jill Magid’s The Proposal overturns the usual discourse on appropriation by taking a non-transgressive approach. By following extremely restrictive copyright laws to the letter, the artist reveals the breaches and abuses authorized by the law. This radical subjection to excessive authority places the economic interests of copyright owners above patrimonial needs and exposes the blind spot of arts law: the survival of artworks in the cultural landscape.
[Translated from the French by Louise Ashcroft]

Dominique Sirois-Rouleau

Appropriation. Panel discussion
Why organize a discussion on artistic appropriation when everyone is talking about cultural appropriation? Isn’t the goal of artistic appropriation ultimately to justify cultural appropriation? I think it’s important to respond to these questions briefly, and, in the process, explain why we’re having this panel. Artistic appropriation is a sort of collateral victim of debates on cultural appropriation. That’s a pity, because the technique of appropriation in art, or what is also known as “appropriationism,” permeates all of modern and contemporary art and is central to understanding today’s art practices. What is particularly interesting is that the artists who use appropriation embrace the subversive aspect of their gesture. They appropriate something that doesn’t belong to them — generally an image made by another artist, advertising creative, or designer — and assume the consequences, often legal, of this violent act. Yet, when it comes to artists who are accused of cultural appropriation, the violent aspect of their gesture is totally denied. I find this contrast significant, and I’d like to launch the debate with this idea: on the one hand, appropriation artists who take responsibility for their transgressive gestures and, on the other hand, artists who adopt an ethical stance by presenting themselves as allies of the cultures that they highlight, even when members of these minority cultures contradict them.
[Translated from the French by Käthe Roth]

Johanne Lamoureux, Stéphane Martelly, Caroline Monnet, Modérée par Jean-Philippe Uzel

Cultural Imperative, Appropriationist Regime and Visual Art
Afro-Caribbean visual artist Eddy Firmin discusses cultural appropriation not as an issue that is specific to our times, but as the questioning of a discursive regime of Western art—the appropriationist regime. At the same time, he posits the notion of the cultural imperative in order to underline the intimate rationale supporting the dispossession of local aesthetic resources of Southern artists. This notion forms an antagonistic pair with the appropriationist regime, which relies on the logic of extraction and appropriation of aesthetic resources from around the world.
[Translated from the French by Oana Avasilichioaei]

Eddy Firmin

Kanata… Appropriation or Erasure?
This essay, which falls within the scope of critical Indigenous and intersectional studies, is in continuity with postcolonial and feminist reflections. The author reflects on the movement denouncing the creative process that resulted in the play Kanata by Robert Lepage and Ariane Mnouchkine. She reminds us that Indigenous peoples have shared and exchanged food, ideas, dances, rituals, art objects, and other things for thousands of years. These exchanges have been inspired by core values of reciprocity upheld by numerous Indigenous nations. Today, Indigenous peoples are reaffirming these dynamics using their own language as an act of sovereignty and of resistance to concepts arising from “Western” epistemologies but also present in art. In the context of femicide in Canada, the author argues that the resurgence of (re)appropriation in the imaginary territories of the performing arts is part of a movement reaffirming the presence of Indigenous women, their bodies, and their voices in Canada.
[Translated from the French by Louise Ashcroft]

Caroline Nepton Hotte

 

PORTFOLIO

Joseph Tisiga
Mark Mann

Moridja Kitenge Banza
Anne-Marie Dubois

Michèle Provost
Catherine Sinclair

 

CONCOURS JEUNES CRITIQUES

Why is the Arctic Always White? Circumpolar Indigenous Artists in the Age of the Anthropocene
Chris J. Gismondi

SCHIZES

Le vol du siècle
Catherine Lavoie-Marcus

COMPTES RENDUS

Arts visuels

Anna Torma, Galerie Laroche/Joncas, Montréal par Dominique Sirois-Rouleau

Life of a Craphead, Centre Clark, Montréal par Adam Lauder

Kiki Smith, Galleria d’Arte Moderna, Palazzo Pitti, Florence par Julia Skelly

Contre-vents, Le Grand Café, Saint-Nazaire par Vanessa Morisset

Maria Berrio, Caroline Walker, Flora Yukhnovich, Victoria Miro Gallery II, London, U.K. par Emily LaBarge

Vincent Meessen, Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, Montréal, par Jean-Michel Quirion

Mark Dion, MOCA, Toronto par Jill Glessing

Hannah Kaya, Studio XX, Montréal par Renata Azevedo Moreira

Arts de la scène

Maude Arès, Boris Dumesnil-Poulin & Jaha Koo, OFFTA & FTA, Montréal par Julie-Michèle Morin

Camille Rojas, Critical Distance Centre for Curators, Toronto par Heather Rigg

NIC Kay, Abrons Arts Center, New York par Didier Morelli

Padmini Chettur, Anandam Dancetheatre, Toronto par Fabien Maltais-Bayda

Publications

Yann Pocreau. Sur les lieux/On Site, Musée d’art contemporain des Laurentides & Expression, Centre d’exposition de Saint-Hyacinthe par Sophie Drouin

Karine Payette. Point de bascule/Tipping Point, Maison des arts de Laval par Sophie Drouin

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597

Appropriation

97 - Automne 2019

Les pratiques artistiques ne cessent de déborder le champ des arts pour s’approprier des codes, des gestes, des dispositifs issus des autres sphères sociales et culturelles. Mais l’appropriation pose également la question de la responsabilité sociale des artistes et des commissaires, comme l’ont bien mis en évidence les récents débats autour de l’appropriation culturelle. Ce numéro tente de prendre une certaine distance par rapport à la polarisation des controverses afin d’essayer de mieux comprendre ce que les différentes formes d’appropriation nous révèlent de la création actuelle à la fois au niveau esthétique, éthique et politique.

