LGBT+

91
2017

Following our last issue, on the theme of feminisms, the feature continues with our reflection on the question of gender and sexuality by delving into practices and theories of artists who seek to transcend the idea of a binary, patriarchal society that is heteronormative and cisnormative. It explores, among other issues, the strategies deployed by artists to make LGTB+ communities visible and makes the multiplicity of voices on the margin of the patriarchal regime of knowledge production heard.

 

Digital edition available

12,00$
Preview (click to enlarge): 
  • Edito

    Claiming a Queer Space
    Sylvette Babin

    Feature: LGBT+

    In Homonational Times: Nationalist Mythology and LGBT Inclusivity
    Over the past decade, critiques of queer assimilation into neoliberal nation-states have gained traction in queer theoretical and activist discourses. In this article, I examine how queer theory, and homonationalism in particular, have been interrogated in contemporary artistic and curatorial praxis. I begin with Montreal’s hosting of Canada Pride in summer 2017. In linking LGBT identity to the nation-state, Canada Pride can be seen as representative of neoliberal incorporation and homonationalism. I then turn to look at Kent Monkman’s current exhibition Shame and Prejudice: A Story of Resilience, in which Monkman is highly critical of the national myths bound up in Canada’s 150th birthday celebrations. He uses his large-scale history paintings to subvert dominant narratives of the founding of the Canadian nation state and to assert a space for indigenaiety and queerness that is often marginalized or made invisible.
    Clinton Glenn

    Islamicate Sexualities: The Artworks of Ebrin Bagheri
    In this article, Andrew Gayed briefly outlines a history of Islamicate sexualities across different geographic regions and time periods of the Middle East and North Africa. Then, to illustrate the ways in which pre-modern Islamicate sexual scripts are not fully colonized and still live on in the diaspora, he analyzes the work of Iranian-Canadian artist Ebrin Bagheri. Focusing primarily on the ways in which Bagheri’s drawings bring together visual histories of same-sex desire, the author makes it clear that the colonial hangovers of these sexual scripts are still alive, and deeply imbedded in diaspora consciousness.
    Andrew Gayed

    PosterVirus: Views from the Street
    In this article, Adam Barbu highlights the important artistic contributions of PosterVirus (2011–), a curatorial project that operates as an affinity group of AIDS ACTION NOW!, one of Toronto’s original HIV/AIDS advocacy organizations. More specifically, the author examines the different conceptual strategies and interventionist display tactics employed by the curators through a queer curatorial lens and outline how the PosterVirus public installations intercept passers-by with images that reflect inconvenient and uncomfortable truths about the social politics of HIV/AIDS today.
    Adam Barbu

    Invisible as One and Many: The Mirror Drawings of Anthea Black and Thea Yabut
    After hearing Anthea Black and Thea Yabut give an artist talk for their exhibition at La Centrale Galerie Powerhouse, Andrea Williamson speculates about what Black meant by the potential for queer art, theory, and politics found in abstract and non-representational art forms. Looking at examples of collective embodiment through the writing of Fred Moten, Ralph Ellison, and Hannah Black, she imagines non-visibility or invisibility as the surpassing of singularity and the impossibility of its representation. Comparing their collaborative drawings to other forms of queer art that deal with the non-visible, retreat, and negation, she shows how Black and Yabut’s work engages a more-than-singular identity—a generosity of forms that can be represented only through recording collective embodiment. The author stresses that collectivity is not the disappearance of the individual but an endless additional equation, and suggests that empathy with other subjects can never be complete because individuals are immeasurable and, hence, invisible as images.
    Andrea Williamson

    Black Queer Grief in Michèle Pearson Clarke’s Parade of Champions
    In this essay, Ricky Varghese attends to the three-channel installation Parade of Champions by Trinidadian-Canadian artist Michèle Pearson Clarke, in which she explores the themes of blackness and queerness and the task of mourning. It is essential to understand this work as a study of how blackness and queerness inform both grief and grieving. The author explores how marginal forms of embodiment respond to complex structures of feelings involved in the experience of loss, thus allowing us to think sexuality, race, and identity as such, alongside loss.
    Ricky Varghese

