Indignation

77
2013

Theme:
The theme Indignation addresses the social and political upheavals that have crystallized since 2011, and whose momentum is seemingly unstoppable. In this context, how do artists express their indignation? If certain individuals among them decide — occasionally or persistently — to express their indignation through their art, others choose to take political action and to participate in popular demonstrations. This issue contemplates the various motifs of indignation, as well as the strategies employed by artists and citizens to express their discontent.

Digital edition available

8,00$
Preview (click to enlarge): 
  • EDITO
    We, the outraged
    SYLVETTE BABIN

    INDIGNATION
    The Colour of Indignation
    In this essay, the authors look back on the student strike in Quebec this past spring to show how the protest actions promoted political subjectifications and inspired ways to redefine the practices of democracy. They demonstrate how the strike, which transformed into a popular movement, gave rise to a multitude of tactics that signalled to the government the students’ rejection of the tuition hike and, in their mode of application, served as an effective critique of the logic of neoliberalism and commodification of knowledge.
    MARIE-ÈVE CHARRON & THÉRÈSE ST-GELAIS

    Pussy Riot. Hatred
    This text focuses on the concept of hatred to explore the performances of feminist punk band Pussy Riot. It addresses, on the one hand, the hatred shown by Russian leaders toward youth who are claiming their right to express themselves, and, on the other, the hatred felt by the victims of social and economic injustices. The article examines the means used by both the Russian government and Pussy Riot to engage in symbolic destruction—the apparently logical consequence of affirmed hatred.
    ANNIE GÉRIN

    Liberty Lost: On Economic Crisis and the Suppression of Dissent
    Through a critical analysis of the work Liberty Lost (2010) by artists Carole Condé and Karl Beveridge, this paper addresses the loss of freedom of expression that was experienced by many of those protesting the 2010 G20 Summit in Toronto, as well as the broader implications of this suppression of dissent. It explores both the expression of the protesters and the broader expression of dissent by artists in general, much of which is concerned with the increasing precarity of both labour and the economy. Rancière’s notion of politics, dissensus, and the police further develop this analysis, by exploring a political philosophy aimed at elaborating on resistance in the arts.
    MICHAEL DIRISIO

    Facebook Rendez-vous: Foundland and Syria’s Digital War
    Have artists taken part in popular uprisings since the Arab Spring? Has that event given new impetus to activism in art? Foundland, created in the Netherlands in 2009 by Lauren Alexander and Ghalia Elsrakbi, would suggest as much. With their most recent project, Simba, the last prince of Ba’ath country, they show their support for the Syrian rebellion by decoding the propaganda images that an “electronic army” disseminates through bogus Facebook profiles. They foil such manipulative strategies by bearing witness to them before their art-world audience, and beyond, by their own visibility on the Web.
    VANESSA MORISSET

    Red on Red
    Based on a consideration of the theatrical performance Alexis, a Greek tragedy, set for the most part in Athens during the December 2008 riots, the author demonstrates that the play, in drawing inspiration from Brecht, raises questions regarding spectatorial involvement. Can theatre, as a representational space, provide avenues for reflection? This would require a reconsideration of the actor-spectator relationship. One must also remember that indignation must not lead to resignation but, rather, to a reflection in which the spectator may also become the actor in his or her own life.
    ANDRÉ-LOUIS PARÉ

    The Ungovernables
    In this article, the author comments on The Ungovernables, an exhibition held at the New Museum in New York in 2011. She highlights the exhibition’s trenchant socio-political nature, which contrasted with the art fairs taking place at the same time. The critical dimension of the exhibited works, all produced by artists in their thirties from all over the world, is in tune with the outrage expressed by the Occupy movement and the student strike in Quebec.
    MARIE-ÈVE CHARRON

    The Politics of Indignation: Art, Activism and Ai Weiwei
    A symbol of the struggle for human rights, renowned artist, architect, and activist Ai Weiwei has become a global figure despite being forbidden to travel outside China. The committed political blogger is widely known for his outspoken criticism of China’s suppression of freedom of expression. This essay argues that Ai’s high profile has detracted from a deeper understanding of his recent art and activism as intrinsically linked to the current phenomenon of social media in the digital age.
    ALICE MING WAI JIM

    PORTFOLIO
    L’École de la Montagne Rouge
    Clément de Gaulejac

    ARTICLES
    Public Vertigoes
    Over the course of three weeks during which I visited the artists participating in the contemporary art symposium in Baie-Saint-Paul, I attempted to construct an experience by bringing together my observations, excerpts of discussions, and concepts drawn from democratic theory. This article captures that interaction. It shows a trap into which the symposium almost fell, but was finally able to avoid: that of wanting to “make visible” the creative process. The article shows the origin of this ideal and the way in which it helps to create a spectatorial view of social relations. It describes various aspects of the symposium that rejected this view, replacing it with moments of participation, contact, and conversation.
    JOËLLE ZASK

