Article | Programme, prothèse et autres prolongements

  • Diane Landry, L'imperméable, Mois Multi 10, Québec, 2009. Photo: © Myriam Lambert/ Production Recto-Verso 2009

Programme, prothèse et autres prolongements
By Jocelyn Robert

From the very first pages of the album The Seven Crystal Balls (1) by Hergé, Tintin is surprised that captain Haddock needs to put on his monocle in order to recognize him. Not that this old seadog has suddenly become short-sighted, but is does appear that this prosthesis is necessary for him to become (to act as) the lord of the manor. The irony of the situation resides in the contradiction of captain Haddock’s gesture with what one could call his initial program (2): you can not change your status from sailor to lord of a manor by way of a prosthesis, and attempting to do is enough to expose the guilty party to ridicule. Clearly, the role of prosthesis is to carry out the initial program and not to change it out of the blue. Let us also point out that further on, when the captain finds himself in a difficult situation, and rather than calling on the authorities decides to take things into his own hands, he for the first time goes back to using his cap and pipe...

In order to continue with our analysis it is important that we establish a distinction between two types of objects that involve different uses: the tool and the prosthesis. The distinction between tool and prosthesis not only resides in the degree to which the object is integrated into the user’s body, but also into his/her initial program. While the tool is a manufactured object that one takes, and which serves to work matter, to do work, the prosthesis is a device, an apparatus which one wears, which serves to replace a limb, part of an amputated limb, or a seriously deficient or destroyed organ. The tool is an object that is independent of the body, while the prosthesis is an extension of it. Hence most will agree that a hammer is a tool and a wooden leg a prosthesis. What about glasses? That depends on their role: glasses that serve to correct deficient eyesight will be considered a prosthesis, while those that enable one to see further than what is included in a normal human program (binoculars) are taken to be a tool.

This is a fragile distinction, but if it can hold up for the length of this text it may perhaps allow us to consider some artists’ works from a new perspective. What interests us in particular is that the prosthesis becomes a revealing developer (3)—understood in the photographic sense—of an individual or social group’s normal or conventional program, such as it is considered by those who judge the effectiveness or relevance of a given prosthesis. An artificial hand will be judged to be more successful if it physically resembles a natural hand and carries out the same work, even if a hand with nine extensible fingers may perhaps be more efficient in acting on things and carrying out a task. This is so because the prosthesis confirms the wearer in what is conventionally agreed that he or she ought to be.(4) On what grounds can one establish this relationship between prosthesis and program? How is this question articulated today in the context of interdisciplinary practices that propose to consider some technological prostheses as extensions of the person?

Works by Stelarc and by Orlan have already asked these questions in a very frank manner: the former by declaring the body to be obsolete and calling for its parts to be replaced by sophisticated machines (thus negating the relevance of the initial program), and the latter by idealizing the body itself in a very critical way (in attempting to conform in an extreme manner to the initial program and thereby to reveal its existence and contradictions). Several other artists also work along these lines.(5)

The Prosthesis-machine
One of Jean-Pierre Gauthier’s works partially confirms our hypothesis regarding the link between prosthesis and program, because it is by putting this link into play that it derives its impetus. Marqueurs d’incertitude consists of a system of motors, pulleys and cables terminating in pencils that execute large drawings directly on the wall. These drawings are gestural and appear to carry the imprint of a signature, a touch, a style arrived at through training. That the drawings can be created by a machine—created, and not reproduced—is particularly troubling because this function is traditionally one of the specificities of a particular human program: the artist’s.

With her work L’imperméable Diane Landry also confronts us with an ambiguous situation. At the heart of this piece is the artist herself: suspended several metres from the ground, she is attached to a vertical structure with a harness and a horizontal axle, enabling her to turn round on herself, a bit like the blades of a windmill. During this performance she is also completely wrapped in a sort of transparent inflated plastic envelope. In this installation-performance the artist’s body becomes the extension of the machine that supports her, and this is one of the work’s most significant aspects: the abandonment of the artist’s own initiative in favour of an external program, dictated by the mechanical possibilities of the installed apparatus. This submission of the artist’s body to a prosthetic mechanism recalls Lang’s Metropolis or Chaplin’s Modern Times, and brings to mind the often executed duel between human and machine, along with the fear inspired by the representation of the machine’s triumph.

