Roni Horn

Maeve Hanna
  • Roni Horn, VATNASAFN/LIBRARY OF WATER, 2007. Photo: Roni Horn, © Artangel
  • Roni Horn, VATNASAFN/LIBRARY OF WATER, 2007. Photo: Stefan Altenburger, © Artangel
  • Roni Horn, VATNASAFN/LIBRARY OF WATER, 2007. Photo: Stefan Altenburger, © Artangel
  • Roni Horn, VATNASAFN/LIBRARY OF WATER, 2007. Photo: Stefan Altenburger, © Artangel
  • Roni Horn, VATNASAFN/LIBRARY OF WATER, 2007. Photo: Stefan Altenburger, © Artangel

Archived Glaciers at the Library of Water

In Stykkishólmur, on the coast of Breiðafjörður in Iceland, is VATNASAFN or “water museum,” a small library that moves and shifts. The objects archived there are not those that hold words, lines of poetry, or neat sentences that stitch together a narrative, but instead water. The water kept here is drawn from glaciers in Iceland and was created by the American artist Roni Horn. Horn has had a long and intimate involvement with Iceland through its geography, geology, climate, and culture. In 2007 the artist was invited by Artangel to create the installation VATNASAFN. It was their first international commission in the former library.

In VATNASAFN, glacial ice has been captured and transformed into an altered state. Twenty-four large glass columns full of glacial water stand in the space, resembling soldiers, figures standing in a formation that represents Iceland. In his article “To the Lighthouse” in the Guardian, Gordon Burn notes that some of the columns are translucent, while others are opaque with bits of ancient detritus floating in them. These remnants of the past speak to the time when the glaciers were formed, as well as the fact that they are currently melting at a rapid pace due to global warming.

It is intriguing to contemplate the idea of archiving a glacier. As we know, ice melts and from that transformed state as water, it evaporates. Housing melted ice in a library posits an interesting conundrum: water causes ink to run and wrinkles pages in books. If a library were flooded, the books within its walls would be destroyed: no longer in existence. Glaciers too, will one day no longer exist and be nothing but a memory. However, environmental implications were not Horn’s only consideration. The installation also acts as a space for reflection and observation. The columns are lit from below, while windows on opposing sides of the library face the sea and the town. VATNASAFN becomes a place where visitors are library-goers, as well as witnesses who read the landscape and the water. The installation offers the opportunity to transform the experience of the library.

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Roni Horn

Maeve Hanna
  • Roni Horn, VATNASAFN/LIBRARY OF WATER, 2007. Photo : Roni Horn, © Artangel
  • Roni Horn, VATNASAFN/LIBRARY OF WATER, 2007. Photo : Stefan Altenburger, © Artangel
  • Roni Horn, VATNASAFN/LIBRARY OF WATER, 2007. Photo : Stefan Altenburger, © Artangel
  • Roni Horn, VATNASAFN/LIBRARY OF WATER, 2007. Photo : Stefan Altenburger, © Artangel
  • Roni Horn, VATNASAFN/LIBRARY OF WATER, 2007. Photo : Stefan Altenburger, © Artangel

Glaciers archivés dans une « aquathèque »

À Stykkishólmur, dans la baie de Breiðafjörður, en Islande, se trouve VATNASAFN, le « musée de l’eau », une petite bibliothèque qui roule et qui tangue. Les objets archivés là ne sont pas de ceux qui contiennent des mots, des vers ou les phrases nettes de récits bien ficelés ; c’est de l’eau qu’ils contiennent. Elle vient de glaciers islandais et sa mise en espace est signée par l’Étatsunien Roni Horn, qui cultive depuis longtemps une relation intime avec l’Islande, sa géographie, sa géologie, son climat et sa culture. En 2007, l’artiste était convié par Artangel à créer l’installation VATNASAFN. C’était le premier mandat du groupe dans l’ancienne bibliothèque.

Pour créer VATNASAFN, des morceaux de glaciers ont été prélevés, transformés. Vingt-quatre grandes colonnes de verre pleines de glace fondue occupent l’espace, semblables à des soldats, silhouettes debout dans une formation qui représente l’Islande. Dans son article « To the Lighthouse », paru dans The Guardian, Gordon Burn observe que certaines colonnes sont translucides, alors que d’autres sont rendues opaques par le flottement de roches détritiques. Ces restes d’un passé lointain évoquent la formation des glaciers, en même temps que leur fonte actuelle accélérée par le réchauffement climatique.

L’idée d’archiver un glacier est fascinante. La glace fond, bien sûr ; et dans cet état liquide, elle s’évapore. Accueillir de la glace fondue dans une bibliothèque, voilà qui fait travailler les méninges : l’eau dilue l’encre et fait gondoler les pages. Si une bibliothèque est inondée, les livres qu’elle contient sont détruits : ils n’existent plus. Les glaciers aussi cesseront d’exister un jour et ne seront plus qu’un souvenir… Mais les questions environnementales ne sont pas l’unique préoccupation de Horn. Son installation est également un lieu de réflexion et d’observation. Les colonnes sont éclairées par en dessous, tandis que, sur des murs opposés de la bibliothèque, les fenêtres ouvrent sur la mer et la ville. VATNASAFN devient un endroit où les visiteurs de la bibliothèque sont en même temps des témoins, lisant l’eau comme le paysage. Cette installation transforme l’expérience vécue à la bibliothèque.

Traduit de l’anglais par Sophie Chisogne

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Rubriques



Boutique

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598