    Help! The New Written Art Object. Alice Khan, a novel by Pauline Klein
    Alice Khan is a short novel by the emerging French author Pauline Klein, who wants to make art without having to be an artist. A ludicrous comment on feminism, Alice Khan is more than just an artist's novel; it is a written art object, an artwork in its own right. The plot is narrated by a mysterious heroine who recounts her adventures living a double life as Anna, her artist’s muse persona, and Alice, her alter ego as an artist. Written in an autofiction mode, Alice Khan’s emphasis on language as material in art production inscribes the novel in a tradition initiated with a poetic throw of the dice.
    MARYSE LARIVIÈRE

    Circuits, Bertille Bak au MAMVP
    En s’installant au sein de communautés minoritaires, confrontées à des inquiétudes concernant leur existence ou leur identité territoriale, Bertille Bak parvient à transformer leurs activités quotidiennes en récits fictionnels. Ces micro-fictions filmées, que l’artiste renforcent par un usage particulier du son et du bruitage, permettent aux acteurs de construire de nouvelles stratégies de résistance face aux déplacements ou aux délocalisations auxquels ils sont soumis. Les questions de micro-histoire, mémoire, ou d’engagement, mêlés à la fiction, permettent d’imaginer un nouvel type d’anthropologie visuelle.
    NATHALIE DESMET

    Stéphane Gilot, MULTIVERSITÉ/Métacampus
    MULTIVERSITÉ/Métacampus est un compte rendu critique de l’exposition de Stéphane Gilot, présentée à la Galerie de l’UQAM à l’automne 2012. Alors que l’artiste prend comme point de départ le campus de l’UQAM pour investiguer le monde universitaire, l’article relève la pertinence du propos de l’œuvre (notamment, suite au « printemps érable »), mais s’attarde surtout à démontrer comment l’installation architecturale de Gilot rend compte formellement des multiples facettes de son objet d’étude.
    ARIANE DE BLOIS

    AFFAIRE DE ZOUAVE
    Minéralisation
    MICHEL F. CÔTÉ

    COMPTES RENDUS
    Montréal | Vox Centre de l’image contemporaine, Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen, Space Fiction & the Archives by Anne-Marie St-Jean Aubre

    Montréal | Galerie B-312, Jonathan Villeneuve, Faire la vague by Dominique Allard

    Montréal | Galerie Occurrence, Jacynthe Carrier, Parcours by Gabrielle Marcoux

    Montréal | Galerie de l’UQAM, Sébastien Cliche, La doublure by Aseman Sabet

    Montréal | galerie antoine ertaskiran, Sayeh Sarfaraz, mémoire d’éléphant by Dominique Allard

    New York | P !, Katarzyna Krakowiak, Shorthand by Aseman Sabet

    Paris | Galerie Hussenot, Antoine Aguilar, Incerta Alba by Nathalie Desmet

    Paris | Jeu de Paume, Laurent Grasso, Uraniborg by Vanessa Morisset

    London | Delfina Foundation, Abbas Akhavan, Study for a Garden by Martine Rouleau

    London | Institute of Contemporary Arts (ICA), Bloomberg New Contemporaries by Martine Rouleau

    Montréal | Théâtre La Chapelle, Dom Juan_uncensored by Christian Saint-Pierre

    Montréal | Usine C, Kurt Weill : Cabaret brise-jour et autres manivelles by Christian Saint-Pierre

    Publication | Catherine Bolduc. Mes châteaux d’air et autres fabulations 1996-2012 by Dominique Allard

    Publication | En imparfaite santé : la médicalisation de l’architecture by Dominique Allard

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Indignation

77
2013

Dossier :
Le dossier Indignation se veut d’abord l’écho des bouleversements sociaux et politiques qui ont pris forme depuis 2011 et que rien, d’ailleurs, ne semble vouloir essouffler. Dans ce contexte comment les artistes s’indignent-ils ? Si certains d’entre eux décident, de façon ponctuelle ou récurrente, d’exprimer leur indignation par le truchement de l’art, d’autres choisissent surtout l’action politique et prennent part aux manifestations populaires. Ce numéro s’attarde aux différents motifs d’indignation et aux stratégies employées par les artistes et les citoyens pour signifier leur mécontentement.

