Dossier | Girls Girls Girls | esse arts + opinions

Dossier | Girls Girls Girls

  • Lucie Fontaine, Latent, 2012. Photo: courtesy of the artist & The Green Gallery
  • Claire Fontaine, La société du spectacle brickbat, 2006. Photo: courtesy of the artist & Metro Pictures, New York

Girls Girls Girls
By Jen Kennedy

Nothing is one thing, only simultaneously
A motorcycle is buzzing and my mom is somewhere
It’s six o’clock in the morning, and it’s three o’clock in the morning
What are you doing simultaneously? (1)

I
Thinking through the legacy of the Situationist International today, it’s useful to go back to the definition of “spectacle.” That is, spectacle not only as synonymous with media events, simulacra, or even images as such, but as a type of relationship — between subjects and between subjects and their worlds — that is mediated by representations. (2) The disparaging shorthand “the spectacle” to connote the contemporary mediascape, virtual realities, and vague misinformation, generally obfuscates the parts of this postwar theory that, while more difficult (or even impossible) to reconcile with the larger whole, arguably remains the most prescient in our present context; the critique of desire, for instance, and relatedly, its significance to constructions of gender.

As T. J. Clark observes, the Situationist critique was not about “anathematizing representations in general . . . [but] proposing certain tests for truth and falsity in representation.” (3) It was about instrumentalizing already existing images, objects, ideas, and texts, unfixing them, and creating new constructions and new meanings. So, while Debord may have sentenced us to the totality of the “integrated spectacle” in the late 1980s, (4) along with his comrades he also suggested a methodology for continued critique: détournement, or the critical repurposing of preexisting materials that engages past constructions to create new forms out of old ones. Détournement doesn’t necessarily suggest an outside to the spectacle-commodity economy, but it does give us the tools to reconfigure our relationships to representations and our relationships as they are mediated by representations. In other words, to transform the material conditions of everyday life. There is no such thing as a good context, only a logic of relative conflict.

Through their own détournement of Hegel, Debord and co. interpreted this conflict as the process becoming a subject, which in their vernacular is something akin to having agency, specifically, agency over desire — the core of human life. The dialectical encounter détournement sets up between representations and contexts, subjecting representations to revisions, cancellations, and mutations, is a lot like the transformative action of desire, which is expressed through our encounters with the external world. “Desire as a transformation of the natural world is simultaneously the transformation of its own natural self into an embodied freedom.” (5) As we make our world we make ourselves and vice versa. Détournement is one critical mode of doing this. (6)

The praxis of détournement is thus entangled in a theory of subjectivity, and since theories of subjectivity always have implications for gender, we might ask whether taking this into account in reevaluating the cultures of “the spectacle” will open new — even unforeseen — questions?

II
The most widely overlooked aspect of the Situationists’ oeuvre is the group’s collective obsession with young, utterly contemporary women, or jeunes filles. Images of fashionable and nubile girls are literally everywhere in the SI’s work — illustrating their eponymous journal, of course, but also as key figures in Gil J. Wolman’s collages, Michèle Bernstein’s novels, and Debord and René Viénet’s films. (7) As Kelly Baum has shown, these seemingly peculiar instances of détournement actually have a productive function as “allegories for the alienation of desire.” (8) Objectified images of women explicate the overall theory that capitalism has effectively colonized all areas of life, instigating a crisis of living or, in other words, a crisis of desire. Yet like all instances of détournement, these images are constantly confronted with their own negativity, or the opposing meanings that every representation contains within it. Paradoxically, then, they can at once be allegories of the alienation of desire and the material manifestations of subjects of desire; and as such, they play a disruptive role too.

