summary 70

Revue: 
Summary: 

EDITO
Small is beautiful?
SYLVETTE BABIN

MINIATURE

Jordi Colomer, Nicolas Moulin, Wilfrid Almendra:
Three Miniaturizations of Modernist Architecture
Are we really done with modernism? Some artists, while reassessing key features of our time, are interested in what the movement once was and what remains of it today. Significantly, this reassessment is accompanied by the production of models and miniatures replicating constructions of the twentieth century. In their consideration of what was done in the past, such diverse artists as Jordi Colomer, Nicolas Moulin, and Wilfrid Almendra are producing mock-ups after the event: with these three artists, models become formal strategies for examining what has become of modernism.

VANESSA MORISSET

Small Renderings Lack No Breadth of Vision:
The Art of Simulacra in Daniel Corbeil
Daniel Corbeil’s production generally draws on plays of scale, particularly when associated with models of landscapes. This article highlights some facets of the artist’s work, which toys with aspects northern wilderness and its relationship with industrial development and global warming. Beyond the environmentalist concerns underlying these considerations, Corbeil’s work proposes a formal exploration of the representation of landscape that invites spectators to examine the givens of their perception.

JEAN-PHILIPPE BEAULIEU

Miniaturized excess
We are witnessing a return to the tangible work, the creation and reception of which are inscribed in matter and duration. In the case of the miniatures created by Karine Giboulo this presupposes an inversion of scale that goes against the grain of what is massively produced in the digital era. Submerged as we are in the infinitely big, the immaterial and instantaneity of networks, and faced with such microcosms we experience a relationship to space, time and oneself that is at odds with what characterizes our everyday life. It is in terms of this duality and under the auspices of the hypermodern and technological sublime concepts that the miniature is analyzed here.

MARJOLAINE ARPIN

Guillaume Lachapelle
Dreamy Wanderings through Heterotopias
The miniatures of Guillaume Lachappelle are micro universes where fantastical and realistic elements overlap in an ambiguous mix of naturalist detail and improbable, stagey situations. Whether representing fairs, amusement parks, or libraries, these little theatres of wood or polyester resin and their hybrid figurines are metaphors for the processes of memory and emotion. The scenes he develops also recall the areas Michel Foucault identified with the term heterotopia, spaces that our societies reserve for materializing utopias.

MARIE-ÈVE CHARRON

The Photography of Alain Laframboise:
Art History’s Wunderkammer
Alain Laframboise’s photographs have for many years staged miniature objects with the aim of questioning the critical and theoretical foundations of art history. Through a study of the apparatuses put into place by the artist, Florence Chantoury-Lacombe interrogates the photographer’s micrological gaze and its construction of an istoria composed of figurines and other trinkets found in public markets.

FLORENCE CHANTOURY-LACOMBE

Photographs That Fit in the Hand:
Yamamoto Masao
Japanese artist Yamamoto Masao creates photographic installations comprised of a multitude of shots in very small formats. In order to create a feeling of closeness in the viewer and to incite him or her to appropriate the image to him or herself, he remains deliberately evasive concerning the subjects photographed and presents worn and damaged prints that replicate old photos. The artist uses the images’ small size to incite the viewer to come closer to determine their content. He hopes to thus make the images resonate in the viewer’s mind and to invite him or her to yield to the incomplete and allusive aspects of the shots.

LILIAN FROGER

Behind The Scenes: Performances of Vida Simon
In his introduction to the performance/installations of Montreal artist Vida Simon, the author discusses her use of the miniature, proposing that the precariousness of intimacy functions here as a form of resistance against the giganticism and publicity of our epoch. In her practice she pursues drawing and installation through performance in which miniature scale opens connections with time past. She establishes a relationship to time by way of childhood with its themes of toys and play. Simon’s choices of materials and technique favour simplicity, in her performances we go behind the scenes to encounter transparency, a sense that we are seeing the really real, the truth-which-is-a-story, a story in which we find ourselves as a collectivity.

STEPHEN HORNE

PORTFOLIOS
Jake & Dinos Chapman
Stéphane Gilot
Marie-Claude Bouthillier
Graeme Patterson

ARTICLES

Seeing through a crack: miniature versus totality
Don’t hide your age behind the mirror stage. This message can be addressed to an exemplary enfant terrible, placed in a global orphanage known as “art.” In Capitalism and Schizophrenia: A Thousand Plateaus, Gilles Deleuze and Félix Guarrati write that “for a child that was abandoned or lost. . . and even [for] many adults, there is a reality of becoming-animal, even though one does not in reality becomes animal.” This sheds light on the chronic infantilism peculiar to those artists and writers who, regardless of their age, link the crumbling support of their activities to the “retreat of totality.”