Version numérique disponible

8,00$
Aperçu (cliquez pour agrandir): 
  • ÉDITO
    Nous les indignés
    SYLVETTE BABIN

    INDIGNATION
    La couleur de l’indignation
    Dans cet essai, les auteures reviennent sur la grève étudiante du printemps au Québec pour en examiner les actions de protestation dans la perspective où elles ont favorisé des subjectivations politiques et créé des manières de redéfinir les usages de la démocratie. Elles font voir que cette grève étudiante, muée en mouvement populaire, a généré une multitude de tactiques qui, visant à signifier au gouvernement le rejet de la hausse des frais de scolarité, ont par leur mode opératoire même critiqué la logique néolibérale et la marchandisation du savoir.
    MARIE-ÈVE CHARRON THÉRÈSE ST-GELAIS

    Pussy Riot. La haine
    Ce texte s’intéresse, par le biais de la notion de haine, aux performances du groupe punk féministe russe Pussy Riot. Il s’agit d’une part de la haine que les dirigeants russes vouent à une jeunesse qui revendique son droit d’expression, et d’autre part de celle ressentie par les victimes des injustices sociales et économiques. Comme la destruction symbolique semble être la conséquence logique de la haine affirmée, les moyens déployés à cette fin par le gouvernement russe et par Pussy Riot sont examinés.
    ANNIE GÉRIN

    La liberté perdue : crise économique et répression de la dissidence
    À partir d’une analyse critique de l’œuvre Liberty Lost (2010), de Carole Condé et Karl Beveridge, cet article traite de la perte de liberté d’expression vécue par un grand nombre des personnes qui ont participé aux manifestations entourant le Sommet du G20 à Toronto, ainsi que des implications plus vastes de cette répression de la dissidence. Il explore tant l’expression des protestataires que l’expression globale de la dissidence par ces deux artistes, dont les préoccupations portent en grande partie sur l’accroissement de la précarité qui frappe les travailleurs et l’économie. La notion de dissensus sur laquelle repose la politique, selon Jacques Rancière, et sa conception de la police sont abordées dans cette analyse qui explore une philosophie ayant pour but de penser la résistance dans les arts.
    MICHAEL DIRISIO

    Rendez-vous sur Facebook : Foundland et la guerre électronique syrienne
    Les artistes se sont-ils impliqués dans les soulèvements populaires depuis le Printemps arabe ? Ces événements ont-ils donné lieu à un renouveau de l’activisme en art ? Le collectif Foundland, créé aux Pays-Bas en 2009 par Lauren Alexander et Ghalia Elsrakbi, le fait penser. Avec leur dernier projet intitulé Simba, the last prince of Ba’ath country, les artistes s’engagent en faveur de la rébellion syrienne en décryptant des images de propagande diffusées sur Facebook par une « armée électronique » sous de faux profils. Elles déjouent ainsi ces stratégies de manipulation en prenant à témoin l’auditoire que leur offre le milieu artistique et, au-delà, leur propre visibilité sur Internet.
    VANESSA MORISSET

    Carrés rouges sur fond rouge
    À partir d’une performance théâtrale intitulée Alexis. Une tragédie grecque, dont l’essentiel de l’action se situe à Athènes lors des émeutes de décembre 2008, l’auteur montre que cette pièce, en s’inspirant du théâtre épique de Brecht, soulève des questions relatives à l’engagement des spectateurs. Comme espace de représentation, le théâtre peut-il offrir des pistes de solution ? Pour ce faire, il importe de reconsidérer la relation acteur-spectateur. Il faut également rappeler que l’indignation ne doit pas aboutir à la résignation. Au contraire, l’indignation doit conduire à une réflexion où le spectateur peut aussi se penser comme acteur de sa propre vie.
    ANDRÉ-LOUIS PARÉ

    Les ingouvernables
    Dans cet article, l’auteure commente l’exposition The Ungovernables qui a eu lieu au New Museum de New York à l’hiver 2011. Elle fait valoir la nature politico-sociale des œuvres dont le mordant tranchait avec les foires d’art en cours au même moment. La dimension critique des œuvres exposées, toutes produites par des artistes dans la trentaine provenant des quatre coins du monde, était plutôt au diapason de l’indignation soulevée par le mouvement Occupons et la grève étudiante au Québec.
    MARIE-ÈVE CHARRON

    La politique de l’indignation : Ai Weiwei, l’art et l’activisme
    Ai Weiwei est un symbole de la lutte pour les droits de la personne. Artiste, architecte et activiste réputé, il est devenu une personnalité planétaire malgré l’interdiction de sortir de Chine qu’on lui a imposée. Ce blogueur politique engagé est bien connu pour ses critiques véhémentes à l’égard du gouvernement chinois qui foule aux pieds le droit à la libre expression. Dans cet article, l’auteure défend l’idée que la grande visibilité d’Ai a nui à la compréhension intime du fait que ses œuvres et de son activisme récents sont intrinsèquement liés au phénomène des médias sociaux de l’ère numérique.
    ALICE MING WAI JIM

