Dossier | Derek Sullivan. More Young Americans | esse arts + opinions

Dossier | Derek Sullivan. More Young Americans

  • Derek Sullivan, Fifteen Illustrations for (and/or from) a book that is (and/or will be) titled More Young Americans (détail | detail), 2011. Photo : Chris Thomaidis, permission de l'artiste | courtesy of the artist

Derek Sullivan. More Young Americans
By Kathleen Ritter

What is the residue of abstraction? How does its signification change through time and through translation? Where does it appear in our everyday lives? Derek Sullivan’s recent work capitalizes on a key aspect of abstraction: its elusive, shifting, and at times arbitrary relationship to meaning. Borrowing from a wide array of bibliographic sources, Sullivan approaches the histories of modernist design, abstraction, and conceptual art as a floating field of signs, paying particular attention to recurring patterns and forms, and weaves them into new relations of signification with a deft sleight of hand. The resulting images seem familiar and evoke a curious sense of likeness, but ultimately they are impossible to pin down.

This is most evident in Illustrations for (and/or from) the book that is (and/or will be) titled More Young Americans (2011), a multi-part work posited as illustrations extracted from a missing book. The panels comprise drawings, paintings, collages, and found images that borrow from the visual language of geometric abstraction: the textile patterns of Lyubov Popova and Varvara Stepanova, the modernist compositions of Frank Stella, and the Op art designs of Bridget Riley and Victor Vasarely. Some of Sullivan’s illustrations appear to be exercises in formal composition, while others excise images sourced from a variety of books, pamphlets, and catalogues; images that show young people engaging with familiar, abstract forms through production, juxtaposition, or play. Children climb on public sculptures, teenagers craft geometric designs at tables, and young people wear Op art inspired clothing. Placed together, the images highlight moments when vernacular abstraction becomes absorbed into popular culture, detached from a high-art context, and made fashionable — an irony, given the avant-garde status of abstraction throughout these years.

Illustrations for (and/or from) the book that is (and/or will be) titled More Young Americans was arranged in two parts and shown separately. The groupings suggest a speculative book, leaving the relationship between images open to interpretation. The first group of six images was shown in a frieze. (1) The second group of fifteen images was interspersed with six gaps and positioned in a three-by-seven grid. (2) While we might presume that these gaps represent spaces for the first six to complete the set, it is important to understand that these two sets of images were never intended to be shown together. The missing images and the conditional language of the title suggest that the book is incomplete, that there is always more that could be imagined or discovered. This series, like much of Sullivan’s work, uses the conceit of the book as a malleable container for the juxtaposition of disparate images, objects, and histories. It underscores the idea that the activity of reading and looking (in relation to either a book or an artwork) is an exercise in speculation. While a narrative may be gleaned from the combination of abstract forms, images, and missing pages, ultimately meaning depends on the particular engagement of the viewer. Further, Sullivan’s work often appears in forms that are fragmental or incomplete, complicating the activity of finding and fixing meaning.

Why is this purported book called More Young Americans? And what is it about youth that continues to fascinate us? Originally inspired by a number of post-war catalogues produced by the Museum of Modern Art that featured the work of “young” American artists at that time, Sullivan uses this title as a loose framing device. It evokes those key moments in the early careers of artists when the work is often more experimental in nature, yet shows the seeds of a practice that becomes formalized and recognizable in later years. As a young artist himself, Sullivan’s practice has many of the same characteristics: it slips between styles or forms and resists categorization.

On a formal level, the illustrations shuffle between photographic reproductions and abstract compositions made with coloured pencil and gouache, materials more associated with craft. Flat areas of colour, often in the shape of an ellipse, are superimposed over black and white photographs. In one, a group of children play on top of a public sculpture. A pale yellow oval is painted over the image in the upper left, perhaps a nod to John Baldessari, or simply an interruption of the illusion of depth in the photograph and a flattening of the picture plane. Next to this is an image of three people placing ovals on a diagonal wallpaper grid, as if it were a demonstration from a craft manual or home decor magazine. Following this is a panel of black and white vertical stripes, marked through with an X, reminiscent of Stella’s black paintings. This dynamic continues in a visual choreography from one illustration to the next, alternating between representations of the process of making (as depicted in the photographs) and what we might imagine as the results of this labour (in the abstract paintings).

Sullivan’s strategy of juxtaposition and citation teases out various signs to create a sense of likeness, a semblance of a subject, but one that remains in a suspended state of flux. The resemblance is often so strong that the illustrations appear to be copies, but ones that have lost their original source. Consequently the familiarity of the signs invites a kind of memory game of association, though one that is ongoing. In this way, Sullivan’s work accumulates references over time; references that are both intended and latent, both from the past and open to the future. When asked in an interview if the title of the series, specifically “Young Americans,” might refer to the David Bowie album, Sullivan describes it as a faux ami or false friend, (3) terms for words or phrases that appear so similar between two languages that we mistakenly assume they must have the same meaning. By calling it a false friend instead of dismissing the reference entirely, there is an acknowledgement that a relationship does in fact exist between these associations, even if it is an unintended one, and that the work is open to this kind of citational play.

