Vanessa Dion Fletcher

Léa Toulouse
  • Vanessa Dion Fletcher, Menstrual Accessory, installation by Alicia Everett, 2016. Photo: © Vanessa Dion Fletcher
  • Vanessa Dion Fletcher, Relationship or Transaction, 2014. Photo: © Vanessa Dion Fletcher
  • Vanessa Dion Fletcher, Relationship or Transaction, detail, 2014. Photo : © Vanessa Dion Fletcher
  • Vanessa Dion Fletcher, Writing Landscape, performance, 2011. Photo: © Vanessa Dion Fletcher
  • Vanessa Dion Fletcher, Writing Landscape, copper plates, 2011. Photo: © Vanessa Dion Fletcher

A Body of Work

Vanessa Dion Fletcher is a Potawatomi and Lenape two-spirit artist that looks to her ancestry to inspire a powerful body of work. The artist draws upon her role as a woman in a colonial world to create performances that challenge preconceived notions of identity. Dion Fletcher identifies as two-spirit, a term established in the 1990s to represent Indigenous queer individuals with a First Nations spiritual affiliation. Her work incorporates traditional Indigenous materials, her own body, and the natural environment to raise issues that are pertinent to First Nations today.

With#Menstrual Accessory (2016), Dion Fletcher turns an often private female bodily function into a fashionable, public happening. In many First Nations societies menstruation was regarded as a sacred occurrence for young girls becoming women: a rite of passage known as “moon time.” She creates a kit with a pair of white underwear and pink dye, garnished with a pink ribbon. Dion Fletcher challenges the status quo by turning menstruation into a humorous yet important performance.

As a commentary on historical colonial relations, Dion Fletcher created a work titled Relationship or Transaction (2015), a replica of a Western Great Lakes Covenant Chain Confederacy Wampum Belt made out of Canadian and counterfeit $5 bills in place of traditional purple and white beads. For the Lenape peoples, Wampum belts were exchanged to symbolize a treaty or relationship between nations. The artist replaced beads with contemporary Canadian currency to provoke dialogue about the -fraught relationships between First Nations and the Canadian government around treaty rights and colonization.

In Writing Landscape (2012), Dion Fletcher collaborates with the environment. The rocks and the earth form imprints on the copper plates strapped to her feet as she walks upon the ground in three locations: Toronto, Ontario; Thamesville, Ontario; and Pangnirtung, Nunavut. The artist chose these locations for the personal connections they hold. As Dion Fletcher states, “In Writing Landscape I am taking steps to record and listen to the land that I come from, the land that supports me, and the land that inspires me.”

Number: 
91

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Vanessa Dion Fletcher

Léa Toulouse
  • Vanessa Dion Fletcher, Menstrual Accessory, installation par Alicia Everett, 2016. Photo : © Vanessa Dion Fletcher
  • Vanessa Dion Fletcher, Relationship or Transaction, 2014. Photo : © Vanessa Dion Fletcher
  • Vanessa Dion Fletcher, Relationship or Transaction, détail, 2014. Photo : © Vanessa Dion Fletcher
  • Vanessa Dion Fletcher, Writing Landscape, performance, 2011. Photo : © Vanessa Dion Fletcher
  • Vanessa Dion Fletcher, Writing Landscape, plaques de cuivre, 2011. Photo : © Vanessa Dion Fletcher

Le corps à l’ouvrage

Vanessa Dion Fletcher est une artiste potawatomi et lenape qui s’inspire de son ascendance autochtone pour créer une œuvre puissante. Son rôle de femme dans un monde colonial lui fournit la matière de performances qui bousculent les préjugés identitaires. L’artiste se définit comme bispirituelle, un terme employé depuis les années 1990 pour désigner les Autochtones queers qui se sentent liés à la spiritualité des Premières Nations. Par l’intégration de matériaux autochtones traditionnels, de son propre corps et du milieu naturel, elle soulève des questions d’actualité pour les Premières Nations.

#Menstrual Accessory (2016) transforme une fonction physiologique habituellement privée en évènement branché. Les menstruations, étape sacrée du passage à l’âge adulte pour les jeunes filles, faisaient dans nombre de sociétés amérindiennes l’objet d’un rite lunaire. Dion Fletcher fabrique une trousse comprenant une culotte blanche ornée d’un ruban rose et un flacon de teinture rose. Elle défie le statuquo en faisant des menstruations une performance humoristique, mais importante.

Relationship or Transaction (2015) est un commentaire sur les relations coloniales. C’est une réplique d’une ceinture wampum représentant la chaine d’alliance entre les Britanniques et la confédération des nations autochtones des Grands Lacs. La sienne est composée de billets de cinq dollars, authentiques et contrefaits, au lieu des perles mauves et blanches traditionnelles. Pour le peuple lenape, l’échange de ceintures wampums symbolisait un traité ou une alliance entre nations. L’artiste a remplacé les perles par la devise canadienne actuelle afin d’ouvrir un dialogue sur les relations tendues des Premières Nations et du gouvernement canadien concernant les droits protégés par traité et la colonisation.

Writing Landscape (2012), enfin, est une interaction de l’artiste avec l’environnement. Les roches et la terre s’impriment sur les plaques de cuivre qu’elle porte aux pieds tandis qu’elle marche en trois lieux : Toronto et Thamesville, en Ontario, et Pangnirtung, au Nunavut. L’artiste a choisi ces endroits parce qu’ils ont pour elle des résonances personnelles : « Dans Writing Landscape, ma démarche sert à enregistrer et à écouter la terre d’où je viens, la terre qui me fait vivre et la terre qui m’inspire. »

[Traduit de l’anglais par Sophie Chisogne]

Number: 
91

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Rubriques



Boutique

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598