The fact that it was representations of “jeunes filles” that the SI was so preoccupied with tells us far more than the obvious — that we are dealing more or less with a boys’ club presumably titillated by pictures of pretty girls. The “jeune fille,” between puberty and motherhood, was perhaps the most complicated relationship between the mass and the individual that dominated the discourses of modernity. A malleable, transitional subjectivity, generally disparaged as superficial, narcissistic, and lacking in morality, the image of the girl became a site of confrontation between nostalgia for the past and fears about the future. During the same years that SI was developing its project, the very definition of the “jeune fille” underwent a resignification in France; the same characteristics that were so widely devalued turned her into a cipher for national anxieties related to postwar reconstruction, decolonization, and so-called Americanization.Simply put, contemporary audiences did not need Debord to tell them that representations of contemporary young women signalled a crisis. Today, however, we might want to keep this context in mind as we consider the legacy of the SI in contemporary art. (9) Yes, the SI problematically utilized representations of young girls, but, in all their complexity and historical specificity, these representations also worked on, and thereby did work to, the SI, introducing irresolvable slippages between the language of postwar consumerism (exemplified by new fantasies of femininity) and the aesthetisization of Hegelian-Marxist politics that constitutes so much of their work.

III
It is no coincidence that some of the SI’s most interesting inheritors have cast their critiques of capitalism and representation as interrogations of subjectivities and, in particular, constructions of gender therein: Claire Fontaine’s concept of the readymade artist; the Bernadette Corporation’s novel Reena Spaulings (2004) and its fictional gallerist of the same name; Pierre Huyghe and Philippe Parreno’s subject/thing, AnnLee (begun in 1999); and perhaps most notoriously, Tiqqun’s “trash-theoretical tract,” Premiers matériaux pour une théorie de la Jeune-Fille (2001). (10) All of these projects, in one way or another, detourn the category of identity “jeune fille,” specifically diverting images and accoutrements of youthful femininity either to comment on or question the present condition.

In Reena Spaulings, this takes the form of a novel that could have also been a magazine. “A book written by images, about images, to be read by other images,” with a young, female protagonist who “is repeatedly destroyed and reanimated . . . put to work, drugged, made into an advertising image, fucked, robbed, paid, made to speak or shut up, desired by individuals and abandoned in crowds, erased, rewritten, and rehashed” by allegedly one hundred and fifty professional and amateur writers working collaboratively to produce a single “blockbuster.” (11) In other words, this is a book about a subject doing what she necessarily already does: enacting desire through the contingent and mediated forms of the material world.

For Tiqqun, the Jeune-Fille is the “purest product of the spectacle,” the subject par excellence of contemporary capitalism and thus “obviously not a gendered concept.” (12) But even if the Jeune-Fille is more of a concept than a biological necessity, this concept is complicated by the fact that the same signifier is still the only one available to millions of people who identify themselves as young girls. So, while the idea of the Young Girl is sometimes separate from the actuality of being a young girl, this intellectual compartmentalization is tricky and difficult to maintain, especially because images often precede language in redefining what it means to be young and female. Would Reena Spaulings work so well if the protagonist was a man? Just as the figure of the “jeune fille” foils our attempts to read the SI as the clearly articulated political program it claims to be — as an absolute attack on the totality of the spectacle-commodity economy — so too does this category consistently evade efforts to figure it in contemporary art.

Of course, the scope of the cultural obsession with the category of identity Young Girl was certainly not precipitated by Tiqqun nor is it limited to their theory, (13) nevertheless their 2001 book in many ways presaged the spectacle of femininity taking shape through the television show Girls, selfies, Spring Breakers, Miley Cyrus, tumblr, Hilton Al’s White Girls, Internet diarist Marie Calloway, Rookie Magazine, Tamara Faith Berger’s Maidenhead, and so many other examples across disciplines, media, and cultural and economic spheres. These are the signs of youthful femininity disassembled and set in motion by contemporary theorists of the spectacle-commodity economy precisely because they encompass both the experiences of girlhood and the representational structures that enable actual girls to conceive their relationships to the social, cultural, and political conditions that shape their lives.