Sergi Jordà’s Reactable is a musical instrument consisting of a horizontal digital video image on which one can place objects and manipulate them to create sounds. These objects are relatively anonymous—rectangular prisms containing icons—and the video image itself is made up of dynamic lines that represent the relations created between the objects. The particularity of Reactable is the polyvalence of the manipulated objects to compose “in real time”: an object can at once be used to control the speed of successive notes, and then to alter the volume, without changing its material appearance in any way. Nevertheless, there is a certain visualization of the information since the various parameters are displayed (in a more or less obscure way) on the luminescent surface. An important factor: during the performance the image produced by the interface is projected onto a large screen before the audience, and it is there that the performance takes place. There is a sort of omnipotence associated with the manipulation of these objects which at times seem to have the power to transform themselves effortlessly into what we would want them to become, thus creating the ideal tool or instrument. What is striking is the image of this transformation. The abundance of signs surrounding these manipulations—furtive numbers, dynamic connection lines between different objects—increases this appearance of polyvalence, which suggests a variably programmable prosthesis. A particularly revealing factor in relation to our problematic is that the images and sound, arising from an instrument that has no direct material link with them, appear as creations of a mind and hence the extensions of a will, which endows the prosthesis with a mediumistic role—bypassing both medium and media. What makes the instrument interesting therefore does not reside in its capacity to generate new music (the arrangements and created sounds are actually relatively banal) but in the magic put to work to create it. Jordà’s Reactable becomes a prosthesis in the sense that the work makes it possible to create an imaginary program of the human body. The ease with which this ability to act from a distance is accepted as plausible and as an integral part of the initial human program, is deserving of an article all on its own.

The Prosthesis-image, the Image-prosthesis
There are works in which the image is used as a prosthesis, i.e., as an extension of the body and the revealing developer of a program. This is the case of a number of Marcel-lí Antúnez Roca’s works, such as Hipermembrana and Epizoo. One of the most significant elements in these performances is that the prosthesis is never direct, as it is always either revealed by an image, or revealing an image in development.

In Hipermembrana,Roca and Ignacio Galilea propose a Dantean hell made up of projected video images which they manipulate using simple interfaces—switches on the floor which they press with their feet as they move on stage. The floor switches obviously impose a sort of choreography on the two protagonists, but this is not interesting as such. What is more significant is that, counter to our expectation of seeing the two actors—with their power to make images appear—become like demiurges in this infernal world, the opposite occurs: the images are the site of the encounter, and the two characters quickly become enslaved to this video flow. The effect is close to that of Diane Landry’s L’imperméable: it is the machine—in this case a dream machine—that leads the dance, and the prosthesis becomes more powerful than he who wears it. This prosthetic use is particularly fitting in Roca’s work since the performance is a representation of Dante’s inferno: a situation in which the individual’s share of initiative in the carrying out of his program escapes him entirely and irreversibly, as it is replaced by a series of predetermined and unavoidable stages.

Another work by Marcel-lí Antúnez Roca, Epizoo, aims at an -inversion of these roles: whereas in Hipermembrana the artist controlled the apparition of an imaginary infernal world offered up for view before a passive audience, in this work it is the audience that manipulates the artist’s body. The process is as follows: an audience member goes before a computer and clicks on a part representing the artist’s body. This image is visible to all on a big screen. These actions control a series of mechanical prostheses placed directly on the body of the artist, which cause him to undergo all sorts of “little tortures.” This is not an immediate and direct manipulation, since it is produced through a three-part interface. First there is a computer system with its screen, keyboard and mouse, second there are the images produced by the interface, which are the site of the intervention, and finally the prostheses themselves. It must be said straightaway that the mechanical prostheses worn by the artist are not very interesting: the classical image of skin-stretching clamps, a revolving platform to rotate the body, eyelid speculums... the effect is funny for a couple of minutes, at most. The entry interface—keyboard, mouse, screen—is also ordinary. It is in the projected images that the project can be said to truly exist. It is these images that constitute the extension of the viewers’ and the artist’s shared imaginaries. It is there that the encounter takes place. All the more so because the images, which could have been mere technical representations indicating the apparatuses to be activated on the artist’s body, are actually real drawings, pictures, motifs, and symbolic depictions whereby the viewers can imagine the effect that their gestures have on the body of the artist. In this sense, the images become the heart of this prosthetic system: they carry the actions to be performed, the potential stages, and the program.