$12.00

Articles à la pièce

Sommaire:

EDITO

Emprunter sans remettre
Sylvette Babin

DOSSIER : APPROPRIATION

Appropriation artistique versus appropriation culturelle
En partant de la définition première de l’acte d’appropriation, « prendre quelque chose qui ne nous appartient pas », l’auteur compare la démarche d’artistes appropriationnistes (David Krippendorff, Sherrie Levine, Richard Prince…) à celle d’artistes visuels accusés d’appropriation culturelle (Sam Durant, Dominic Gagnon, Dana Schutz…). L’objectif est de montrer que si l’acte semble identique de part et d’autre, ses motivations et ses conséquences sont diamétralement opposées. Dans un cas, il s’agit de mettre au jour les relations de pouvoir, alors que dans l’autre, il s’agit de les nier.

Jean-Philippe Uzel

Contre l’innovation : appropriation et disruption à l’ère de l’esclavage immatériel
L’appropriation se définit ici comme la praxie qui associe les connaissances nécessaires à la création d’une œuvre d’art, l’activation de ses concepts et un engagement envers les réactions qu’elle suscite. Dans Cannibal Culture, Deborah Root décrit la tendance occidentale à commodifier la différence des autres cultures, notion renforcée par le projet rimbaldien d’« être absolument moderne » et la fixation sur l’innovation dans l’économie immatérielle et les marchés de l’art actuels. Parallèlement aux projets de disruption, l’innovation fait grimper les profits des entreprises en privatisant les services publics et en attribuant une valeur monétaire aux commodités auparavant gratuites. Pendant que les nouvelles créations bénéficient d’une protection limitée en vertu du droit d’auteur, les sociétés de divertissement comme Disney relancent continuellement leurs titres afin de ne jamais tomber dans le domaine public. Ces propos incitent à nous questionner : où se situe exactement la culture ?
[Traduction de l’anglais par Nathalie de Blois]

Oli Sorenson

L’art à l’ère de l’intelligence artificielle
Dans cet article, l’autrice s’intéresse au point de rencontre entre l’intelligence artificielle et la production artistique en considérant les œuvres de l’AICAN (Ahmed Elgammal), d’Obvious (Hugo Caselles-Dupré, Pierre Fautrel et Gauthier Vernier), de Mario Klingemann et d’Adam Basanta. Elle envisage l’influence de l’IA sur les concepts d’attribution des œuvres, de propriété des œuvres et de créativité tels qu’ils ont cours dans le monde traditionnel de l’art, tout en se demandant si les algorithmes pourraient, un jour, devenir si sophistiqués que l’artiste machine en viendrait à remplacer l’humain.
[Traduction de l’anglais par Isabelle Lamarre]

Shauna Jean Doherty

L’expropriation comme pratique artistique
En s’appuyant sur l’exemple de la série White Paper d’Adelita Husni-Bey, l’auteur traite l’appropriation comme un concept de l’histoire de l’art indissociable de l’arrière-plan économique et politique sur lequel se déploie la notion de propriété. Étant donné l’incidence directe de l’appropriation sur la signification de la propriété, il s’avère fructueux de relier l’appropriation au concept d’expropriation – et de l’en distinguer. La notion d’expropriation sert aussi les fins de l’histoire de l’art quand on l’applique à des œuvres comme White Paper, du fait que les questions de propriété sont aussi pertinentes, voire plus importantes encore que celles, plus classiques, de l’autorat et de l’encadrement institutionnel de l’art.
[Traduction de l’anglais par Sophie Chisogne]

David A. J. Murrieta Flores

À qui l’art ?
Présentée à Montréal dans le cadre de l’exposition L’imaginaire radical : le contrat social tenue au centre VOX, The Proposal de Jill Magid renverse les discours habituels sur l’appropriation en empruntant une voie non transgressive. En effet, en respectant au plus près les règles imposées par une gestion des droits d’auteurs extrêmement restrictive, l’artiste dévoile les dérapages et les abus autorisés par la loi. Cette sujétion radicale à une autorité excessive oppose les besoins patrimoniaux aux intérêts économiques des ayants droit et expose ainsi l’angle mort du droit en arts, c’est-à-dire la survie même de l’œuvre dans l’espace culturel.