As Jorge Luis Borges writes, “One literature differs from another... less because of the text than because of the way in which it is read.” (4) This is certainly true of Sullivan’s More Young Americans, which is open to wide and varied readings. The series is typical of Sullivan’s recent work in that it functions in myriad ways: it is a group of pictures, it is a book, it is an index, and it is incomplete. Sullivan’s illustrations for an absent book ultimately resist the conventions of an artwork as stable and contained, and suggest that both reading and looking are active states of production and interpretation on the part of the viewer, an act of speculation based on one’s knowledge and curiosity.

NOTES
(1) The Object of Observation (Changes by Being Observed), group exhibition at Galerie Johnen, Berlin (curated by Tim Lee), July 1 to September 3, 2011.
(2) Walking and Chewing the Fat at the Same Time, solo exhibition at Jessica Bradley Art + Projects, Toronto, November 12 to December 23, 2011.
(3) Derek Sullivan, interview by Jen Hutton, “Bookish in Belgium: Derek Sullivan’s friendly and formal ‘Young Americans,’” Magenta Magazine 2 no. 3 (Summer 2011).
www.magentamagazine.com/7/features/canadians-in-europe
(4) Jorge Luis Borges, “Note on (toward) Bernard Shaw,” in Labyrinths, eds. Donald A. Yates and James E. Irby (New York: New Directions, 1964), 214.

Tags artistes: 

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597

Dossier | Derek Sullivan. More Young Americans | esse arts + opinions

Dossier | Derek Sullivan. More Young Americans

  • Derek Sullivan, Fifteen Illustrations for (and/or from) a book that is (and/or will be) titled More Young Americans (détail | detail), 2011. Photo : Chris Thomaidis, permission de l'artiste | courtesy of the artist

Derek Sullivan. More Young Americans
Par Kathleen Ritter

En quoi consiste le résidu de l’abstraction ? Comment son sens change-t-il au fil du temps et de la traduction ? Où se manifeste-t-il, dans nos vies ? Le travail récent de Derek Sullivan table sur un aspect clé de l’abstraction : son rapport insaisissable, changeant et parfois arbitraire au sens. Puisant à une grande variété de sources bibliographiques, l’artiste approche les histoires du design moderniste, de l’abstraction et de l’art conceptuel comme un champ de signes en suspension. Il accorde une attention particulière aux formes et aux motifs récurrents, dont il tisse de nouveaux rapports au sens avec une agilité aveugle. Les images qui en résultent paraissent familières, évoquent une curieuse ressemblance, mais au final, échappent à l’interprétation.

Voilà qui est particulièrement évident dans Illustrations for (and/or from) the book that is (and/or will be) titled More Young Americans (2011), une œuvre en plusieurs parties qui se présentent comme les illustrations d’un livre disparu. Les panneaux qui la composent comprennent des dessins, des peintures, des collages et des images trouvées qui empruntent au langage visuel de l’abstraction géométrique : les motifs textiles de Lyubov Popova et de Varvara Stepanova, les compositions modernistes de Frank Stella et l’art optique de Bridget Riley ou de Victor Vasarely. Certaines illustrations de Sullivan constituent des exercices de composition formelle, d’autres extraient d’ouvrages, de brochures et de catalogues des images mettant en scène de jeunes gens en interaction avec des formes familières, abstraites par la production, la juxtaposition ou le jeu. Des enfants grimpent sur des sculptures publiques, des adolescents composent des motifs géométriques, des jeunes portent des vêtements inspirés de l’art optique. Réunies, ces images mettent à l’honneur des moments où l’abstraction courante est absorbée dans la culture populaire, se détache du cadre du grand art et devient en vogue – ce qui n’est pas sans ironie, si l’on tient compte du statut avant-gardiste de l’abstraction au fil du temps.

Illustrations for (and/or from) the book that is (and/or will be) titled More Young Americans comporte deux parties présentées séparément. Chaque regroupement suggère un livre abstrait, qui laisse libre l’interprétation de la relation entre les images. Le premier groupe de six images a été montré sous forme de frise (1). Le second compte quinze images disposées dans une grille de trois sur sept où sont intercalés six espaces vides (2). Bien que l’on soit naturellement porté à croire que ces six espaces sont prévus pour accueillir les six pièces manquantes, il faut savoir qu’il n’a jamais été envisagé que ces deux séries d’images soient présentées ensemble. Les images manquantes et la formulation conditionnelle du titre laissent entendre que le livre est incomplet, qu’il reste encore et toujours à imaginer ou à découvrir. Cette série, à l’instar de nombre d’œuvres de Sullivan, utilise le concept du livre comme matière malléable capable de recevoir la juxtaposition d’images, d’objets et d’histoires disparates. L’artiste appuie sur l’idée du lire et du regarder (un livre ou une œuvre d’art) comme exercices de spéculation. De fait, on peut certes dégager une trame narrative dans la combinaison de formes, d’images abstraites et de pages manquantes, mais il n’en demeure pas moins qu’au final, le sens dépend de l’engagement particulier du spectateur. Qui plus est, le travail de Sullivan prend souvent des formes fragmentaires ou incomplètes, ce qui complique la recherche et l’établissement d’un sens.

