Sarah Anne Johnson

Dominique Sirois-Rouleau
  • Sarah Anne Johnson, Party Boat, 2011. Photo: Sarah Anne Johnson, courtesy of the Division Gallery
  • Sarah Anne Johnson, Triangle, 2011. Photo: Sarah Anne Johnson, courtesy of the Division Gallery
  • Sarah Anne Johnson, A Clear Cut, 2003. Photo: Sarah Anne Johnson, courtesy of the Division Gallery
  • Sarah Anne Johnson, Party's Over, 2011. Photo: Sarah Anne Johnson, courtesy of the Division Gallery
  • Sarah Anne Johnson, Untitled, tent with sunset, 2003. Photo: Sarah Anne Johnson, courtesy of the Division Gallery

In her exploration of reality, Sarah Anne Johnson amplifies and shifts the documentary effects of photography by interfering in the medium. She integrates into her images a variety of artifices, using techniques ranging from diorama to Photoshop and painting, thus adding to the initial pictures a long process of re-creation of their content. Like alterations of the pure image, the artist’s manual work somehow critiques the utopia of objective information. She works at the intersection of reality and perception. In this sense, she does not limit landscape to its material composition but integrates emotional and physical aspects as well. Her manipulations evoke the sensitive node that acts under the surface of the image; they also articulate the relational issues, complex and invisible, between humans and their environments and communities.

Johnson borrows from the documentary stance a sense of narrative, which she diverts from its journalistic functions to a more intimate approach. In Tree Planting (2005), for example, she integrates sculpted figurines into a series that is almost completely in the straight photography tradition, in order to connect raw exposure to the real with her own memories. The narratives that she constructs and displays mix with our interpretation of the Canadian North to compose a human and natural landscape that is more sincere than idealized. Johnson’s interventions are sometimes more apparent, as in the series Arctic Wonderland (2011), in which she literally transforms the images. She engraves, paints on, cuts out, and retouches the prints to transcend the generic image and convey the ecological and sensory issues of the sites. With these additions, subtractions, and constructions, Johnson’s images fill the chasm between vision and emotion, achieving a more authentic perception of the environment.

Johnson’s practice addresses the image and its content in a plural, even experimental way, generating a new type of documentation that is eminently personal and true. Her sharp awareness of the photographer’s gaze at places, things, and people confers universal value on intimate expression. In the end, this manifest subjectivity may be the fairest form of objectivity.

[Translated from the French by Käthe Roth]

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Sarah Anne Johnson

Dominique Sirois-Rouleau
  • Sarah Anne Johnson, Party Boat, 2011. Photo : Sarah Anne Johnson, permission de la Galerie Division
  • Sarah Anne Johnson, Triangle, 2011. Photo : Sarah Anne Johnson, permission de la Galerie Division
  • Sarah Anne Johnson, A Clear Cut, 2003. Photo : Sarah Anne Johnson, permission de la Galerie Division
  • Sarah Anne Johnson, Party's Over, 2011. Photo : Sarah Anne Johnson, permission de la Galerie Division
  • Sarah Anne Johnson, Untitled, tent with sunset, 2003. Photo : Sarah Anne Johnson, permission de la Galerie Division

Motivée par l’exploration de la réalité, Sarah Anne Johnson amplifie et décale les effets documentaires du photographique en intervenant sur son médium. Elle intègre à ses images une variété d’artifices allant du diorama à Photoshop en passant par la peinture, de sorte que s’ajoute au cliché initial un long processus de recréation du contenu. À l’instar de l’altération de l’image pure, le travail manuel de l’artiste dénonce une certaine utopie de l’information objective. Johnson œuvre au croisement de la réalité et de la perception. En ce sens, le paysage ne se limite pas à sa composition matérielle, mais intègre les aspects émotifs et physiques de sa perception. Les manipulations permettent d’évoquer le nœud sensible qui agit sous la surface de l’image et articulent les enjeux relationnels, complexes et invisibles, de l’homme à son environnement et à sa communauté.

Johnson emprunte à la posture documentaire un sens narratif qu’elle détourne de ses fonctions journalistiques au profit d’une approche plus intimiste. Dans Tree Planting (2005), elle intègre par exemple quelques figurines sculptées à un corpus près de la tradition de la straight photography afin de lier l’exposition crue du réel à ses propres souvenirs. Les récits construits et affirmés se mêlent à notre interprétation du Nord canadien pour composer un paysage humain et naturel plus sincère qu’idéalisé. Les interventions de l’artiste se font parfois plus patentes, comme avec la série Arctic Wonderland (2011) où elle transforme littéralement les images. Johnson grave, peint, découpe et retouche les tirages afin de transcender l’image générique et traduire les enjeux écologiques et sensibles des lieux. Ajout, soustraction et construction sont autant d’outils permettant aux images de Johnson de combler le fossé entre la vision et le sentiment, et d’ainsi atteindre une perception plus authentique de l’environnement.

La pratique de Johnson aborde l’image et son contenu de manière plurielle, voire expérimentale, et génère de là un nouveau type de documentation éminemment personnel et vrai. Sa conscience aigüe du regard du photographe sur les lieux, les choses et les gens confère à l’expression intimiste une valeur universelle. Cette subjectivité manifeste serait enfin la forme la plus juste de l’objectivité.

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Rubriques



Boutique

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598