Dominique Sirois-Rouleau

Appropriation. Table ronde
Pourquoi organiser une discussion sur l’appropriation artistique alors que tout le monde parle d’appropriation culturelle ? Est-ce que l’appropriation artistique n’aurait pas pour finalité de justifier, en fin de compte, l’appropriation culturelle ? Il me semble important de répondre en deux mots à ces interrogations, et donc d’expliquer le pourquoi de cette table ronde. L’appropriation artistique est une sorte de victime collatérale des débats sur l’appropriation culturelle. Or, cela est dommage parce que la technique de l’appropriation artistique, ce qu’on appelle aussi « art d’appropriation «, irrigue tout l’art moderne et l’art contemporain et reste centrale pour comprendre les pratiques en art actuel. Ce qui est particulièrement intéressant, chez les artistes appropriationnistes, c’est qu’ils assument la dimension subversive de leur geste. Ils s’approprient quelque chose qui ne leur appartient pas, généralement une image faite par un autre artiste, un publicitaire ou un designer. Ils assument les conséquences, souvent juridiques, de ce geste violent. Or, lorsqu’on regarde du côté des artistes qui sont taxés d’appropriation culturelle, la dimension violente de leur geste est totalement niée. Je trouve ce contraste très intéressant et j’aimerais lancer le débat d’un côté sur ces artistes appropriationnistes qui assument leurs gestes transgressifs et, de l’autre côté, sur des artistes qui adoptent un profil éthique en se présentant comme les alliés des cultures qu’ils mettent en scène, même lorsque les membres de ces cultures minoritaires les contredisent.

Johanne Lamoureux, Stéphane Martelly, Caroline Monnet, Modérée par Jean-Philippe Uzel

Intimation culturelle, régime appropriationniste et arts visuels
L’artiste visuel afrocaribéen Eddy Firmin aborde l’appropriation culturelle, non pas comme une question propre à notre actualité, mais comme la remise en question d’un régime discursif de l’art occidental, le régime appropriationniste. En parallèle, il propose la notion d’intimation culturelle pour mettre en exergue les logiques intimes qui supportent la désappropriation des ressources esthétiques locales chez l’artiste du sud. Cette notion forme, avec le régime appropriationniste, un couple antagonique, car celui-ci repose sur une logique d’extraction et d’appropriation des ressources esthétiques mondiales.

Eddy Firmin

Kanata… appropriation ou effaccement ?
Ce texte, qui s’inscrit dans le courant des études critiques autochtones et intersectionnelles, est en continuité avec les réflexions postcoloniales et féministes. L’auteure réfléchit au mouvement de dénonciation du processus créatif de la pièce Kanata de Robert Lepage et Ariane Mnouchkine. Elle rappelle que depuis des milliers d’années, les peuples autochtones partagent et échangent de la nourriture, des idées, des danses, des rituels, des objets d’art… Ces échanges sont inspirés des valeurs de réciprocité chères à de nombreuses nations autochtones. Aujourd’hui, les Autochtones réaffirment ces dynamiques en utilisant leur propre langue comme acte de résistance et de souveraineté face aux concepts émanant des épistémologies « occidentales », mais aussi en art. Dans un contexte de féminicide au Canada, la résurgence et la (ré)appropriation dans les territoires imaginaires de la scène et des arts, selon l’auteure, s’inscrivent dans un mouvement de réaffirmation de la présence des femmes autochtones au Canada, de leur corps et de leur voix.

Caroline Nepton Hotte

PORTFOLIO

Joseph Tisiga
Mark Mann

Moridja Kitenge Banza
Anne-Marie Dubois

Michèle Provost
Catherine Sinclair

CONCOURS JEUNES CRITIQUES

Why is the Arctic Always White? Circumpolar Indigenous Artists in the Age of the Anthropocene
Chris J. Gismondi

SCHIZES

Le vol du siècle
Catherine Lavoie-Marcus

COMPTES RENDUS

Arts visuels

Anna Torma, Galerie Laroche/Joncas, Montréal par Dominique Sirois-Rouleau

Life of a Craphead, Centre Clark, Montréal par Adam Lauder

Kiki Smith, Galleria d’Arte Moderna, Palazzo Pitti, Florence par Julia Skelly

Contre-vents, Le Grand Café, Saint-Nazaire par Vanessa Morisset

Maria Berrio, Caroline Walker, Flora Yukhnovich, Victoria Miro Gallery II, London, U.K. par Emily LaBarge

Vincent Meessen, Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, Montréal, par Jean-Michel Quirion

Mark Dion, MOCA, Toronto par Jill Glessing

Hannah Kaya, Studio XX, Montréal par Renata Azevedo Moreira

Arts de la scène

Maude Arès, Boris Dumesnil-Poulin & Jaha Koo, OFFTA & FTA, Montréal par Julie-Michèle Morin

Camille Rojas, Critical Distance Centre for Curators, Toronto par Heather Rigg

NIC Kay, Abrons Arts Center, New York par Didier Morelli

Padmini Chettur, Anandam Dancetheatre, Toronto par Fabien Maltais-Bayda

Publications

Yann Pocreau. Sur les lieux/On Site, Musée d’art contemporain des Laurentides & Expression, Centre d’exposition de Saint-Hyacinthe par Sophie Drouin

Karine Payette. Point de bascule/Tipping Point, Maison des arts de Laval par Sophie Drouin

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597