Portfolio - Christine Major, Marion Wagschal, Lynette Yiadom-Boakye

Thérèse St-Gelais
  • Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, The Cream and the Taste, 2013. Photo: © Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, courtesy of Jack Shainman Gallery, New York and Corvi-Mora, London
  • Marion Wagschal, Woman with a Pink Divider, 2004. Photo: Éliane Excoffier, courtesy of the artist and Battat Contemporary, Montréal
  • Christine Major, Cuisine rouge, 2010. Photo: Guy L'Heureux, courtesy of Galerie Donald Browne, Montréal
  • Marion Wagschal, Tequila Sunrise, 2008. Photo: Éliane Excoffier, courtesy of the artist and Battat Contemporary, Montréal
  • Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, The Hours Behind You, 2011. Photo: © Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, courtesy of Jack Shainman Gallery, New York and Corvi-Mora, London
  • Christine Major, Survivants, 2010. Photo: Guy L'Heureux, courtesy of Galerie Donald Browne, Montréal

Various issues — some more controversial than others — pervade pictorial practice when it comes to representing a position that is simultaneously political and emotional. This is especially true when sentiments related to feminist or postcolonial perspectives form an integral part of the work.

In the paintings of Christine Major, Marion Wagschal, and Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, one is confronted with social and sexual issues that many women have tackled. Themes such as marginality, violence, and time that ravages lives and relationships are explored by these artists in a manner that reveals a body engulfed in various states alien to moral and aesthetic peace of mind.

Realist in some respects, the paintings are provocative due to the unusual figures that they portray. Many of the portraits of women by these artists demonstrate a brutality, distress, or austerity that revives the highly sensitive bonds that the work forges with the external perspective. Wagschal, for example, propose self-portraits that seem unsightly and, indeed, incongruous.

A second-wave feminist artist, Wagschal appears brazen. The realism that she brings to her work does not spare the model, making her face her duty to respond to the canons of beauty to which the body reacts by deteriorating. The “painted real” in Wagschal’s work adjusts to the vagaries of life and the deliquescence of the medium.

For these artists, pictorial art and engagement are expressed in a single and profound voice: a cohabitation that acts on the material as much as the content.

Colour is central to the work of Yiadom-Boakye, whose representations of imagined individuals — which she describes as “conceptual portraits” — highlight the chromatic tensions that disrupt the portraits’ reception. In them, one can see an avowed expression of cultural belonging. She envisions painting for what it is “by nature” and persistently shapes it with deliberate and vivid contrasts.

Major enters tumultuous territory with her vivid domestic scenes, which seem implicitly rooted in the sexual. Whether the female figure is isolated, aligned with other women, or objectified, her body evokes strange, tacitly or explicitly imposed positions and situations, which seem to be contested or sometimes ironized by the intensity and materiality of the colour.

In the works of Major and Yiadom-Boakye, the power of the chromatic palette and its contrasts sets the tone for iconographic content that is of no apparent importance.

Major, Yiadom-Boakye, and Wagschal bring imagined or discovered emotional and intimate narratives to the fore. Their paintings express certain factual observations on the sensitive combination of the private and political, all while offering masterful lessons in colour.

[Translated from the French by Louise Ashcroft]

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Portfolio - Christine Major, Marion Wagschal, Lynette Yiadom-Boakye

Thérèse St-Gelais
  • Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, The Cream and the Taste, 2013. Photo: © Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, courtesy of Jack Shainman Gallery, New York and Corvi-Mora, London
  • Marion Wagschal, Woman with a Pink Divider, 2004. Photo: Éliane Excoffier, courtesy of the artist and Battat Contemporary, Montréal
  • Christine Major, Cuisine rouge, 2010. Photo: Guy L'Heureux, courtesy of Galerie Donald Browne, Montréal
  • Marion Wagschal, Tequila Sunrise, 2008. Photo: Éliane Excoffier, courtesy of the artist and Battat Contemporary, Montréal
  • Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, The Hours Behind You, 2011. Photo: © Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, courtesy of Jack Shainman Gallery, New York and Corvi-Mora, London
  • Christine Major, Survivants, 2010. Photo: Guy L'Heureux, courtesy of Galerie Donald Browne, Montréal

Différents enjeux traversent la pratique picturale, certains plus controversés que d’autres lorsqu’il s’agit de représenter une position à la fois politique et affective. C’est le cas notamment lorsque des sentiments liés à des perspectives féministes ou postcolonialistes sont partie prenante de l’œuvre.

Dans les tableaux de Christine Major, de Marion Wagschal et de Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, on perçoit des problématiques sociales et sexuelles à l’égard desquelles plusieurs femmes se sont engagées. Des thèmes comme la marginalité, la violence ou le temps qui ravage la vie et les relations humaines sont explorés par ces artistes de manière à laisser se dégager un corps habité dans son entièreté par divers états étrangers à toute quiétude morale et esthétique.

Réalistes à certains égards, ces tableaux s’avèrent provocants en ce qu’ils présentent des figures inhabituelles. Plusieurs des portraits de femmes produits par ces artistes font preuve d’une brutalité, d’une détresse ou d’une austérité qui ravivent les liens éminemment sensibles que l’œuvre entretient avec le regard extérieur. Wagschal, par exemple, offre des représentations qui nous paraissent disgracieuses et, de fait, incongrues.

Artiste féministe de la deuxième vague, Marion Wagschal se montre insolente. Le réalisme qu’elle pratique dans son travail n’épargne pas le modèle et lui fait braver son devoir de répondre aux canons de beauté auxquels le corps réagit en se faisant dégénérescent. Le « réel peint » chez Wagschal s’ajuste aux aléas de la vie et à la déliquescence du médium.

Chez ces artistes, l’art pictural et l’engagement se manifestent d’une seule voix et tout en profondeur : une cohabitation qui travaille la matière autant que le contenu.

La couleur est au cœur du travail de Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, dont la représentation de personnages imaginés – qu’elle perçoit comme des « portraits conceptuels » – met en évidence des tensions chromatiques qui agitent la réception du portrait. On peut y voir l’expression affirmée d’une appartenance à une culture. Elle pense la peinture pour ce qu’elle serait « par nature » et la travaille sans cesse par ces contrastes volontaires et prégnants.

Dans des mises en scène domestiques hautes en couleur, Christine Major s’engage dans des zones de turbulences dont le sexuel semble être implicitement l’instigateur. Que la figure féminine soit isolée, alignée avec ses semblables ou objectivée, elle se trouve dans une situation où son corps évoque d’étranges positions et représentations tacitement ou ouvertement imposées, que l’intensité et la matérialité de la couleur paraissent vouloir contester ou parfois ironiser.

Chez Major et Yiadom-Boakye, la puissance de la palette chromatique et de ses contrastes donne le ton à un contenu iconographique apparemment sans conséquence.

Major, Yiadom-Boakye et Wagschal mettent à l’avant-scène des histoires affectives et intimes, imaginées ou trouvées. De leurs œuvres se dégagent quelques constats factuels quant à la combinaison sensible du privé et du politique, en même temps qu’un travail de la peinture exprimé par de magistrales leçons de couleur.

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598