Abstract or not, gendered or not, what’s happening when the collective lived experiences and contingent representations that constitute girl culture become the material of contemporary art? What are the stakes of turning toward the often-devalued aspects of youthful femininity to theorize contemporary culture? (14)

We could look at contemporary art to attempt to answer these questions, or we could just as easily ask the girls themselves. On tumblr, for instance, where the self-designated “Magical Girls” are intuitively redirecting their own culture, turning the symbols, characters, and aesthetics that are widely associated with their superficiality and, by extension, their oppression, into the conditions of possibility for realizing their own desires in opposition to the identities offered up to them by the outside world. (15) Whether wittingly or not, the SI likely turned to girl culture in the 1950s and ’60s at least partly because the rebellious “jeunes filles” who shirked the bourgeois codes of their gender, however mired in “the spectacle,” represented the closest thing to the realization of desire. The same can probably be said of artists working today.

Notes
(1) Bernadette Corporation, A Billion and Change, 2009.
(2) The fourth thesis in Society of the Spectacle clarifies, “The spectacle is not a collection of images; rather, it is a social relationship between people that is mediated by images.” Guy Debord (1967), Society of the Spectacle, trans. Donald Nicholson-Smith (New York: Zone Books, 1995), 12.
(3) T. J. Clark, “Modernism, Postmodernism, and Steam,” October 100 (Spring 2002): 161.
(4) Guy Debord (1988), Comments on the Society of the Spectacle, trans. Malcom Imrie (London: Verso, 1998), 8.
(5) Judith Butler (1987), Subjects of Desire: Hegelian Reflections in Twentieth-Century France (New York: Columbia University Press, 1999), 58. Butler traces the impact and mutations of this formulation of desire from Alexandre Kojève’s lectures on Hegel in the 1930s through the 1980s in the thinking of Kristeva, Deleuze, and Foucault.
(6) In Society of the Spectacle, Debord defined subjectivity as “the self-production of the living: the living becoming master and possessor of its world — that is, of history — and coming to exist as consciousness of its own activity” (48). While members of the SI may have contemplated the possibility of a post-revolutionary world, they maintained that subjectivity was always constructed through its encounter with social, cultural, political, and economic contexts.
(7) The initial definition of détournement specifically addresses the usefulness of pulling images of femininity from one context to another. See Guy Debord and Gil J. Wolman, “A User’s Guide to Détournement” (1956), in Situationist International Anthology, Revised and Expanded Edition, ed. and trans. Ken Knabb (Berkeley: Bureau of Public Secrets, 2006).
(8) Kelly Baum, “Sex and the S.I.” October 126 (Fall 2008).
(9) Jen Kennedy, “Charming Monsters: The Spectacle of Femininity in Postwar France,” Grey Room 49 (Fall 2012).
(10) Tiqqun was a Situationist and Letterist-inspired collective of authors and activists who formed in 1999 and published two volumes of their eponymous journal as well as the books Théorie de Bloom and Premiers matériaux pour une théorie de la Jeune-Fille, before disbanding in 2001.
(11) Bernadette Corporation, Reena Spaulings (New York: Semiotext(e), 2004), viii, vii.
(12) Tiqqun, Premiers matériaux pour une théorie de la Jeune-Fille (Paris: Mille et une nuits, 2001), 10. “Le concept de Jeune-Fille n’est évidemment pas un concept sexué.”
(13) Criticisms of Tiquun, while mostly valid, will not be taken up here. I do suggest a more nuanced (and perhaps even sympathetic) reading of Premiers might happen in combination with another text by members of this mutating collective, Claire Fontaine’s “We Are All Clitoridian Women: Notes on Carla Lonzi’s Legacy,” e-flux 47 (September 2013).
(14) In his introduction to the English translation of Michèle Bernstein’s All the King’s Horses, Bernadette Corporation member John Kelsey writes, “She [the young girl] is our very condition. It’s only a question of what we do with her.” All the King’s Horses (Los Angeles: Semiotext(e), 2008), 16.
(15) Nicole Killian, Sailor Moon, Glitter Text, and Graphic Design, presented at ACLA, New York, March 21, 2014.

