Dossier | Joker: Methodical Sabotage

  • Maurizio Cattelan, Frank & Jamie, 2002. Photo: courtesy of Galerie Emmanuel Perrotin, Paris

Joker: Methodical Sabotage
By Thibault Carles

The Joker, Sabotage Incarnate
Drawn from a deck of cards, the Joker is that saboteur and buffoon that can adopt whatever value its player chooses to give it. It is therefore a potential card, a perplexing figure that doesn’t belong in the hierarchy of numbered and face cards, ensuring a disruption in the choices that determine the game. The Joker represents the ambivalent coexistence of an unexpected solution for some and an unlucky hindrance for others. The Joker sabotages the game because he has no intrinsic value, because he doesn’t follow the rules that govern the other figures, which he reconfigures. He stands at once within and outside a rational system that tolerates his irrational presence nonetheless. He is an integrated renegade.

In the second instalment of the recent blockbuster Batman series, The Dark Knight, the Joker is that parasitical counterpart whose existence is inextricably tied to his positive alter ego, Batman. The bacterial Joker finds somatic and psychic support in the culture defining the superhero, which he sabotages at every point, a contamination that spreads inexorably throughout the city and community of Gotham, affecting its spaces, its monuments, its imagination. Even when eradicated, the parasitical aura hovers still in unsuspected replications, extending suspicion to that which had been viable, healthy, and beyond suspicion, like the character of Harvey Two-Face. The parasitical sabotage dissolves the original Manichean configuration and overflows the framework of the cinematic narrative. The Joker perforates the medium and the IMAX screen by becoming the commercializing hero and spokesperson for megaproductions, (1) gaining both publicity space and mind share among spectators at the expense of the superhero himself, reduced to a title. He spoils everything, upstages everyone, on and off screen, disrupts and reconfigures the system like a deck of cards. In both the metaphysical and numeric sense, he is a play on values.

Values
The idiosyncrasy of sabotage is its action in terms of value. It is an essentially transitive act that deflects and rebounds on surrounding objects. While it often suggests a political and illegal rebellion against the Law, many visual artists testify to a more deeply rooted tendency toward breaking the Rule, much more powerful, elastic, and unforgiving. Sabotage, then, is directed less at the object than the subject.

In constructing his work, Maurizio Cattelan’s initial intention is to highlight the inevitable misunderstanding it provokes, “because people can do whatever they want with it.” (2) Carsten Höller, for his part, with his famed The Laboratory of Doubt, disconnects the world of values from that of certainty to give free rein to an informal and unabashed perplexity. Ceal Floyer works with his dissatisfaction and vulnerability to turn his scepticism into art while pushing the situation to its limits. (3) Didier Faustino named his first architecture agency LAPS — Laboratory of Architecture, Performance and Sabotage — and subverted previous commissions from public personalities and organizations by ruthlessly highlighting their failings. Norma Jeanne is an artist who doesn’t exist while generating confusion between a hollow identity and all too real artwork. In these various practices, sabotage is not situated in the created or denounced object, but in the ruin of a method that emerges broadened through acceptance of the notion of non-confidence and the experience of fragility and of uncertainty.

The artistic joker is less a production than a set of motivations and extended procedures. In many of these works, the art is not the locus of created objects but that of experience, of a peculiar, paradoxical, and inadequate experience of the current world, a state of vulnerability. The impossibility of giving exclusive form to these feelings and ideas extends the creative play to a reflexive territory, to an extended conversation, loosened from its materialization and material constraints. How does one embody dissatisfaction? How does one inform doubt, a troubled mind, irritation, the feeling of not being able to do or of not doing properly? If many accomplished productions contain a significant critical component — a sign of the work’s quality in our society and in our approach to art — and questions our value systems, the anticipation and integration of this critical component at the very level of the artist’s methods (Agnès Thurnauer’s bien faite, mal faite, pas faite — “Well done, badly done, not done” —, 2004) constitute a sweet though nonetheless inexorable sabotage, all the more accomplished and innovative with respect to the transformation of modes of thought and practice in contemporary art.

Transfers, Assimilations
A retrospective glance at the twentieth century reveals the diversity and complexity of artists’ motivational structures and forms of engagement, of their roles, the construction, in short, of the artist-being. Modernism considered method a defined, even predefined action plan that -federated individualities around political, social, metaphysical convictions in a progressive time and space. The manifesto set the keynote to procedures intended to counter the irruption of uncertainty, the inexplicable, the inadequate and insufficient: doubt and uncertainty were out of the question. From the postmodern, we’ve inherited a culture and art world coextensive with the capitalist economy, where massive, spectacular consumerization, ideally, leaves no place for defects and failure. While uncertain times have always been around, artists could not exhibit, claim, or use their vulnerability, incompetence, or doubt in the creative process. Non-reliability is a judgement reserved for others and constitutes an unfavourable critique.

Today, in “post-post” art, (4) the enemies have fallen and are no longer identifiable (teleology takes a back seat), the artist’s political involvement — at least visual artists’ — has regressed substantially, and aesthetics, dispersed and generalized in the totality of our existences, is no longer the chief prize in the dog fight. Because it is no longer possible to confront or conceive of society without being part of it, because one’s everyday mini-ideals and the assumption of particular liberties have replaced mass revolutions, the conflicts that were once expressed “openly,” along with redemptive visions and involvements that each person could imagine and create, are now integrated and interiorized in the modes of operation and very development of the works produced by recent generations of visual artists. Because “evil” is everywhere, and because, contrary to Dan Graham and Hans Haacke, one can no longer propose forms that both reflect and denounce the real, the more effective sabotage isn’t that which targets an invisible, obsolete enemy, devoid of any meaning and reality — society, an opposing party, an ideology, Big Brother — but that which hinders, irritates, and impacts the nature of relationships that govern this society the Joker card.