LoopLoop, a work by Patrick Bergeron shown at the Avatar centre, is presented as an extension of memory. First, it is an extension of the artist’s memory, since the work consists of an assemblage of video images of a trip he took through Asia, and second an extension of the viewers’ memory, because they can follow the trip’s unfolding in this plethora of images which puts this specific memory to the test. What stands out here is the metaphorical correspondence between the form of the projected images and the very process of memory. One witnesses superposed images, images unfurling at various speeds, correspondences between form or content, various image strata, mise en abyme: one could be led to believe that the remembrances passing and colliding before our eyes are ours, and that the visual memory activated here is actually drawn from our own imaginary. In this case it is difficult to determine if this is really a prosthesis. What is the direct link between the work and the viewer? Yet, a program is developed and revealed, which is a capacity to reconstruct images experienced according to a narrative form, with several levels of correspondence, by using images that appear to be disorganized. Must the link be physical for us to speak of prosthesis? Can an image constitute a prosthesis?

The Prosthesis as Revealing Developer of a Program
Most of the works examined here use prostheses as a proposition to modify or extend the individual’s initial program. There is the person’s submission to the machine in Landry’s performance, the displacement of the body’s limits in Reactable, and in Jean-Pierre Gauthier’s installation the displacing of individual capacities to act on the real, outside the body. The last works analyzed here pose the question of the image as a prosthesis, i.e., as an extension of the person, and particularly of the image as an interface that makes it possible to act on the body of the Other; the image as a gateway to a dream world (Roca), and the image as an extension of the very form of memory outside the body (Bergeron). Actually, it is from within these works that the question of the prosthesis’ dematerialization and its transfer into the image begins to be posed. It is perhaps relevant here to recall that if the pipe and cap are accessories that confirm the conventional role of Hergé’s captain Haddock, it is through a visual prosthesis (a monocle) that he tries to become somebody else.

More broadly speaking, the works presented here make it possible to think the role of the prosthesis as the revealing developer of a cultural construction, which we have termed initial program. For if the system of objects (6) makes it possible to inscribe the individual in the social body (build up as a system of signs), objects—and more particularly prostheses—appear conversely to allow for the inscription of the social system into the individual body through the imposition of a program. Artists’ use of the prosthesis gives them the opportunity to revealingly develop and critique this program by exposing certain of its characteristics and confronting it with other possible ones.

The author wishes to thank Suzanne Leblanc for her collaboration.

[Translated from the French by Bernard Schütze]

NOTES
1. Hergé, The Seven Crystal Balls
 (London, UK: Methuen, 1962).
2. The word program is here understood as the “plan of intended proceedings and political projects of an individual or a group,” and as “a series of actions carried out in order to obtain a result.” [Translated from the French definition in Le Nouveau Petit Robert (2001).]
3. The original French word “révélateur” carries the double meaning of “revealing” and “developer” in the photographic sense. In order to maintain this nuance the word is translated as “revealing developer.” Translator’s note.
4. This may explain one of our period’s oddities: given the available technologies, it would certainly not be too difficult to imagine a prosthesis with a better performance than the original body part, but we abstain from this because to do so would be to divert the individual from his or her initial program. One can assume that the polemics surrounding interventions that seek to normalize handicapped persons partake in the same problematic. It would also be interesting to study certain ethical positions on the basis of this notion of the program, notably those pertaining to biological innovations such as cloning, or on a different note those related to the wearing of religious symbols in the civil service. From this perspective, the veil, toupee (also knows as a capillary prosthesis) and hair colouring are all part of the same problematic: it is about modifying the body so that its image conforms to a given program.
5. In February 2009, in Québec City the Mois Multi presented a series on the theme “Prothèses et autres prolongements” (Prostheses and Other Extensions). The questions discussed here are taken from the event’s programming.
6. See Jean Baudrillard, The System of Objects (London, UK: Verso, 2005).