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597

Dossier | Girls Girls Girls | esse arts + opinions

Dossier | Girls Girls Girls

  • Lucie Fontaine, Latent, 2012. Photo : permission de l'artiste & The Green Gallery
  • Claire Fontaine, La société du spectacle brickbat, 2006. Photo : permission de l'artiste & Metro Pictures, New York

Girls Girls Girls
Par Jen Kennedy

Pas une chose n’est une seule chose, seulement simultanément
Une motocyclette vrombit et ma mère est quelque part
Il est six heures du matin et il est trois heures du matin
Qu’est-ce que vous faites simultanément (1) ?

I
Pour réfléchir à l’héritage de l’Internationale situationniste (IS), il faut retourner à la définition de « spectacle ». C’est-à-dire, le spectacle non pas comme simple synonyme d’« évènement médiatique », de « simulacre », voire d’« images », mais bien comme type de rapport – tant entre des sujets qu’entre des sujets et leur univers – médiatisé par des représentations (2). Utilisé comme raccourci péjoratif pour désigner le paysage médiatique contemporain, les réalités virtuelles et une désinformation diffuse, le « spectacle » obscurcit les pans de cette théorie d’après-guerre qui, bien que plus difficiles (peut-être carrément impossibles) à réconcilier avec l’ensemble, demeurent néanmoins les plus significatifs dans notre contexte actuel ; la critique du désir, par exemple, et par ricochet, son rôle dans les constructions du genre.

Comme l’a fait observer T. J. Clark, la critique situationniste ne visait pas à « condamner les représentations en général, [ ...mais à] proposer certains tests pour départager le vrai et le faux dans la représentation (3). » Elle cherchait à instrumentaliser des images, des objets, des idées et des textes existants, à les libérer et à ériger de nouvelles constructions et de nouveaux sens. Ainsi, bien que Debord nous ait condamnés à la totalité du « spectaculaire intégré » à la fin des années 1980 (4), il a aussi élaboré avec ses camarades une méthodologie permettant de poursuivre la critique : le « détournement », ou la réorientation critique des matériaux à disposition pour créer de nouvelles formes en faisant appel à des constructions passées. Le détournement ne suppose pas forcément un espace en marge de l’économie spectaculaire-marchande, mais il donne des outils pour reconfigurer nos rapports aux représentations et nos rapports en tant qu’ils sont médiatisés par les représentations. Autrement dit, pour transformer les conditions matérielles de la vie de tous les jours. Il n’y a pas de bon contexte ; seulement une logique de conflit relatif.

Par un détournement de Hegel, Debord et les siens ont vu dans ce conflit l’émergence du sujet, ce qui, dans leur jargon, s’apparente à l’acquisition de l’agentivité, plus particulièrement d’une agentivité supplantant le désir, siège de la vie humaine. La rencontre dialectique orchestrée par le détournement entre des représentations et des contextes, et qui expose les représentations à des révisions, à des annulations et à des mutations, ressemble beaucoup à l’action transformative du désir, qui s’exprime dans nos rencontres avec le monde extérieur. « Le désir, en tant qu’il constitue une transformation du monde naturel, constitue simultanément la transformation du soi inné en une liberté incarnée (5). » En façonnant notre monde, nous nous façonnons nous-mêmes, et vice versa. Pour cela, le détournement est un outil essentiel (6).

La pratique du détournement est donc enchevêtrée dans une théorie de la subjectivité. Or, comme les théories de la subjectivité impliquent toujours la notion de genre, on pourrait se demander si une réévaluation des cultures du spectacle prenant cela en compte ne risque pas de susciter des questions inédites – et peut-être même inattendues ?