    Peeling Objects for Queer Play
    What allows for an object to recognized as a person? What happens to the ways in which the body signifies when it is anonymous, partial, or abstracted? In this essay, the author looks at two collaborative sculpture installations that expand the boundaries of what reads as human by unsettling gender and creating forms playfully poised between the known and unknown. Rather than positioning the non-normative as knowable through representation and, as such, readily available for inclusion, Genevieve Flavelle considers how gender and sexuality can be figured beyond categorization and how our valuation of personhood can expand beyond constricting binaries of male/female, gay/straight, and cis/trans.
    Genevieve Flavelle

    Portfolio

    JJ Levine
    Family

    Zanele Muholi
    Visual Activism

    Fallon Simard
    Monetized, But Agential, Bodies in Ghost Worlds

    Kama La Mackerel
    From a Plural Voice, Resistance

    Ianna Book
    Trans Avenue

    Vanessa Dion Fletcher
    A Body of Work

    Virginie Jourdain
    Improbable Morphologies

    ARTICLE

    Viva Arte Viva, 57e Binnale de Venise
    Avec « Viva Arte Viva », exposition qu’elle a proposée pour la 57e édition de la Biennale de Venise, Christine Macel souhaitait montrer que l’art pouvait rester un rempart contre les incertitudes du monde. Ces incertitudes sont présentes dans beaucoup de pavillons nationaux, où elles sont traitées avec plus ou moins de frontalité ou de littéralité, mais il revient au pavillon allemand, avec une pièce d’Anne Imhof, de faire la traduction de l’esprit du temps la plus radicale.
    Nathalie Desmet

    YOUNG CRITICS COMPETITION

    La presse écrite revisitée par karen elaine spencer
    Geneviève Gendron

    SCHIZES

    Vingt-six glorieuses
    Michel F. Côté & Catherine Lavoie-Marcus

    Reviews

    Performing Arts

    11e Festival TransAmériques, Montréal by Christian Saint-Pierre

    Alicia Grant and Emily Law, Emerging Voices: New Works, Toronto by Fabien Maltais-Bayda

    Benoît Lachambre, Lifeguard, Festival TransAmériques, Montréal by Véronique Hudon

    Visual Arts

    Houses Are Really Bodies: The Writing of Leonora Carrington, London, U.K., by Emily LaBarge

    Guillaume Adjutor Provost, Matériellement rien, potentiellement tout, Montréal by Maude Johnson

    Jacob Robert Whibley, dot-dot-dot, Toronto by Alex Bowron

    Sara A.Tremblay et Léna Mill-Reuillard, Géographies : recomposées – S’ensevelir, Laval by Dominique Sirois-Rouleau

    Christian Messier, La forêt s’en vient II, Montréal by Dominique Sirois-Rouleau

    56 Artillery Lane, London, U.K. by Emily LaBarge

    Ismaïl Bahri, Instruments, Paris by Vanessa Morisset

    Publication

    Marcel Blouin, Katrie Chagnon et Hélène Poirier (dir.), Alexandre David by Maude Johnson

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

LGBT+

91
2017

Dans la foulée du numéro précédent, qui portait sur les féminismes, ce dossier poursuit la réflexion sur la question des genres et des sexualités en s’attardant aux pratiques et aux théories qui cherchent à transcender la pensée binaire de la société patriarcale hétéronormative et cisnormative. On y explore notamment les stratégies déployées par les artistes afin de rendre visible les communautés LGBT+ et de faire entendre la multiplicité des voix en marge du régime patriarcal de production des savoirs.

