Kama La Mackerel

Jade Boivin
  • Kama La Mackerel, "Race" is a Drag, 2012. Photo: Elisha Lim
  • Kama La Mackerel, Bois d'Ébène, 2016. Photo: Lily Hook
  • Kama La Mackerel, Bois d'Ébène, 2016. Photo: Lily Hook
  • Kama La Mackerel, Bois d'Ébène, 2016. Photo: Lily Hook
  • Kama La Mackerel, My Body is the Ocean, 2017. Photo: Võ Thiên Việt
  • Kama La Mackerel, My Body is the Ocean, 2017. Photo: Võ Thiên Việt

From a Plural Voice, Resistance

Kama La Mackerel draws on her own experience to make her works into a means of self-affirmation and of challenging the status quo. For La Mackerel, a racialized trans woman, art is a matter of survival, a vehicle for overcoming and healing from everyday violence, but also a way of tackling and defusing racist and trans-misogynous systems. If one were to identify two central motifs in her work, resilience and resistance would probably take centre stage, for her art can be both gentle and hard, a balm and a weapon.

Taking as a starting point a collection of poems in which voices of women, spirits, and Mauritian goddesses intermingle, the exhibition My Body is the Ocean (2017) expresses the pain of colonization in a spirit of love and reconciliation. La Mackerel has created watercolours, textiles, and various performances from which emerges a fictional decolonization that aims to repair the damages incurred in crossing the ocean. This journey was made by her ancestors — workers and slaves who travelled from East Africa and South Asia to Mauritius — and by La Mackerel herself, from Mauritius to Tio’tia:ke (Montréal).

The artist’s voice is plural. Her works allow her to transcend words alone and to open a door to her communities, her trans sisters and her ancestors, by connecting past and present and re-inscribing them in her historicity.

La Mackerel understands femininity as a complex amalgam whose various layers (material and sensory) cumulate on the body. In From Thick Skin to Femme Armour (2015), this idea forms the basis for a series of wearable objects and garments — her “femme armour” — the creation of which is a daily artistic ritual. Words embroidered on fabric, for example, are worn during a performance, which in turn is photographed. The initial purpose of the armour is transposed into another form, and with time other armour is created in response to her need to (re)create herself in ways that are personally meaningful.

[Translated from the French by Louise Ashcroft]

Captions
Image 1: Kama La Mackerel, "Race" is a Drag, performance, Montréal, 2012. Photo: Elisha Lim, courtesy of the artist
Image 2: Kama La Mackerel, Bois d'Ébène, performance, Montréal, 2016. Photo: Lily Hook, courtesy of the artist
Image 3: Kama La Mackerel, Bois d'Ébène, performance, Montréal, 2016. Photo: Lily Hook, courtesy of the artist
Image 4: Kama La Mackerel, Bois d'Ébène, performance, Montréal, 2016. Photo: Lily Hook, courtesy of the artist
Image 5: Kama La Mackerel, My Body is the Ocean, performance, Montréal, 2017. Photo: Võ Thiên Việt, courtesy of the artist
Image 6: Kama La Mackerel, My Body is the Ocean, performance, Montréal, 2017. Photo: Võ Thiên Việt, courtesy of the artist

Number: 
91

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Kama La Mackerel

Jade Boivin
  • Kama La Mackerel, "Race" is a Drag, 2012. Photo : Elisha Lim
  • Kama La Mackerel, Bois d'Ébène, 2016. Photo : Lily Hook
  • Kama La Mackerel, Bois d'Ébène, 2016. Photo : Lily Hook
  • Kama La Mackerel, Bois d'Ébène, 2016. Photo : Lily Hook
  • Kama La Mackerel, My Body is the Ocean, 2017. Photo : Võ Thiên Việt
  • Kama La Mackerel, My Body is the Ocean, 2017. Photo : Võ Thiên Việt

D’une voix plurielle, la résistance

Kama La Mackerel puise dans son vécu pour faire de ses œuvres un lieu d’affirmation de soi et de contestation du statuquo. Pour l’artiste, femme trans racisée, l’art est une question de survie, une façon de surmonter les violences du quotidien et d’en guérir, tout comme c’est un moyen de s’attaquer aux systèmes transmisogynes et racistes pour les désamorcer. S’il fallait dégager deux pôles centraux de ses œuvres, c’est probablement ceux de la résilience et de la résistance qui ressortiraient, car l’art de La Mackerel peut à la fois être doux et fort ; c’est un baume et c’est une arme.

Prenant comme point de départ une collection de poèmes dans lesquels s’entremêlent les voix de femmes, d’esprits et de déesses mauriciennes, l’exposition My Body is the Ocean (2017) articule la douleur de la colonisation avec l’amour et la réconciliation. La Mackerel a créé des aquarelles, des œuvres sur tissu et différentes performances desquelles émane un imaginaire de décolonisation qui vise à réparer les pertes engendrées par la traversée de l’océan – celle effectuée par ses ancêtres esclaves et travailleurs partant de l’Afrique de l’Est et de l’Asie du Sud vers l’Île Maurice ; et la sienne, de l’Île Maurice vers Tio’tia:ke (Montréal).

La voix de l’artiste est plurielle. Ses œuvres lui permettent de transcender sa seule parole et d’ouvrir une porte vers ses communautés, ses sœurs trans, ses ancêtres, en reliant passé et présent et en la réinscrivant dans son historicité.

La Mackerel conçoit la féminité comme un amalgame complexe dont les différentes strates (matérielles et sensibles) s’accumulent sur les corps. Elle part de ce constat dans From Thick Skin to Femme Armour (2015) pour confectionner ses « femmes armures », une série d’objets portables et de vêtements dont la fabrication devient un rituel artistique et quotidien. Des mots brodés sur un textile seront par exemple portés lors d’une performance qui sera photographiée à son tour. L’objet initial de l’armure se transpose en une autre forme, et d’autres armures se créent avec le temps suivant la nécessité de se (re)donner naissance en des termes personnels.

Légendes des photos
Image 1 : Kama La Mackerel, "Race" is a Drag, performance, Montréal, 2012. Photo : Elisha Lim, permission de l’artiste
Image 2 : Kama La Mackerel, Bois d'Ébène, performance, Montréal, 2016. Photo : Lily Hook, permission de l’artiste
Image 3 : Kama La Mackerel, Bois d'Ébène, performance, Montréal, 2016. Photo : Lily Hook, permission de l’artiste
Image 4 : Kama La Mackerel, Bois d'Ébène, performance, Montréal, 2016. Photo : Lily Hook, permission de l’artiste
Image 5 : Kama La Mackerel, My Body is the Ocean, performance, Montréal, 2017. Photo : Võ Thiên Việt, permission de l’artiste
Image 6 : Kama La Mackerel, My Body is the Ocean, performance, Montréal, 2017. Photo : Võ Thiên Việt, permission de l’artiste

Number: 
91

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Rubriques



Boutique

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598