II
L’aspect le plus communément négligé de l’œuvre des situationnistes est l’obsession collective du groupe pour les jeunes filles ultracontemporaines. L’image de la jeune fille nubile dans le vent est littéralement partout dans le travail des situationnistes – elle illustre leur journal éponyme, naturellement, mais est aussi l’une des figures clés des collages de Gil J. Wolman, des romans de Michèle Bernstein et des films de Guy Debord et de René Viénet (7). Comme Kelly Baum l’a avancé, ces cas de détournement, curieux en apparence, ont en réalité une fonction productive à titre d’« allégories de l’aliénation du désir (8) ». L’image réifiée de la femme ouvre sur une théorie plus vaste, selon laquelle le capitalisme a bel et bien colonisé toutes les sphères de la vie, provoquant une crise du vivant ou, autrement dit, une crise du désir. Cela dit, comme toutes les occurrences de détournement, ces images se heurtent constamment à leur propre négativité, ou aux sens contraires que comporte toute représentation. Ainsi, paradoxalement, elles peuvent être à la fois allégories de l’aliénation du désir et objets de désir... ce qui fait d’elles également des éléments perturbateurs.

Que les situationnistes aient été à ce point habités par la représentation de la jeune fille en révèle davantage qu’on pourrait le soupçonner à première vue – révèle, à vrai dire, que nous avons plus ou moins affaire à un boys’ club, sorte d’amicale réservée aux hommes, présumément émoustillés par les images de jolies filles. Entre la puberté et la maternité, la jeune fille évoque peut-être le rapport le plus compliqué entre la masse et l’individu qui ait dominé les discours de la modernité. Associée à une subjectivité malléable, transitionnelle, généralement dénigrée, jugée superficielle, narcissique et dénuée de moralité, l’image de la jeune fille est devenue une zone de confrontation entre nostalgie du passé et peur de l’avenir. Durant les années où l’IS développait ses projets, la notion même de « jeune fille » a été redéfinie en France ; les caractéristiques qui étaient précisément celles que l’on dénigrait ont fini par faire de la jeune fille une sorte de cryptogramme, clé des anxiétés nationales liées, après la guerre, à la reconstruction, à la décolonialisation et à la soi-disant « américanisation ». Autrement dit, les publics contemporains n’ont pas eu besoin de Debord pour comprendre que les représentations de la jeune fille contemporaine signalaient une crise. Aujourd’hui, toutefois, on gagnerait à garder ce contexte à l’esprit en abordant l’héritage de l’IS dans l’art contemporain (9). Certes, l’IS a fait un usage ambigu de la représentation de la jeune fille, mais, dans toute sa complexité et sa spécificité historique, cette représentation a aussi agi sur l’IS, et en conséquence habité sa pratique, introduisant des glissements inconciliables entre le vocabulaire du consumérisme d’après-guerre (illustré par de nouveaux fantasmes sur la féminité) et l’esthétisation du politique hégéliano-marxiste qui représente un pan central du travail du groupe.

III
Ce n’est pas une coïncidence si certains des plus intéressants héritiers de l’IS ont formulé leurs critiques du capitalisme et de la représentation sous forme d’interrogations sur les subjectivités et, en particulier, sur les constructions du genre : le concept de l’« artiste readymade » de Claire Fontaine ; Reena Spaulings (2004), roman de la Bernadette Corporation, et la galeriste fictive du même nom ; AnnLee, sujet-objet de Pierre Huyghe et Philippe Parreno (depuis 1999) ; et peut-être plus notoirement, le pamphlet théorico-coup de poing Premiers matériaux pour une théorie de la Jeune-Fille, de Tiqqun (2001) (10). Tous ces projets, d’une façon ou d’une autre, sont des détournements de la catégorie identitaire de la « jeune fille ». Ils provoquent précisément une déviation des images et des accoutrements attribués à la féminité et à la jeunesse, à des fins soit de commentaire, soit de remise en question de l’état actuel des choses.