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Article | Programme, prothèses et autres prolongements

  • Diane Landry, L'imperméable, Mois Multi 10, Québec, 2009. Photo : © Myriam Lambert/ Production Recto-Verso 2009

Programme, prothèses et autres prolongements
Par Jocelyn Robert

Dès les premières pages de l’album Les 7 boules de cristal (1) de Hergé, Tintin est surpris d’avoir à attendre que le capitaine Haddock mette un monocle pour que ce dernier le reconnaisse. Non pas que le vieux loup de mer ait soudainement la vue basse, mais il semble bien que cette prothèse lui soit nécessaire pour devenir (pouvoir agir comme) un châtelain. L’ironie de la situation vient de la contradiction du geste du capitaine Haddock avec ce qu’on pourrait appeler son programme initial (2) : on ne passe pas de marin à châtelain au moyen d’une prothèse, et la tentative est suffisante pour exposer au ridicule celui qui s’en rend coupable. Il est entendu qu’une prothèse doit compléter le programme initial, et non pas le changer de but en blanc. Signalons aussi qu’à la page 51 de l'album, quand le capitaine se trouve dans une situation difficile et qu’il décide de prendre les choses en main lui-même plutôt que de s’en remettre aux autorités, il reprend pour la première fois sa casquette et sa pipe...

Il est important pour la suite de notre exposé d’établir une distinction entre deux types d’objets appelant une utilisation différente : l’outil et la prothèse. La distinction entre outil et prothèse tient au degré d’intégration de l’objet non seulement au corps du porteur, mais aussi à son programme initial. Alors que l’outil est un objet fabriqué que l’on prend, qui sert à agir sur la matière, à faire un travail, la prothèse est un appareil, un dispositif que l’on porte, servant à remplacer un membre, une partie de membre amputée, ou un organe gravement atteint ou détruit (3). L’outil est un objet indépendant du corps, la prothèse se pose en continuité avec celui-ci. Ainsi, la plupart s’entendront pour dire qu’un marteau est un outil et qu’une jambe de bois est une prothèse. Qu’en est-il des lunettes ? Cela dépendra de leur rôle : des lunettes qui pallieront une vue déficiente seront considérées comme une prothèse, des lunettes qui permettent de voir plus loin que ce qui est inclus dans le programme humain normal (des jumelles) seront un outil.

C’est une distinction fragile, mais si elle peut survivre à la longueur du présent texte, elle permettra peut-être de considérer certains travaux d’artistes sous un angle nouveau. Ce qui nous semble particulièrement intéressant, c’est que la prothèse devient un révélateur, au sens photographique, du programme normal ou conventionnel d’un individu ou d’un groupe social, tel qu’il est considéré par ceux qui jugent l’efficacité ou la pertinence de la prothèse en question. Une main artificielle sera jugée plus réussie si elle ressemble physiquement à une main naturelle et si elle réalise le même travail, même si une main à neuf doigts télescopiques serait peut-être plus efficace dans son intervention sur la matière, dans sa capacité à effectuer un travail donné. C’est qu’elle confirme le porteur dans ce qu’il est convenu qu’il soit (4).

Que permet donc de voir ce rapport entre prothèse et programme ? Comment s’articule cette question aujourd’hui, dans le cadre de pratiques artistiques interdisciplinaires proposant de considérer certaines prothèses technologiques comme prolongements de la personne ?

Les travaux de Stelarc et d'Orlan ont déjà posé ces questions de manière très franche : le premier en déclarant le corps obsolète et en réclamant le remplacement des membres par des machines sophistiquées (en niant la pertinence du programme initial) et la seconde en idéalisant de manière critique le corps lui-même (en tentant de se conformer de manière extrême au programme initial pour en révéler l’existence et les contradictions). Plusieurs autres artistes poursuivent cette direction de recherche (5).

