Brendan Fernandes

Didier Morelli
  • The Master and Form, 2018. Photo: Brendan Meara, courtesy of the artist & Graham Foundation, Chicago
  • The Master and Form, 2018. Photo: Brendan Meara, courtesy of the artist & Graham Foundation, Chicago
  • Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Photo: Chester Toye, courtesy of the artist
  • Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Photo: Chester Toye, courtesy of the artist
  • Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Photo: Chester Toye, courtesy of the artist
  • Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Photo: Chester Toye, courtesy of the artist

Watching someone clean and polish a posh hotel room is a curiously uncomfortable act. The detailed repetitive steps that constitute the act of making a bed, wiping a counter, or cleaning a toilet — choreographies in themselves — are filled with intent, rhythm, and texture. Often performed by immigrant/migrant workers, these tasks carry with them particular racial and socio-economic realities. A hotel’s housekeeping staff, and the work they execute daily for often unfair wages and no workers benefits, are made to be invisible or at least as unobtrusive as possible. Nevertheless, this “behind the scenes” labour is the driving force behind the hospitality industry.

It is in this particular “movement economy” that Brendan Fernandes staged Clean Labour (2017) at the Wythe Hotel in Brooklyn. Inspired by the routines of hospitality workers and cleaning professionals, the performance bridged the physically challenging work of hotel room upkeep with the virtuosic demands of classically trained dancers. The result, a collaboration and dialogue between the artist, hotel workers, and dancers, explored the notion of agency in these professions. The use of contemporary dance highlighted both the skill and effort of maintenance workers, as well as the racial and economic hegemony of the service industry. Loosely -scored yet reliant on improvisational movements inspired by the specificity of each floor plan, the shadowing and trading off of tasks between dancer and housekeeper elucidated how bodies are shaped by the work they pursue.

In many of Fernandes’s recent works, the form and body of a dancer is challenged through a process of exposure and deconstruction — shedding light on the vulnerabilities and insecurities of trained movement. The Master and Form (2018), a live performance and series of sculptural pieces presented at the Graham Foundation, Chicago, similarly explored the themes of mastery and discipline within ballet culture by revealing the strict kinesthetic labour it stresses. In his oeuvre, Fernandes, once a dancer himself before succumbing to injury, foregrounds the imperceptible by queering the lens through which we, his audience, come to a particular subject, whether it be colonial artifacts, our daily activities, institutional art spaces, or dance and movement practices.

Captions

1- The Master and Form, 2018. Credits: design: Norman Kelley, dancers: Satoru Iwasaki, Yuha Kamoto, Andrea de León Rivera, Antonio Mannino & Leah Upchurch. Photo: Brendan Meara, courtesy of the artist & Graham Foundation, Chicago
2- The Master and Form, 2018. Credits: design: Norman Kelley, dancers: Satoru Iwasaki, Yuha Kamoto, Andrea de León Rivera, Antonio Mannino & Leah Upchurch. Photo: Brendan Meara, courtesy of the artist & Graham Foundation, Chicago
3- Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Performers: Charles Gowin & Khadijia Griffith ; Wythe Hotel housekeepers: Tenzin Thokme & Tenzin Woiden. Photo: Chester Toye, courtesy of the artist, produced in collaboration with More Art
4- Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Performers: Charles Gowin & Khadijia Griffith ; Wythe Hotel housekeepers: Tenzin Thokme & Tenzin Woiden. Photo: Chester Toye, courtesy of the artist, produced in collaboration with More Art
5- Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Performers: Charles Gowin & Khadijia Griffith ; Wythe Hotel housekeepers: Tenzin Thokme & Tenzin Woiden. Photo: Chester Toye, courtesy of the artist, produced in collaboration with More Art
6- Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Performers: Charles Gowin & Khadijia Griffith ; Wythe Hotel housekeepers: Tenzin Thokme & Tenzin Woiden. Photo: Chester Toye, courtesy of the artist, produced in collaboration with More Art

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Brendan Fernandes

Didier Morelli
  • The Master and Form, 2018. Photo : Brendan Meara, permission de l'artiste & Graham Foundation, Chicago
  • The Master and Form, 2018. Photo : Brendan Meara, permission de l'artiste & Graham Foundation, Chicago
  • Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Photo : Chester Toye, permission de l'artiste
  • Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Photo : Chester Toye, permission de l'artiste
  • Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Photo : Chester Toye, permission de l'artiste
  • Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Photo : Chester Toye, permission de l'artiste