Pourquoi le livre en question s’intitule-t-il More Young Americans ? Et qu’y a-t-il dans la jeunesse qui n’en finit pas de fasciner ? Inspiré, au départ, par des catalogues produits dans les années d’après-guerre par le Museum of Modern Art où apparaissait le travail de « jeunes » artistes américains de l’époque, Sullivan se sert de ce titre comme d’un cadre de travail souple. Il évoque des moments clés du début de la carrière d’artistes, moments où le travail tend à être de nature plus expérimentale, mais porte déjà le germe d’une pratique qui s’officialisera par la suite et deviendra distinctive. En tant que jeune artiste lui-même, Sullivan a une pratique où se retrouvent de tels traits : elle glisse entre les styles et les formes, et résiste à la catégorisation.

Sur le plan formel, les illustrations passent de la reproduction photographique à la composition abstraite réalisée au crayon de couleur et à la gouache, des matières avant tout associées à l’artisanat. Des à-plats, souvent ovales, sont superposés sur des photographies en noir et blanc. Dans une de celles-ci, des enfants jouent sur une sculpture publique. Un ovale jaune pâle est peint dans le coin supérieur gauche de l’image, peut-être en guise de clin d’œil à John Baldessari ou, tout simplement, d’interruption de l’illusion de profondeur propre à la photographie et d’aplanissement. À côté, une image montre trois personnes disposant des ovales sur la diagonale d’un papier peint, comme s’il s’agissait d’une démonstration tirée d’un livre sur l’artisanat ou d’une revue de décoration. Le panneau adjacent, avec ses bandes noires et blanches marquées d’un X, rappelle quant à lui les peintures noires de Stella. Cette dynamique se poursuit d’une illustration à l’autre telle une chorégraphie visuelle où alternent la représentation du faire (dans les photographies) et ce qui, sommes-nous portés à croire, pourrait être le résultat de ce travail (dans les peintures abstraites).

Par sa stratégie de juxtaposition et de citation, Sullivan extrait divers signes pour créer une impression de similitude, de ressemblance, laquelle demeure toutefois suspendue, à l’état de flux. La ressemblance est souvent si forte que les illustrations semblent être des copies qui auraient perdu leur origine. La familiarité des signes convie donc à un jeu de mémoire intrigant et continu. De cette manière, le travail de Sullivan accumule au fil du temps des références intentionnelles et latentes, à la fois tirées du passé et ouvertes sur l’avenir. Lorsqu’on lui a demandé en entrevue si « Young Americans », dans le titre de la série, faisait référence à l’album de David Bowie, Sullivan a précisé qu’il s’agissait d'un « faux ami » (3), une expression qui désigne des mots de langues différentes dont on assume à tort qu’ils ont le même sens parce qu’ils sont similaires. En se reportant à la notion de faux amis plutôt qu’en rejetant complètement le rapprochement, l’artiste reconnaît l’existence de l’association, qu’elle soit intentionnelle ou non, et accepte que l’œuvre soit ouverte à de tels jeux de citation.

Comme le pensait Jorge Luis Borges, « une littérature diffère d’une autre [...] moins par le texte que par la façon dont elle est lue » (4). Voilà qui est particulièrement vrai dans le cas de More Young Americans, une œuvre qui se prête à des interprétations vastes et variées. Cette série est typique du travail récent de Sullivan en ce qu’elle fonctionne d’une myriade de manières : c’est un ensemble de photos, c’est un livre, c’est un index et c’est incomplet. Ces illustrations pour un livre inexistant résistent, au final, aux conventions de l’œuvre d’art comme entité stable et contenue, et suggèrent que lire et regarder sont pour le spectateur des gestes dynamiques de production et d’interprétation, des gestes de spéculation tablant sur les connaissances et la curiosité de chacun.

[Traduit de l’anglais par Isabelle Lamarre]

NOTES
(1) The Object of Observation (Changes by Being Observed), exposition collective, Galerie Johnen, Berlin (commissariat de Tim Lee), du 1er juillet au 3 septembre 2011.
(2) Walking and Chewing the Fat at the Same Time, exposition individuelle, Jessica Bradley Art + Projects, Toronto, du 12 novembre au 23 décembre 2011.
(3) Derek Sullivan, en entrevue avec Jen Hutton, « Bookish in Belgium: Derek Sullivan’s friendly and formal “Young Americans” », Magenta Magazine, vol. 2, no 3 (été 2011),
www.magentamagazine.com/7/features/canadians-in-europe.
(4) Cité par Gérard Genette dans Figures, Paris, Seuil, 1966, p. 130.

Tags artistes: 

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597