La prothèse-machine
Une des propositions de Jean-Pierre Gauthier vient en partie confirmer notre hypothèse du lien entre prothèse et programme, puisque c’est dans un jeu sur ce lien qu’elle prend toute sa force. Marqueurs d’incertitude est un système de moteurs, de poulies et de câbles terminés par des crayons qui exécutent directement sur le mur de grands dessins. Or ces dessins sont gestuels, semblent porter l’empreinte d’une signature, d’une patte, d’un style conséquent à un entraînement : que ces dessins puissent être réalisés par une machine – réalisés, et non pas reproduits – est particulièrement troublant, puisque cette fonction est traditionnellement l’une des spécificités d’un programme humain particulier : celui de l’artiste.

Diane Landry nous place elle aussi devant une situation ambiguë avec son œuvre L’imperméable. Au cœur de cette pièce se trouve l’artiste elle-même, attachée à quelques mètres du sol à une structure verticale par un harnais fixé à un axe horizontal, ce qui lui permet de tourner sur elle-même, un peu à la manière des pales d’un moulin à vent. Au cours de la performance, elle sera également complètement emballée dans une sorte d’enveloppe de plastique transparent gonflée. Dans cette installation-performance, le corps de l’artiste devient prolongement de la machine qui la soutient, et c’est un des aspects les plus signifiants de l’œuvre : l’abandon de l’initiative propre à l’artiste au profit d’un programme externe, dicté par les possibilités mécaniques de l’appareillage installé. Cette soumission du corps de l’artiste à la mécanique prothétique n’est pas loin du Metropolis de Lang ou des Temps modernes de Chaplin, et on y verra la représentation d’un duel souvent rejoué entre l’humain et la machine, et la crainte inspirée par la mise en scène de la victoire de cette dernière.

Reactable, de Sergi Jordà, est un instrument de musique composé d’une image vidéo numérique horizontale sur laquelle sont déposés des objets que l’on manipule pour créer des sons. Ce sont des objets relativement anonymes – des prismes rectangulaires portant des icônes, et l’image vidéo est faite de lignes dynamiques qui représentent les relations créées entre les objets. La particularité de Reactable est la polyvalence des objets manipulés pour composer « en temps réel » : un objet peut contrôler tantôt la vitesse de succession des notes, tantôt la hauteur des sons, sans que son apparence matérielle n’ait changé. Il y a cependant une certaine visualisation des informations puisque divers paramètres sont affichés, de manière plus ou moins obscure, sur la surface luminescente. Fait significatif : pendant la performance, l’image produite par l’interface est projetée sur un grand écran pour l’auditoire, et c’est là qu’est le spectacle. Il y a une sorte d’omnipotence associée à la manipulation de ces objets qui semblent pouvoir se transformer sans effort en ce que l’on voudrait bien qu’ils deviennent, créant ainsi l’outil ou l’instrument idéal. C’est l’image de cette transformation qui frappe. L’abondance de signes entourant ces manipulations – chiffres furtifs, lignes dynamiques de connexion entre différents objets – augmente l'apparence de polyvalence, qui suggère une prothèse à programmation variable. Ce qui nous semble particulièrement révélateur par rapport à notre problématique est que l’image et le son, provenant d’un instrument qui n’a pas de rapport matériel direct avec eux, deviennent des créations de l’esprit et semblent ainsi des prolongements de la volonté, donnant à la prothèse un rôle médiumnique, court-circuitant médium et média. Ainsi, l’intérêt de l’instrument ne réside pas dans sa capacité à générer une musique inouïe (les sons produits et leurs arrangements sont en fait relativement banals), mais dans la magie mise en œuvre pour la créer. Reactable de Jordà devient donc une prothèse en ce que l’œuvre permet la réalisation d’un programme imaginaire du corps humain. La facilité avec laquelle on estime plausible cette capacité d’agir à distance comme partie intégrante du programme humain initial mériterait à elle seule de faire l’objet d’un article.