Dans Reena Spaulings, le détournement prend la forme d’un roman, qui aurait bien pu être une revue. « Un livre écrit par des images, à propos d’images, destiné à être lu par d’autres images », mettant en scène une jeune protagoniste « détruite à répétition, puis réanimée... mise au travail, droguée, transformée en image de pub, sautée, volée, payée, forcée à parler ou forcée à se taire, désirée par certains, abandonnée dans les foules, effacée, réécrite et réutilisée » prétendument par cent-cinquante auteurs professionnels ou amateurs ayant œuvré, ensemble, à produire un « livre à succès » unique (11). Autrement dit, le roman s’intéresse à un personnage qui fait ce qu’il faisait forcément déjà : activer le désir par les formes contingentes et médiatisées du monde matériel.

Pour Tiqqun, la jeune fille est le « plus pur produit du Spectacle », sujet du capitalisme contemporain par excellence, et n’est donc « évidemment pas un concept sexué (12) ». Mais même si la jeune fille est conçue comme un concept avant d’être une nécessité biologique, le concept en question se complexifie encore, car le signifiant « jeune fille » reste le seul dont disposent des millions de personnes qui se disent, elles-mêmes, des jeunes filles. Bref, bien que l’idée de la jeune fille soit parfois dissociée de l’existence de la jeune fille, une telle compartimentation intellectuelle reste délicate et difficile à maintenir, surtout parce que les images précèdent souvent le langage dans la redéfinition de ce que signifie être jeune et être femme. Comme roman, Reena Spaulings aurait-il la même efficacité si le protagoniste était un homme ? La figure de la jeune fille, qui déjoue toute tentative d’aborder la vision de l’IS comme le programme politique clairement assemblé qu’il prétend être – à savoir, comme une attaque totale portée à toute l’économie spectaculaire-marchande –, échappe aussi, invariablement, aux tentatives de la situer dans le champ de l’art contemporain.

De toute évidence, l’étendue de l’obsession culturelle dont la jeune fille fait l’objet en tant que catégorie identitaire n’a certainement pas été provoquée par Tiqqun, pas plus qu’elle ne se borne au cadre théorique du groupe (13). Il n’en demeure pas moins qu’en 2001, son roman a annoncé de plusieurs façons le spectacle de la féminité qui prend forme aujourd’hui dans des séries télé comme Girls, les « selfies », des films comme Spring Breakers, Miley Cyrus, tumblr, White Girls de Hilton Al, le journal intime de Marie Calloway publié sur Internet –, le Rookie Magazine, Maidenhead de Tamara Faith Berger et tant d’autres exemples, toutes disciplines confondues, dans les sphères médiatiques, culturelles et économiques. Ce sont les signes d’une féminité jeune, désassemblée et mise en mouvement par des théoriciens contemporains de l’économie spectaculaire-marchande précisément parce qu’ils englobent tant l’expérience de la jeune fille que les structures représentationnelles qui permettent aux véritables jeunes filles de concevoir leurs rapports aux déterminants sociaux, culturels et politiques qui façonnent leur vie.

Que se passe-t-il quand les expériences – abstraites ou non, sexuées ou non – vécues collectivement et les représentations contingentes qui constituent la culture de la jeune fille deviennent les matériaux de l’art contemporain ? Que met-on en jeu quand on se tourne vers les facettes souvent dénigrées de la jeunesse et de la féminité pour théoriser la culture contemporaine (14) ?

On pourrait faire appel à l’art contemporain pour tenter de répondre à ces questions. Ou on pourrait, tout aussi aisément, poser la question aux jeunes filles directement, sur tumblr, par exemple, où les Magical Girls (autoproclamées) redirigent intuitivement leur propre culture, transformant des symboles, des personnages, des esthétiques largement associées à leur superficialité et, par extension, à leur oppression, en fondements de la réalisation éventuelle de leurs propres désirs par opposition aux identités qu’on leur attribue dans la société (15). En connaissance de cause ou non, l’IS s’est vraisemblablement tournée vers la culture de la jeune fille dans les années 1950 et 1960 au moins en partie parce que ces jeunes filles insoumises qui mettaient à mal les codes sexospécifiques bourgeois, tout en étant embourbées dans le Spectacle, représentaient ce qui se rapprochait le plus de la réalisation du désir. On peut probablement dire la même chose des artistes aujourd’hui.