 

Version numérique disponible

12,00$
Aperçu (cliquez pour agrandir): 
  • Édito

    Revendiquer un espace queer
    Sylvette Babin

    Dossier : LGBT+

    Au temps de l’homonationalisme : mythologie nationaliste et inclusivité LGBT
    Durant la dernière décennie, les critiques de l’assimilation queer par les États-nations néolibéraux se sont multipliées dans les discours queer théoriques et activistes. Dans cet article, Clinton Glenn examine comment la théorie queer et, surtout, l’homonationalisme, ont été remis en question dans la pratique contemporaine artistique et commissariale. Sa réflexion part de l’organisation de Fierté Canada à Montréal en 2017. Cet évènement postule une liaison entre l’identité LGBT et l’État-nation qui peut passer pour représentative de l’assimilation néolibérale et de l’homonationalisme. L'auteur examine ensuite l’exposition Shame and Prejudice: A Story of Resilience de Kent Monkman, présentée en ce moment, dans laquelle l’artiste se montre très critique envers les mythes nationaux impliqués dans les célébrations du 150e anniversaire du Canada. Il se sert de ses imposantes peintures historiques pour subvertir les discours dominants sur la fondation du Canada et pour y revendiquer un espace pour l’indigénéité et l’identité queer qui est souvent marginalisée ou rendue invisible.
    [Traduit de l’anglais par Marine Van Hoof]
    Clinton Glenn

    Islamité et sexualités : l’art d’Ebrin Bagheri
    L’auteur, dans cet article, brosse le portrait des sexualités de l’islamité dans différentes régions et périodes, au Moyen-Orient et dans le nord de l’Afrique. Il expose ensuite comment les codes sexuels prémodernes de l’islamité n’ont pas été totalement colonisés et continuent d’exister dans la diaspora. L’auteur analyse, en particulier, le travail de l’artiste irano-canadien Ebrin Bagheri, en mettant l’accent sur la façon dont les dessins de Bagheri concentrent diverses histoires visuelles du désir homosexuel, et précisant que les vestiges coloniaux de ces codes sexuels perdurent, profondément implantées dans la conscience de la diaspora.
    [Traduit de l’anglais par Isabelle Lamarre]
    Andrew Gayed

    Les affiches de PosterVirus : vues de la rue
    Dans cet article, Adam Barbu mets en lumière l’importante contribution artistique de PosterVirus, un projet commissarial lancé en 2011 qui partage des affinités avec AIDS Action Now !, l’un des organismes pionniers de la lutte contre le VIH/sida à Toronto. Plus précisément, il examine les différentes stratégies conceptuelles et tactiques d’affichage interventionnistes employées par les commissaires sous l’éclairage du commissariat queer. L’auteur montre que les installations publiques de PosterVirus interceptent les passants en leur présentant des images qui reflètent des vérités dérangeantes et inconfortables au sujet de la sociopolitique du VIH/sida aujourd’hui.
    [Traduit de l’anglais par Sophie Chisogne]
    Adam Barbu

    Invisibilité individuelle et collective : les dessins-miroirs de Anthea Black et Thea Yabut
    Après avoir assisté à une présentation d’Anthea Black et de Thea Yabut, dans le cadre de leur exposition à La Centrale Galerie Powerhouse, l’auteure s’intéresse à ce que Black a voulu dire en parlant du potentiel de l’art, de la théorie et de la politique queers tels qu’on les retrouve dans l’art abstrait et non représentatif. En examinant des exemples d’organismes collectifs dans l’écriture de Fred Moten, de Ralph Ellison et d’Hannah Black, elle postule que la non-visibilité ou l’invisibilité surpasse la singularité et l’impossibilité de sa représentation. Par la comparaison des dessins des deux artistes avec d’autres formes d’art queer qui s’intéresse au non visible, au retrait et à la négation, l’auteure montre comment le travail de Black et Yabut intègre une identité plus-que-singulière – dans une profusion de formes qui ne peuvent être représentées que par l’attestation d’un organisme collectif. En soulignant que la collectivité ne correspond pas à la disparition de l’individualité, mais bien à une addition infinie, elle avance que l’empathie pour l’autre ne peut jamais atteindre la complétude parce que l’individu est incommensurable et, en conséquence, invisible en tant qu’image.
    [Traduit de l’anglais par Isabelle Lamarre]
    Andrea Williamson

