Virginie Jourdain

Anne-Marie Dubois
  • Virginie Jourdain, Force majeure; Deux au moins, 2016. Photos: courtesy of the artist
  • Virginie Jourdain, Pastèque; Bombe, 2017. Photos: courtesy of the artist
  • Virginie Jourdain, Effrontée no 2; Deux poids deux mesures, 2017. Photos: courtesy of the artist
  • Virginie Jourdain, Carnivore; Cheffe, 2017. Photos: courtesy of the artist

Improbable Morphologies

Virginie Jourdain’s artistic approach is rooted in the sociopolitical context of its production. Actively engaged in critiquing normative standards — cultural, institutional, or identity-related — Jourdain accompanies her practice with caustic political commentary on the power of dominant discourse, questioning the impact of forms of representation and knowledge on identities and sexualities. Her reflections, comprising drawings, performances, installations, and sculptures, aim at deconstructing any pretensions of “naturality” in the dominant conception of heterosexuality and its correlates. Deciphering the misogynistic and homophobic underpinnings of legal, medical, and political disciplines, she proposes an intimate and personal visual vocabulary that tends to diffuse the violence inherent to such normative prescriptions.

Created in Brussels immediately after the 2017 attacks, Jourdain’s latest series of watercolours reiterates a practice brimming with narrative and subversive potential. The fluid unpredictability of the medium becomes a metaphor for the infinitely fluctuating states and sensualities of the body, far beyond any normative confines. In this sense, the drawings constitute a map of other corporealities, “improbable morphologies” that defy Cartesian logic and the prescribed orthopedic script. With bodies in all their multiplicity as reference point, the colourful compositions of interpenetrating beings and prosthetic figures provoke a deterritorialization of identities. Embedded in the visual rhetoric of the work is the collaborative dimension favoured by the artist, in which the interrelation of hybrid bodies compensates for the climate of individualism and its alienating effect on humanity. In this sense, the series introduces a community of rhizomic, phantasmagorical bodies that redefine our understanding of the possible.

Although Jourdain is fiercely critical of the reactionary social and political climate, the paintings suggest a certain battle-weariness — a fatigue echoing the never-ending nature of feminist and queer struggle. Far from being pessimistic, however, she calls on new empowerment strategies centred around compassion, self-awareness, and the valorization of marginalized knowledge and art practices.

[Translated from the French by Louise Ashcroft]

Number: 
91

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Virginie Jourdain

Anne-Marie Dubois
  • Virginie Jourdain, Force majeure; Deux au moins, 2016. Photos : permission de l'artiste
  • Virginie Jourdain, Pastèque; Bombe, 2017. Photos : permission de l'artiste
  • Virginie Jourdain, Effrontée no 2; Deux poids deux mesures, 2017. Photos : permission de l'artiste
  • Virginie Jourdain, Carnivore; Cheffe, 2017. Photos : permission de l'artiste

Morphologies improbables

La démarche de Virginie Jourdain s’ancre dans le contexte sociopolitique de sa production. Impliquée dans un processus critique des instances normatives – qu’elles soient culturelles, identitaires ou institutionnelles –, Jourdain accompagne sa pratique de commentaires à la fois politiques et caustiques sur le pouvoir des discours dominants, interrogeant la mise en forme des représentations et des savoirs sur les identités et les sexualités. Dessins, performances, installations et sculptures composent en grande partie cette réflexion vouée à déconstruire la prétention de « naturalité » du régime souverain de l’hétérosexualité et de ses corrélats. Décryptant les fondements misogynes et homophobes des expertises juridiques, médicales et politiques, l’artiste propose un vocabulaire visuel personnel et intimiste qui tend à désamorcer la violence inhérente à ces injonctions normatives.

Réalisée à Bruxelles au lendemain des attentats de 2017, la plus récente série de Jourdain réitère une pratique de l’aquarelle forte de son potentiel narratif et subversif. Empruntant à la matière humide ses propriétés imprévisibles et expressives, l’artiste métaphorise les états fluctuants et sensuels des corps de manière à échapper aux désignations, normatives à terme. Les dessins offrent ainsi une cartographie de corporalités autres, de « morphologies improbables » capables de s’extirper de la logique cartésienne et de son orthopédie prescriptive. Les compositions colorées où s’interpénètrent de multiples personnages, combinées à des figures truffées de prothèses, permettent un travail de déterritorialisation des identités tout en proposant comme point d’appui les corps dans leur multiplicité. La dimension collaborative caractéristique du travail de l’artiste demeure prégnante dans la rhétorique visuelle de l’œuvre, où la mise en relation des corps hybrides supplée à l’individualisme ambiant et à son pouvoir aliénant sur les masses. Ainsi, la série propose une communauté de corps rhizomiques et fantasmagoriques où peuvent se déployer tous les possibles.

Résolument critiques du climat social réactionnaire et des politiques qui en sont tributaires, les aquarelles font également état d’une lassitude des corps militants – d’une fatigue qui accompagne des combats féministes et queers trop souvent à refaire. Loin d’être pessimiste, Jourdain en appelle plutôt à de nouvelles stratégies d’empowerment fondées sur la bienveillance, la connaissance de soi et la valorisation de savoirs et de pratiques artistiques discrédités.

Number: 
91

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Rubriques



Boutique

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598