VICTOR TUPITSYN

Hadjithomas + Joreige
Working through emotion, memory and history
Featuring photographic, video, and installation works by the Lebanese documentary filmmaker and artist duo Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige, I’m There Even If You Don’t See Me stems from their experiences of Lebanon’s complex history of war, and the ongoing ramifications on its citizens, landscape, and collective consciousness. The author examines five of the artworks featured in this exhibition curated by Michèle Thériault. Hadjithomas and Joreige tease out the many complex issues vis-à-vis the preservation, commemoration, and writing of Lebanese history, asking such questions as: How does one represent collective trauma? Is it an essentially impossible task?

ZOË CHAN

YOUNG CRITICS COMPETITION
Chasing Napoleon, Palais de Tokyo, Paris, October 15, 2009–January 17, 2010
ROSE BOUTHILIER

AFFAIRE DE ZOUAVE
Minimal cocktail
MICHEL F. CÔTÉ

REVIEWS
Paris, Kadist Art Foundation by Nathalie Desmet

Sherbrooke, Galerie d’art Foreman by Manon Tourigny

Montréal, VOX Centre de l’image contemporaine by Vivian Ralickas

Montréal, OFFTA, Théâtre d’Aujourd’hui by Catherine Cyr

Vancouver, Presentation House Gallery by Kathleen Ritter

Vancouver, Blanket Contemporary Art by Sarah Ciurysek

Toronto, Gallery 44 by Gabrielle Moser

Toronto, LE Gallery by Gabrielle Moser

Publication | Guerrilla Girls : Troubler le repos, Galerie de l’UQAM by Katrie Chagnon

Publication | Les lendemains d’hier, Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal byKatrie Chagnon

Numéro: 

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

sommaire 70

Revue: 
Summary: 

ÉDITO
Small is beautiful?
SYLVETTE BABIN

MINIATURE

Jordi Colomer, Nicolas Moulin, Wilfrid Almendra : trois minifcations de l’architecture moderniste
Nous sommes-nous réellement débarrassés du modernisme ? Remettant en question les traits qui caractérisent notre époque, des artistes s’intéressent à ce qu’il a été et ce qu’il en reste aujourd’hui. Il est même assez significatif de constater que cette remise en question va de pair avec la réalisation de maquettes et de miniatures répliquant des constructions du 20e siècle. Des artistes d’univers aussi différents que Jordi Colomer, Nicolas Moulin et Wilfrid Almendra réalisent des maquettes a posteriori pour réfléchir sur ce qui a été fait : chez ces trois artistes, les maquettes deviennent en effet des stratégies plastiques pour s’interroger sur ce qu’est devenu le modernisme.

VANESSA MORISSET

Faire petit et voir grand : l’art du simulacre chez Daniel Corbeil
L’ensemble de la production de Daniel Corbeil tire parti des effets que permettent les jeux d’échelle, tout particulièrement ceux qui sont associés à la réalisation de maquettes de paysage. Cet article met en lumière quelques-unes des facettes du travail de l’artiste, porté par une préoccupation ludique qui lie la nature nordique à l’exploitation industrielle et au réchauffement climatique. Par-delà la réflexion écologiste qui les sous-tend, les œuvres de Corbeil proposent une exploration formelle de la représentation du paysage qui invite le spectateur à interroger les a priori de sa perception.

JEAN-PHILIPPE BEAULIEU

La démesure miniaturisée
Nous assistons en art à un retour de l’œuvre tangible dont la création et la réception s’inscrivent dans la matière et la durée. Elle sous-entend, dans le cas de la miniature telle que la conçoit Karine Giboulo, un renversement d’échelle allant à rebours de ce qu’engendre massivement l’ère du numérique. Plongés que nous sommes dans l’infiniment grand, l’immatériel et l’instantané des réseaux, nous expérimentons face à de tels microcosmes un rapport à l’espace, au temps et à soi tout en contraste avec celui qui caractérise notre quotidien. C’est en regard de cette dualité et à l’aune des concepts d’hypermodernité et de sublime technologique que nous proposons d’analyser la miniature.

MARJOLAINE ARPIN

Guillaume Lachapelle Dérives rêveuses sur quelques hétérotopies
Les miniatures de Guillaume Lachapelle sont des micro-univers où se chevauchent dans l’ambiguïté des composantes fantastiques et réalistes confrontant le vérisme des détails et l’improbable des situations campées. Qu’ils relèvent de la foire, du parc d’attractions ou de la bibliothèque, ces petits théâtres de bois ou de résine de polyester, accueillant des figurines hybrides, constituent des métaphores du travail de la mémoire et des affects. Les scènes élaborées par l’artiste font également écho aux espaces retenus par Michel Foucault sous le vocable « hétérotopie », ces espaces autres destinés à matérialiser nos utopies.