La prothèse-image, l’image-prothèse
Il y a des œuvres dans lesquelles l’image est utilisée en tant que prothèse, c’est-à-dire comme un prolongement du corps et comme révélatrice d’un programme. C’est le cas de certains travaux de Marcel-lí Antúnez Roca, dont Hipermembrana et Epizoo. L’un des éléments les plus signifiants de ces performances est que la prothèse n’est jamais directe, elle est toujours soit révélée par une image, soit révélatrice d’une image.

Dans Hipermembrana, Roca et Ignacio Galilea proposent un enfer dantesque en images vidéo projetées qu’ils manipulent au moyen d’interfaces simples : des interrupteurs au plancher sur lesquels ils appuient avec leurs pieds lors de leurs déplacements sur scène. Ces interrupteurs sur le sol imposent évidemment une certaine chorégraphie aux deux protagonistes, mais celle-ci n’est pas en elle-même d’un grand intérêt. Ce qui nous semble plus significatif, c’est que, alors qu’on pourrait s’attendre à ce que les deux acteurs deviennent, par leur pouvoir de faire apparaître des images, les démiurges de ce monde infernal, c’est l’inverse qui se produit : les images sont le lieu de la rencontre, et les deux personnages deviennent vite serviteurs du flot vidéographique. L’effet rappelle un peu celui de L’imperméable, de Landry : c’est la machine – dans ce cas-ci une machine onirique – qui mène la danse, et la prothèse devient plus forte que celui qui la porte. Cet usage est particulièrement à propos dans l’œuvre de Roca, puisqu’il s’agit d’une représentation de l’enfer de Dante : une situation où la part d’initiative de l’individu dans la réalisation de son programme lui échappe totalement et de manière irréversible, pour être remplacée par une série d’étapes prédéterminées et incontournables.

Une autre des propositions de Marcel-lí Antúnez Roca, Epizoo, vise une inversion des rôles : alors que dans Hipermembrana l’artiste contrôle l’apparition d’un monde infernal imaginaire offert à la vue des spectateurs passifs, il y a ici manipulation du corps de l’artiste par les spectateurs. Le processus est le suivant : un membre de l’auditoire se place devant un ordinateur et clique sur une partie d’une image représentant le corps de l’artiste. Cette image est vue par tous sur un grand écran. Ces actions contrôlent une série de prothèses mécaniques placées directement sur le corps de l’artiste qui lui font subir toutes sortes de « petites tortures ». Cette manipulation n’est donc pas directe : elle se produit par l’intermédiaire d’une interface en trois parties. Il y a d’abord un système informatique : écran, clavier et souris, puis les images produites par l’interface, qui sont le lieu de l’intervention, et enfin les prothèses elles-mêmes. Il faut dire tout de suite que les prothèses mécaniques portées par l’artiste sont de bien peu d’intérêt : images classiques de pinces qui font sourire en étirant la peau, plate-forme tournante qui fait pivoter le corps, écarquilleurs de paupières... l’effet est comique pendant quelques minutes, sans plus. L’interface d’entrée – clavier, souris et écran – est aussi banale. Là où le projet existe vraiment, c’est dans l’image projetée. C’est elle qui est un prolongement des imaginaires communs des spectateurs et de l’artiste. C’est là que se situe la rencontre. D’autant plus que les images, qui auraient pu être des représentations simplement techniques de l’emplacement des dispositifs à activer sur le corps de l’artiste, sont en fait de véritables dessins, des images, des motifs, des représentations symboliques permettant un développement imaginaire de l’effet des gestes des membres de l’auditoire sur le corps de l’artiste. En ce sens, les images deviennent le cœur du système prothétique : ce sont elles qui portent les actions à venir, les étapes potentielles, le programme.

