Sylvie Cotton

Anne-Marie Dubois
  • Sylvie Cotton, Ma sapience, 2010. Photos: courtesy of the artist
  • Sylvie Cotton, Incursions (phase présentation finale), 2018. Photo: 3e Impérial, centre d'essai en art actuel, Granby
  • Sylvie Cotton, Incursions (phase présentation finale), 2018. Photo: 3e Impérial, centre d'essai en art actuel, Granby
  • Sylvie Cotton, Perruques, 2016. Photos: courtesy of the artist & 3e Impérial, centre d'essai en art actuel, Granby
  • Sylvie Cotton, Perruques, 2016. Photos: courtesy of the artist & 3e Impérial, centre d'essai en art actuel, Granby
  • Sylvie Cotton, Perruques, 2016. Photos: courtesy of the artist & 3e Impérial, centre d'essai en art actuel, Granby
  • Sylvie Cotton, Perruques, 2016. Photos: courtesy of the artist & 3e Impérial, centre d'essai en art actuel, Granby

In her performative interdisciplinary practice, Sylvie Cotton examines the reciprocal connections between art and life through a relational approach anchored in encounter and exchange. Taking a philosophical and pragmatic stance in which action art, installation, drawing, and writing overlap, Cotton seeks to immerse herself in the day-to-day lives of people — who may or may not be familiar with the art world — in order to establish an intimate and privileged rapport with the other. Evidence of these immaterial experiences are drawings, photographs, and artist books, which bring a sense of permanence to Cotton’s projects, allowing the public to experience her encounters, which ultimately exist only in the intersubjective relationship between the artist and the world around her.

True to the protean and empathic nature of this in situ and in spiritu work, as Cotton likes to describe it, the Incursions project is the result of her profound contemplation on the idea of presence toward others. Produced between 2015 and 2017 during a residency at 3e Impérial centre d’essai en art actuel, in Granby, Incursions originated from her encounters with ten people from the Granby region who agreed to share moments from their everyday lives with her. By performing the ordinary — volunteering, talking about art and death, participating in setting up a philosophy café, and other activities — Cotton explores the concept of presence as a bonding agent capable of generating artistic experiences. Sketches of heads without faces made during an art class (Perruques, 2016) and the publication of a book (Avec du l’autre, 2018) document and enrich the project. Firmly rooted in what Cotton calls “intimately engaged art,” these face-to-face encounters demand trust and abandon from both artist and participants, for the emergence of the work relies principally on mutual engagement.

Following Heidegger, for whom the notion of presence results in a form of performativity of the self, Cotton’s art practice hinges on trust, discomfort, empathy (toward oneself and others), and emotional availability to give concrete expression to an art of encounter capable of blurring the line — if one exists — between art and “real” life.

Translated from the French by Louise Ashcroft

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Sylvie Cotton

Anne-Marie Dubois
  • Sylvie Cotton, Ma sapience, 2010. Photos : permission de l'artiste
  • Sylvie Cotton, Incursions (phase présentation finale), 2018. Photo : 3e Impérial, centre d'essai en art actuel, Granby
  • Sylvie Cotton, Incursions (phase présentation finale), 2018. Photo : 3e Impérial, centre d'essai en art actuel, Granby
  • Sylvie Cotton, Perruques, 2016. Photos : permission de l'artiste & 3e Impérial, centre d'essai en art actuel, Granby
  • Sylvie Cotton, Perruques, 2016. Photos : permission de l'artiste & 3e Impérial, centre d'essai en art actuel, Granby
  • Sylvie Cotton, Perruques, 2016. Photos : permission de l'artiste & 3e Impérial, centre d'essai en art actuel, Granby
  • Sylvie Cotton, Perruques, 2016. Photos : permission de l'artiste & 3e Impérial, centre d'essai en art actuel, Granby

La pratique performative et interdisciplinaire de Sylvie Cotton interroge la réciprocité des liens qu’entretiennent l’art et la vie à travers une approche relationnelle ancrée dans la rencontre et l’échange. Adoptant une posture artistique à la fois philosophique et pragmatique où se -chevauchent l’art action, l’installation, le dessin ou l’écriture, elle cherche à s’immiscer dans la quotidienneté des gens – familiers ou non avec le milieu de l’art – de manière à instaurer un rapport intime et privilégié avec l’autre. Témoins de ces expériences immatérielles, dessins, photographies ou livres d’artiste donnent enfin une pérennité aux projets de Cotton en permettant au public de raviver ses rencontres, lesquelles n’existent ultimement que dans un rapport intersubjectif entre l’artiste et le monde qui l’entoure.

Fidèle à la nature protéiforme et empathique qui caractérise ce travail in situ et in spiritu, comme aime à le qualifier Cotton, le projet Incursions est le résultat d’une profonde cogitation de l’artiste autour de cette idée de présence à autrui. Réalisé de 2015 à 2017 au cours d’une résidence au centre d’essai en art actuel 3e Impérial, à Granby, Incursions a pour prémices la rencontre d’une dizaine de personnes issues de la communauté granbyenne et des environs, lesquelles se sont engagées à partager avec l’artiste différents moments puisés dans leur quotidien. Performant l’ordinaire – faire du bénévolat, échanger sur l’art ou la mort, participer à la mise sur pied d’un café philosophique, etc. –, le projet explore le concept de présence comme matériau liant capable de générer une expérience artistique. Des croquis de têtes sans visage, réalisés pendant un cours d’art plastique (Perruques, 2016), ou la publication d’un livre (Avec du l’autre, 2018) viendront enfin documenter et bonifier le projet. Solidement enracinées dans ce que l’artiste nomme un « art engagé intimement », ces rencontres en tête-à-tête exigent confiance et abandon de la part de l’artiste comme des participants, le surgissement de l’œuvre reposant essentiellement sur l’engagement de l’une envers les autres et vice versa.

Suivant Heidegger, chez qui la notion de présence résulte d’une sorte de performativité de l’être, la pratique artistique de Sylvie Cotton repose sur la confiance, l’inconfort, l’empathie (envers l’autre comme envers soi) et la disponibilité affective afin de matérialiser un art de la rencontre capable de brouiller la frontière, si frontière il y a, entre l’art et la « vraie » vie.

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597