[Traduit de l’anglais par Isabelle Lamarre]

NOTES
(1) Bernadette Corporation, A Billion and Change, 2009. [Trad. libre]
(2) La quatrième thèse de La société du spectacle précise : « Le spectacle n’est pas un ensemble d’images, mais un rapport social entre des personnes, médiatisé par des images. » Guy Debord, La société du spectacle, Paris, Gallimard, 1992, p. 16.
(3) T. J. Clark, « Modernism, Postmodernism, and Steam », October, no 100 (printemps 2002), p. 161. [Trad. libre]
(4) Guy Debord, Commentaires sur la société du spectacle, Paris, Gallimard, 1992, p. 22.
(5) Judith Butler, Subjects of Desire: Hegelian Reflections in Twentieth-Century France, New York, Columbia University Press, 1999, p. 58. [Trad. libre] Butler retrace l’impact et les mutations de cette vision du désir, des conférences d’Alexandre Kojève sur Hegel dans les années 1930 aux travaux de Kristeva, Deleuze et Foucault dans les années 1980.
(6) Dans La société du spectacle, Debord définit la subjectivité en ces termes : « le vivant se produisant lui-même, devenant maître et possesseur de son monde qui est l’histoire, et existant comme conscience de son jeu » p. 70. Bien que les membres de l’IS aient contemplé la possibilité d’un monde post-révolutionnaire, ils ont maintenu que la subjectivité était toujours construite par sa rencontre avec les contextes sociaux, culturels, politiques et économiques.
(7) Dans sa définition initiale, le détournement cible spécifiquement l’utilité de faire passer des images de la féminité d’un contexte à l’autre. Guy Debord et Gil J. Wolman, « Mode d’emploi du détournement », Lèvres nues, no 8, 1956.
(8) Kelly Baum, « Sex and the S.I. », October, no 126 (automne 2008). [Trad. libre]
(9) Jen Kennedy, « Charming Monsters : The Spectacle of Femininity in Postwar France », Grey Room, no 49 (automne 2012).
(10) Tiqqun était un collectif d’auteurs et de militants inspiré du situationnisme et du lettrisme. Formé en 1999, le groupe a publié deux volumes de son journal éponyme, ainsi que les livres Théorie de Bloom et Premiers matériaux pour une théorie de la Jeune-Fille avant de se dissoudre en 2001.
(11) Bernadette Corporation, Reena Spaulings, New York, Semiotext(e), 2004, viii, vii. [Trad. libre]
(12) Tiqqun, Premiers matériaux pour une théorie de la Jeune-Fille, Paris, Mille et une nuits, 2001, p. 10.
(13) Les critiques de Tiquun, bien que valides pour la plupart, ne seront pas exposées ici. Je recommande une lecture plus nuancée (voire sympathique) de Premiers , conjointement à celle d’un autre texte de ce collectif en constante mutation, soit « We Are All Clitoridian Women: Notes on Carla Lonzi’s Legacy », de Claire Fontaine, e-flux, no 47 (septembre 2013).
(14) Dans son introduction à la traduction anglaise de Tous les chevaux du roi, de Michèle Bernstein, John Kelsey, membre de la Bernadette Corporation, écrit : « Elle [la jeune fille] est notre condition même. Il s’agit seulement de ce qu’on fera d’elle. » [Trad. libre] All the King’s Horses, Los Angeles, Semiotext(e), 2008, p. 16.
(15) Nicole Killian, Sailor Moon, Glitter Text, and Graphic Design, présenté à l’American Comparative Literature Association, à New York, le 21 mars 2014.

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597