MARIE-ÈVE CHARRON

Les photographies d’Alain Laframboise : Le Wunderkammer de l’histoire de l’art
Les créations photographiques d’Alain Laframboise s’attachent, depuis de nombreuses années, à mettre en scène des objets miniatures dans la visée d’un requestionnement des fondements critiques et théoriques de l’histoire de l’art. Au détour de l’étude des dispositifs mis en place par l’artiste, Florence Chantoury-Lacombe interroge le regard micrologique du photographe dans l’agencement d’une istoria composée de figurines et autres menus objets bibelotés aux étals des marchés publics.

FLORENCE CHANTOURY-LACOMBE

Des photographies qui tiennent dans la main : Yamamoto Masao
L’artiste japonais Yamamoto Masao réalise des installations photographiques constituées d’une multitude de clichés de très petits formats. Afin de créer un sentiment de proximité chez le spectateur et pour inciter celui-ci à s’approprier les images, il reste volontairement évasif sur les sujets qu’il photographie et propose des tirages usés et abîmés qui imitent la photographie ancienne. Par la petite taille des images, l’artiste incite le visiteur à s’approcher des photographies pour que celui-ci en appréhende correctement le contenu. Il espère ainsi faire résonner ses œuvres dans l’esprit du spectateur, invité à suppléer l’aspect lacunaire et allusif des clichés.

LILIAN FROGER

En coulisse : Les performances de Vida Simon
Dans sa présentation des performances et installations de l’artiste montréalaise Vida Simon, l’auteur aborde son utilisation de la miniature en suggérant que la précarité de l’intimité opère comme forme de résistance contre le gigantisme et le caractère public de notre époque. Dans sa pratique, Simon travaille le dessin et l’installation au moyen de la performance, où l’échelle miniature crée des liens avec le passé. Elle établit un rapport au temps par la voie de l’enfance, en abordant les thèmes des jouets et du jeu. Chez Simon, les choix de matériaux et de techniques favorisent la simplicité ; ses performances transportent les spectateurs en coulisse où ils retrouvent la transparence, le sentiment de voir le « vraiment réel », la vérité-récit, un récit qui les englobe en tant que collectivité.

STEPHEN HORNE

PORTFOLIOS
Jake & Dinos Chapman
Stéphane Gilot
Marie-Claude Bouthillier
Graeme Patterson

ARTICLES

Regarder par la fente : La miniature par rapport à la totalité
Il ne faut pas cacher son âge derrière le stade du miroir. Ce message peut s’adresser à l’enfant terrible par excellence, placé dans l’orphelinat mondial que l’on nomme « art ». Dans Capitalisme et Schizophrénie 2. Mille Plateaux, Gilles Deleuze et Félix Guattari écrivent : « Réalité du devenir-animal, sans que l’on devienne animal en réalité. [...] Car ce qu’il faut expliquer, c’est précisément que tous les enfants, même beaucoup d’adultes, le fassent plus ou moins [...]. » Ceci jette de la lumière sur l’infantilisme chronique propre aux artistes et aux auteurs qui, indépendamment de leur âge, relient le soutien faiblissant de leurs activités au « repli de la totalité ».

VICTOR TUPITSYN

Hadjithomas + Joreige Travailler les émotions, la mémoire et l’histoire
Présentant des œuvres photo et vidéo ainsi que des installations du duo libanais Joana Hadjithomas et Khalil Joreige, artistes et documentaristes, I’m There Even If You Don’t See Me découle de leur vécu dans un Liban au passé complexe marqué par la guerre et des séquelles encore présentes chez les citoyens, dans le paysage et dans la conscience collective. L’auteure examine cinq œuvres présentées dans le cadre de l’exposition dont la commissaire est Michèle Thériault. Hadjithomas et Joreige dégagent les enjeux complexes et nombreux qui entourent la protection, la commémoration et l’écriture de l’histoire du Liban. Pour ce faire, ils s’interrogent : comment représenter un traumatisme collectif ? S’agit-il d’une tâche par essence impossible ?

ZOË CHAN

YOUNG CRITICS COMPETITION
Chasing Napoleon,
Palais de Tokyo, Paris, October 15, 2009–January 17, 2010
ROSE BOUTHILLIER

AFFAIRE DE ZOUAVE
Minimal cocktail
MICHEL F. CÔTÉ

COMPTES RENDUS
Paris | Kadist Art Foundation, Nathalie Desmet

Sherbrooke | Galerie d’art Foreman, Manon Tourigny


Montréal | VOX Centre de l’image contemporaine, Vivian Ralickas


Montréal | OFFTA, Théâtre d’Aujourd’hui, Catherine Cyr

Vancouver | Presentation House Gallery, Kathleen Ritter


Vancouver | Blanket Contemporary Art, Sarah Ciurysek


Toronto | Gallery 44, Gabrielle Moser


Toronto | LE Gallery, Gabrielle Moser


Publication | Guerrilla Girls : Troubler le repos, Galerie de l’UQAM Katrie Chagnon

Publication | Les lendemains d’hier, Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal Katrie Chagnon

Numéro: 

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598