    Le deuil queer et noir dans Parade of Champions de Michèle Pearson Clarke
    Dans ce texte, Ricky Vargese se penche sur l’installation vidéo multibande Parade of Champions de l’artiste trinidado-canadienne Michèle Pearson Clarke, dans laquelle elle explore d’une part le fait d’être noir et queer, et d’autre part la tâche que représente le deuil. Il est essentiel de comprendre cette œuvre surtout comme une étude portant sur la façon dont le fait d’être noir et queer éclaire le deuil, à la fois comme notion et processus. L’auteur explore également les façons dont les formes d’incarnation (forms of embodiment) marginalisées se manifestent en fonction des structures affectives complexes qu’entraine la perte d’un proche, ouvrant du même coup des pistes de réflexion autant sur le deuil que sur la sexualité, la racialisation et l’identité.
    [Traduit de l’anglais par Simon Brown]
    Ricky Varghese

    Jeux queers
    Qu’est-ce qui nous permet de reconnaitre une personne dans un objet quelconque ? Qu’arrive-t-il aux sens exprimés par le corps lorsqu’il est montré de manière anonyme, partielle ou abstraite ? Je propose ici une analyse de deux installations sculpturales collaboratives qui mettent en scène des formes en équilibre ludique entre le connu et l’inconnu, brouillant la notion de genre et élargissant les limites de ce qui définit l’humain. Plutôt que de positionner le non-normatif comme un objet connaissable par la représentation, et donc susceptible d’inclusion, je propose de penser le genre et la sexualité au-delà des catégorisations et de voir s’il n’est pas possible de fonder une appréciation de la qualité de personne sur autre chose que des catégories binaires restrictives comme homme/femme, homosexuel/hétérosexuel ou cis/trans.
    [Traduit de l'anglais par Margot Lacroix]
    Genevieve Flavelle

    Portfolio

    JJ Levine
    Family

    Zanele Muholi
    Un activisme visuel

    Fallon Simard
    Des corps monétisés agissant dans des mondes fantomatiques

    Kama La Mackerel
    D’une voix plurielle, la résistance

    Ianna Book
    Trans Avenue

    Vanessa Dion Fletcher
    Le corps à l’ouvrage

    Virginie Jourdain
    Morphologies improbables

    ARTICLE

    Viva Arte Viva, 57e Binnale de Venise
    Avec « Viva Arte Viva », exposition qu’elle a proposée pour la 57e édition de la Biennale de Venise, Christine Macel souhaitait montrer que l’art pouvait rester un rempart contre les incertitudes du monde. Ces incertitudes sont présentes dans beaucoup de pavillons nationaux, où elles sont traitées avec plus ou moins de frontalité ou de littéralité, mais il revient au pavillon allemand, avec une pièce d’Anne Imhof, de faire la traduction de l’esprit du temps la plus radicale.
    Nathalie Desmet

    CONCOURS JEUNES CRITIQUES

    La presse écrite revisitée par karen elaine spencer
    Geneviève Gendron

    SCHIZES

    Vingt-six glorieuses
    Michel F. Côté et Catherine Lavoie-Marcus

    Comptes rendus

    Arts de la scène

    11e Festival TransAmériques, Montréal par Christian Saint-Pierre

    Alicia Grant and Emily Law, Emerging Voices: New Works, Toronto par Fabien Maltais-Bayda

    Benoît Lachambre, Lifeguard, Festival TransAmériques, Montréal par Véronique Hudon

    Arts visuels

    Houses Are Really Bodies: The Writing of Leonora Carrington, London, U.K., par Emily LaBarge

    Guillaume Adjutor Provost, Matériellement rien, potentiellement tout, Montréal par Maude Johnson

    Jacob Robert Whibley, dot-dot-dot, Toronto par Alex Bowron

    Sara A.Tremblay et Léna Mill-Reuillard, Géographies : recomposées – S’ensevelir, Laval par Dominique Sirois-Rouleau

    Christian Messier, La forêt s’en vient II, Montréal par Dominique Sirois-Rouleau

    56 Artillery Lane, London, U.K. par Emily LaBarge

    Ismaïl Bahri, Instruments, Paris par Vanessa Morisset

    Publication

    Marcel Blouin, Katrie Chagnon et Hélène Poirier (dir.), Alexandre David par Maude Johnson

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Rubriques



Boutique

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598