Zanele Muholi

Philippe Dumaine
  • Zanele Muholi, from the series Faces and Phases, since 2006. Photos: © Zanele Muholi
  • Zanele Muholi, from the series Beulahs, 2006-2010. Photo: © Zanele Muholi
  • Zanele Muholi, from the series Beulahs, 2006-2010. Photo: © Zanele Muholi
  • Zanele Muholi, from the series Beulahs, 2006-2010. Photo: © Zanele Muholi
  • Zanele Muholi, from the series Somnyama Ngonyama, since 2012. Photos: © Zanele Muholi

Visual Activism

Zanele Muholi’s impressive photo series Faces and Phases, which she began in 2006, now comprises over 250 black-and-white portraits of black lesbians and trans people, in South Africa and elsewhere. Wanting to counteract her community’s absence from (art) history, Muholi documents individuals who together constitute a constantly evolving visual archive that tends to make representations of identity more complex, rather than circumscribe them.

The honesty that exudes from the portraits in Faces and Phases testifies to the artist’s documentary intention and reveals the relational character of her work. Far from scenic aestheticization, these photographs are the material traces of exchanges, of encounters between the artist and her participants, of connections that go beyond the photo shoot. The project is thus articulated around shared experiences of the oppression and struggle, as well as joy, that queer life entails.

Considering her work a form of visual activism, Muholi wishes above all to celebrate the strength and resilience of queer and lesbian communities as they resist normative pressure. In Beulahs (2006–10), she captures the beauty and freedom of gay and trans men whose flamboyant attire contrasts with hostile spaces. These portraits allow us to imagine other futures, other lives outside the structures and narratives imposed by racist, sexist, transphobic, and homophobic society. They testify to multivalent identities, whose affirmation calls upon systems of representation to fully embrace the breadth of reality.

Turning the camera toward her own body in the Somnyama Ngonyama series (2012–ongoing series), Muholi interrogates the history of photographic representations of black women. She heightens the contrast in the image to accentuate her pigmentation and reimagines the uses of everyday objects in order to conjure moments of South Africa’s recent history or to embody archetypes. Produced abroad, during travels that have punctuated an international career, her self-portraits suggest a disorientation while confronting a colonial gaze that seeks to extend ethnological practices as it pursues traces of exotic authenticity in the African woman.

[Translated from the French by Ron Ross]

Captions
Images 1-2: Zanele Muholi, Manucha Muizenberg, Cape Town, 2010; Nosipho Solundwana Parktown Johannesburg 2007 from the series Faces and Phases, since 2006. Photos: © Zanele Muholi, courtesy of Stevenson, Cape Town/Johannesburg & Yancey Richardson, New York
Image 3: Zanele Muholi, Mini Mbatha,Durban, Glenelands, Jan. 2010, from the series Beulahs, 2006-2010. Photo: © Zanele Muholi, courtesy of Stevenson, Cape Town/Johannesburg & Yancey Richardson, New York
Image 4: Zanele Muholi, Jabu Radebe, from the series Beulahs, 2006-2010. Photo: © Zanele Muholi, courtesy of Stevenson, Cape Town/Johannesburg & Yancey Richardson, New York
Image 5: Zanele Muholi, Black Beulah, 2006, from the series Beulahs, 2006-2010. Photo: © Zanele Muholi, courtesy of Stevenson, Cape Town/Johannesburg & Yancey Richardson, New York
Images 6-7 : Zanele Muholi, Bester I, Mayotte, 2015, 2006; Sibusiso, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy, 2015, from the series Somnyama Ngonyama, since 2012. Photos: © Zanele Muholi, courtesy of Stevenson, Cape Town/Johannesburg & Yancey Richardson, New York

Number: 
91

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Zanele Muholi

Philippe Dumaine
  • Zanele Muholi, de la série Faces and Phases, depuis 2006. Photos : © Zanele Muholi
  • Zanele Muholi, de la série Beulahs, 2006-2010. Photo : © Zanele Muholi
  • Zanele Muholi, de la série Beulahs, 2006-2010. Photo : © Zanele Muholi
  • Zanele Muholi, de la série Beulahs, 2006-2010. Photo : © Zanele Muholi
  • Zanele Muholi, de la série Somnyama Ngonyama, depuis 2012. Photos : © Zanele Muholi