Regarder quelqu’un nettoyer et astiquer une chambre d’hôtel chic est curieusement inconfortable. Les étapes répétitives, détaillées, que constitue l’acte de faire un lit, d’essuyer un comptoir, de récurer une toilette – des chorégraphies en elles-mêmes – sont emplies d’intention, de rythme, de texture. Souvent exécutées par des travailleurs immigrants ou migrants, ces tâches transmettent certaines réalités raciales ou socioéconomiques. Les employés d’entretien d’un hôtel et les tâches quotidiennes qu’ils réalisent, souvent pour un salaire injuste et sans avantages sociaux, sont censés être, sinon invisibles, du moins aussi discrets que possible. Néanmoins, ce travail « dans les coulisses » est la force motrice de l’industrie hôtelière.

C’est dans cette « économie du mouvement » que Fernandes met en scène Clean Labour (2017) au Wythe Hotel (New York). Inspirée par la routine des travailleurs hôteliers et des professionnels de l’entretien, la performance fait un rapprochement entre leur travail physique exigeant et la virtuosité demandée aux danseurs classiques professionnels. Le résultat, collaboration et dialogue entre artiste, travailleurs hôteliers et danseurs, explore la notion d’agentivité dans ces professions. La danse contemporaine souligne les habiletés et les efforts des travailleurs ménagers tout comme l’hégémonie raciale et économique de cette industrie. Librement orchestrés, mais basés sur des mouvements improvisés inspirés par les caractéristiques de chaque étage, l’observation et le partage des tâches entre danseurs et employés montrent que les corps sont sculptés par le travail qu’ils accomplissent.

Dans plusieurs œuvres récentes de Fernandes, la forme et le corps du danseur sont mis à l’épreuve dans un procédé d’exposition et de déconstruction, soulignant les vulnérabilités et les insécurités des mouvements appris. The Master and Form (2018), performance et série de sculptures présentées à la Graham Foundation (Chicago), explore de façon similaire la maitrise et la discipline associées au ballet en révélant le travail kinesthésique strict qu’il exige. Dans sa pratique, Fernandes, qui était danseur avant de se blesser, accentue l’imperceptible à travers le regard que son public pose sur des sujets particuliers comme les artéfacts de la colonisation, les activités quotidiennes, les institutions artistiques ou les pratiques de la danse et du mouvement.

Traduit de l’anglais par Catherine Barnabé

Légendes

1- The Master and Form, 2018. Crédits : design : Norman Kelley, danseurs : Satoru Iwasaki, Yuha Kamoto, Andrea de León Rivera, Antonio Mannino & Leah Upchurch. Photo : Brendan Meara, permission de l'artiste & Graham Foundation, Chicago
2- The Master and Form, 2018. Crédits : design : Norman Kelley, danseurs : Satoru Iwasaki, Yuha Kamoto, Andrea de León Rivera, Antonio Mannino & Leah Upchurch. Photo : Brendan Meara, permission de l'artiste & Graham Foundation, Chicago
3- Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Performeurs : Charles Gowin & Khadijia Griffith ; employés d'entretien du Wythe Hotel : Tenzin Thokme & Tenzin Woiden. Photo : Chester Toye, permission de l'artiste, produit en collaboration avec More Art
4- Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Performeurs : Charles Gowin & Khadijia Griffith ; employés d'entretien du Wythe Hotel : Tenzin Thokme & Tenzin Woiden. Photo : Chester Toye, permission de l'artiste, produit en collaboration avec More Art
5- Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Performeurs : Charles Gowin & Khadijia Griffith ; employés d'entretien du Wythe Hotel : Tenzin Thokme & Tenzin Woiden. Photo : Chester Toye, permission de l'artiste, produit en collaboration avec More Art
6- Clean Labour, performance, Wythe Hotel, Brooklyn, 2017. Performeurs : Charles Gowin & Khadijia Griffith ; employés d'entretien du Wythe Hotel : Tenzin Thokme & Tenzin Woiden. Photo : Chester Toye, permission de l'artiste, produit en collaboration avec More Art

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598