    PORTFOLIO
    L’École de la Montagne Rouge
    Clément de Gaulejac

    ARTICLES
    Vertiges publics
    Au cours des trois semaines durant lesquelles je fréquente les artistes du symposium d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul, je tente de construire une expérience mettant en interaction des observations, des discussions et des concepts issus des théories politiques de la démocratie. L’article restitue cette interaction. Il met en exergue un piège dans lequel le symposium manque tomber, mais finalement évite : celui de vouloir « rendre visible » le processus de la création. Tout en mettant en évidence l’origine de cet idéal et la manière dont il participe d’une vision spectatrice des rapports sociaux, il relate divers aspects du symposium qui rejettent cette vision et y substituent des moments de participation, de rencontre et de conversation.
    JOËLLE ZASK

    Help! The New Written Art Object. Alice Khan, a novel by Pauline Klein
    Alice Khan is a short novel by the emerging French author Pauline Klein, who wants to make art without having to be an artist. A ludicrous comment on feminism, Alice Khan is more than just an artist's novel; it is a written art object, an artwork in its own right. The plot is narrated by a mysterious heroine who recounts her adventures living a double life as Anna, her artist’s muse persona, and Alice, her alter ego as an artist. Written in an autofiction mode, Alice Khan’s emphasis on language as material in art production inscribes the novel in a tradition initiated with a poetic throw of the dice.
    MARYSE LARIVIÈRE

    Circuits, Bertille Bak au MAMVP
    En s’installant au sein de communautés minoritaires, confrontées à des inquiétudes concernant leur existence ou leur identité territoriale, Bertille Bak parvient à transformer leurs activités quotidiennes en récits fictionnels. Ces micro-fictions filmées, que l’artiste renforcent par un usage particulier du son et du bruitage, permettent aux acteurs de construire de nouvelles stratégies de résistance face aux déplacements ou aux délocalisations auxquels ils sont soumis. Les questions de micro-histoire, mémoire, ou d’engagement, mêlés à la fiction, permettent d’imaginer un nouvel type d’anthropologie visuelle.
    NATHALIE DESMET

    Stéphane Gilot, MULTIVERSITÉ/Métacampus
    MULTIVERSITÉ/Métacampus est un compte rendu critique de l’exposition de Stéphane Gilot, présentée à la Galerie de l’UQAM à l’automne 2012. Alors que l’artiste prend comme point de départ le campus de l’UQAM pour investiguer le monde universitaire, l’article relève la pertinence du propos de l’œuvre (notamment, suite au « printemps érable »), mais s’attarde surtout à démontrer comment l’installation architecturale de Gilot rend compte formellement des multiples facettes de son objet d’étude.
    ARIANE DE BLOIS

    AFFAIRE DE ZOUAVE 
    Minéralisation
    MICHEL F. CÔTÉ

    COMPTES RENDUS

    Montréal | Vox Centre de l’image contemporaine, Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen, Space Fiction & the Archives par Anne-Marie St-Jean Aubre

    Montréal | Galerie B-312, Jonathan Villeneuve, Faire la vague par Dominique Allard

    Montréal | Galerie Occurrence, Jacynthe Carrier, Parcours par Gabrielle Marcoux

    Montréal | Galerie de l’UQAM, Sébastien Cliche, La doublure par Aseman Sabet

    Montréal | galerie antoine ertaskiran, Sayeh Sarfaraz, mémoire d’éléphant par Dominique Allard

    New York | P !, Katarzyna Krakowiak, Shorthand par Aseman Sabet

    Paris | Galerie Hussenot, Antoine Aguilar, Incerta Alba par Nathalie Desmet

    Paris | Jeu de Paume, Laurent Grasso, Uraniborg par Vanessa Morisset

    London | Delfina Foundation, Abbas Akhavan, Study for a Garden par Martine Rouleau

    London | Institute of Contemporary Arts (ICA), Bloomberg New Contemporaries par Martine Rouleau

    Montréal | Théâtre La Chapelle, Dom Juan_uncensored par Christian Saint-Pierre

    Montréal | Usine C, Kurt Weill : Cabaret brise-jour et autres manivelles par Christian Saint-Pierre

    Publication | Catherine Bolduc. Mes châteaux d’air et autres fabulations 1996-2012 par Dominique Allard

    Publication | En imparfaite santé : la médicalisation de l’architecture par Dominique Allard

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Rubriques



Boutique

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598