Un activisme visuel

L’imposante série photographique Faces and Phases, entamée par Zanele Muholi en 2006, comprend à ce jour plus de 250 portraits en noir et blanc de lesbiennes et de personnes trans noires, en Afrique du Sud et ailleurs. Cherchant à contrer l’absence de sa communauté de l’histoire (de l’art), Muholi se dévoue à la documentation de ces individus qui, ensemble, constituent une archive visuelle toujours mouvante, tendant davantage à complexifier les représentations identitaires qu’à les circonscrire.

L’honnêteté qui transpire des portraits de la série Faces and Phases témoigne d’une volonté documentaire et laisse entrevoir la part relationnelle du travail de l’artiste. Loin de mises en scène esthétisantes, ses photographies sont plutôt les traces matérielles d’échanges, de rencontres entre l’artiste et ses participant.e.s, de liens qui dépassent le temps de la séance photographique. Le projet s’articule ainsi autour des expériences partagées d’oppression et de combat, mais aussi de joie, qu’implique la vie queer.

Considérant son travail comme un activisme visuel, Zanele Muholi souhaite avant tout célébrer la force, la résilience de la communauté queer et lesbienne qui résiste aux pressions normatives. Pour Beulahs (2006-2010), Muholi capte la beauté, la liberté d’hommes gais et trans dont les habits flamboyants détonnent dans des espaces hostiles. Ces portraits permettent de penser d’autres futurs, d’autres vies en dehors des structures et récits imposés par la société raciste, sexiste, transphobe et homophobe. Ils témoignent d’identités multiples qui, en s’affirmant, appellent les systèmes de représentation à pleinement embrasser l’étendue du réel.

Tournant l’objectif de la caméra vers son propre corps, Muholi interroge l’histoire de la représentation photographique des femmes noires dans la série Somnyama Ngonyama (2012-en cours). Elle augmente les contrastes de ses images afin d’accentuer le pigment de sa peau et renouvelle les utilisations d’objets du quotidien pour évoquer des moments de l’histoire récente de l’Afrique du Sud ou pour donner corps à des archétypes. Réalisés à l’étranger, dans les déplacements qui rythment une carrière internationale, ces autoportraits mettent en scène la perte de repères tout en confrontant le regard colonial qui, dans la filiation des pratiques ethnologiques, cherche chez la femme africaine les traces d’une authenticité exoticisante.

Légendes des photos
Images 1-2 : Zanele Muholi, Manucha Muizenberg, Cape Town, 2010; Nosipho Solundwana Parktown Johannesburg 2007 de la série Faces and Phases, depuis 2006. Photos : © Zanele Muholi, permission de Stevenson, Cape Town/Johannesburg & Yancey Richardson, New York
Image 3 : Zanele Muholi, Mini Mbatha,Durban, Glenelands, Jan. 2010, de la série Beulahs, 2006-2010. Photo : © Zanele Muholi, permission de Stevenson, Cape Town/Johannesburg & Yancey Richardson, New York
Image 4 : Zanele Muholi, Jabu Radebe, de la série Beulahs, 2006-2010. Photo : © Zanele Muholi, permission de Stevenson, Cape Town/Johannesburg & Yancey Richardson, New York
Image 5 : Zanele Muholi, Black Beulah, 2006, de la série Beulahs, 2006-2010. Photo : © Zanele Muholi, permission de Stevenson, Cape Town/Johannesburg & Yancey Richardson, New York
Images 6-7 : Zanele Muholi, Bester I, Mayotte, 2015, 2006; Sibusiso, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy, 2015, de la série Somnyama Ngonyama, depuis 2012. Photos : © Zanele Muholi, permission de Stevenson, Cape Town/Johannesburg & Yancey Richardson, New York

Number: 
91

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Rubriques



Boutique

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598