LoopLoop, une œuvre de Patrick Bergeron présentée par le centre Avatar, s’affiche comme un prolongement de la mémoire. D’abord celle de l’artiste puisqu’il s’agit d’un assemblage d’images vidéo d’un voyage qu’il a effectué en Asie, puis de celle du regardeur, puisqu’il peut en suivre l’évolution dans la masse d’images par laquelle cette mémoire est mise à l’épreuve. Ce qui est surtout intéressant ici, c’est la correspondance métaphorique entre la forme des images projetées et le processus même de la mémoire. Superpositions d’images, défilements plus ou moins rapides, correspondances de forme ou de contenu entre différentes strates d’images, mises en abîme : on pourrait croire que les souvenirs qui défilent et s’entrechoquent devant nos yeux sont les nôtres, que la mémoire visuelle qui est mise en œuvre vient en fait de notre propre imaginaire. Difficile de déterminer qu’il s’agit bien d’une prothèse dans ce cas-ci : quel est le lien direct entre l’œuvre et le regardeur ? Et pourtant, un programme est révélé : une capacité à reconstruire des images vécues selon une certaine forme narrative, avec plusieurs niveaux de correspondance, à partir d’images qui semblent désordonnées. Est-ce que le lien doit être physique pour que l’on puisse parler de prothèse ? L’image peut-elle constituer une prothèse ?

La prothèse comme révélateur d’un programme
La plupart des œuvres examinées utilisent des prothèses comme propositions de modification ou de prolongement du programme initial de l’individu. Il y a soumission à la machine dans la performance de Landry, déplacement des limites du corps dans Reactable et déplacement hors du corps des capacités individuelles à influer sur le réel dans l’installation de Jean-Pierre Gauthier. Les dernières œuvres discutées posent la question de l’image comme prothèse, c’est-à-dire comme extension de la personne, et notamment de l’image comme interface permettant d’agir sur le corps de l’autre, de l’image comme porte d’accès à un monde onirique (Roca) et de l’image comme prolongement hors du corps de la mémoire dans sa forme même (Bergeron). Elles révèlent en fait la problématique de la dématérialisation de la prothèse et de son transfert dans l’image. Peut-être est-il pertinent de rappeler ici que, si la pipe et la casquette sont les accessoires qui confirment le rôle convenu du capitaine Haddock de Hergé, c’est par une prothèse visuelle (un monocle) qu’il tente de devenir autre.

Plus largement, les œuvres présentées ici permettent de concevoir le rôle de la prothèse comme révélateur d’une construction culturelle que nous avons appelée le programme initial. Car si le système des objets permet l’inscription individuelle dans le corps social, s’échafaudant comme un système de signes (6), les objets – et plus particulièrement les prothèses – semblent permettre à l’inverse l’inscription du système social dans le corps individuel par l’imposition d’un programme. L’usage de la prothèse par les artistes leur donne une occasion de révéler et de critiquer ce programme en exposant certaines de ses caractéristiques et en les confrontant à d’autres possibles.

L’auteur remercie Suzanne Leblanc pour sa collaboration.

NOTES
1. Hergé, Les 7 boules de cristal, Belgique, Casterman, 1948, p. 3.
2. Le mot programme est pris ici à la fois au sens d'« exposé général des intentions et projets politiques d’une personne, d’un groupe » et de « suite d’actions que l’on se propose d’accomplir pour obtenir un résultat ».
3. Le Nouveau Petit Robert, France, Dictionnaires Le Robert, 2001.
4. Ce qui explique peut-être une des curiosités de notre époque : vu les technologies disponibles, on pourrait sans doute imaginer des prothèses plus performantes que les membres originaux, mais on s’en abstient car ce serait détourner l’individu de son programme initial. On pourrait supposer que les conflits entourant les interventions visant à normaliser les personnes handicapées participent en partie de la même problématique. Il serait également intéressant d’aborder certaines positions éthiques à partir de cette notion de programme, notamment celles entourant les innovations biologiques comme le clonage ou encore celles du port de symboles religieux dans la fonction publique. Vus sous l’angle prothèse/programme, voile, perruque (aussi appelée prothèse capillaire) et teinture à cheveux relèvent ainsi d’une même problématique : il s’agit de modifier le corps pour que son image soit conforme à un programme donné.
5. En février 2009, le Mois Multi présentait à Québec une série d’œuvres autour du thème « Prothèses et autres prolongements ». Les œuvres dont il sera question ici sont issues de cette programmation.
6. Voir Jean Baudrillard, Le système des objets, Paris, Gallimard (Médiations), 1968, 288 pages.

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598