Pointless, Mutants
Methodological sabotage, altering and questioning one’s own capacity for judgement, action, and appreciation, adds a layer of immaterial production to art production, in terms of objects, installations, various media and actions, documents, in terms relationships to the world materialized as form. Visually, perceptibly, nothing has changed. Also, because one cannot forcibly inform the formless, most of the works, like those on doubt by Höller, (5) issue from a minimal aesthetic — his car as assisted –readymade (6) — or even from no aesthetic at all, for lack of being -producible, remaining in a project stage, an impossible wish, existing only in the artists’ conversations, a dolce utopia. Some, like Kendell Geers, Kader Attia, Laurent Grasso, or Wang Du, work affirmatively on doubt and the general paranoia generated by the media, the clash of cultures, beliefs, or science and technology (the Ideologies), and produce highly visual works, dense and environmental, with a personal and singular aesthetic that matches the image of the general sabotage being decried. Others, like Boris Achour and his actions-peu (1993-97), Mircea Cantor, Martin Creed, or Mark Lewis in his latest productions, prefer to work with assumed doubt, indecision, and non-resolve on generalized affirmations.

These works all share this thin, evanescent, porous layer, this precipice of the signifier, added to the countless other usually preexisting and -detectable signifying layers of contemporary artwork — materials, context, operation, rapport with the spectator —, one that, in the experience afforded others, reveals mechanisms motivated neither by the quest for an aesthetic, nor by the demands of another (whether an institution or an individual), nor by the influence of place, history, or defined context, but by the vulnerability and non-confidence experienced by an irreducible individuality — here, the artist. Sabotage induces a powerfully transitive and operational realism that extends the real with a schizophrenic and mutant double. To employ a neologism, it “perplexifies” the real. A mutant (7) is that object or person that would seem to be indistinguishable from others, but that nonetheless, once identified, engenders confusion by appearing completely other, if not antagonistic. Methodical sabotage is a mutant work plan that leads to mutant art, the layer of uncertainty, of the badly-done, of the degraded constituting at once the work’s fragility and its disruptive power. Loris Gréaud proposes hypperrealistic ErsatZ of his work, a mutant image that replaces and destroys all other existing images documenting the production: nothing has changed, yet everything has. Mathieu Laurette mingles with his subjects in a supermarket, filling carts like everyone else, though only with “satisfied-or-your-money-back” products, thus beating the system at its own game by driving it toward loss (Money-Back Products, 1993-2001).

In the 1970s many art practices, like those of Robert Barry, Robert Irwin, or the Art & Language group, tended toward subversive interrogations that drew their productions into dispersed or immaterial systems, often simply framed (and thus assimilated) by their institutional environment. The transformation in the prevailing visuality of the time still has an aesthetic and political influence on art practices today. The invalidation of the beneficial and materially creative art project steers artists toward practices that extend the defectability of the visible and practicable, a principle of non-confidence once again. Those who wish to avoid the spectacle and the commodification of art and aesthetics, who wish to disengage from cultural self-assurance, can no longer propose a project wholly amenable to commercial mediatization, to its transport from white cube to biennial and from biennial to white cube. In the all-encompassing “global empire,” an affirmation, a progress, is applied to all, is addressed to the mass community without individual distinction, whereas a doubt, an irritation, a dissatisfaction, is entrusted, and breaks the uniform collectivity to the benefit of the individualities that make it up. Methodological sabotage hinders the cultural and public mission of the museum as a showcase for art as object for consumption, (8) one that can be immediately exploited as an experience or knowledge.

Disruption, Serendipity
With the mechanical reproducibility of the artwork and the flooding of the real by art, or of art by the real, the sense of an aura conceived as unique, perceptible distance was lost. A second aura, not that of art but of aesthetics, more frequently and clearly identified in recent years, has made its appearance, by multiplying not the perceptible distances, but the points of view from which the distances were made perceptible. Sabotage as discussed here, then, can be seen as a set of extended methods that degrade that youthful though incredibly powerful, alienating aura of aesthetics. In sabotaging their modes of work, of perceiving and creating the world — in disappearing —, artists today are creating less an aesthetics of forms than a play on states of mind, a state of serendipity, that is, the creative exploitation of the unknown, with the only acknowledged faults being those of the sudden and unpredictable, of the fears and doubts related to this exotic unknown, other and profoundly other, inalienable by our codes of mass representation and communication. (9)

[Translated from the French by Ron Ross]

NOTES
1. On this topic, see the development of websites involved in marketing the film, among them whysoserious.
2. Interview with Hans Ulrich Obrist, Yokohama, September 2001.
3. “Have Trojan Horse, Will Travel: A Conversation between Jonathan Watkins and Ceal Floyer,” Ceal Floyer (Birmingham: Ikon Gallery, 2001).4. Yves Michaud, L’art à l’état gazeux (Paris: Stock, 2003).
5. Recall the artist’s own admission of doubt about “doubt,” a word used for lack of a better.
6. The term “assisted readymade” is taken from a talk given by Marcel Duchamp at the New York Museum of Modern Art during a symposium organized as part of the exhibition, “The Art of Assemblage,” in 1961. The transcript of this talk is available in a collection of Duchamp’s writings, Duchamp du signe (Paris: Flammarion, 1994).
7. The term “mutant” is here adopted by extension from Marc-Olivier Wahler’s considerations in “Le réel: combien de couches?,” Fresh Theorie (Paris: Léo Scheer, 2007).
8. One may recall all the art practices that have taken “exhibitions” and particularly the “institutional context” as sole medium since the 1960s, like those of Robert Barry, Marcel Broodthaers, Ben or Bethan Huws, sometimes attempting to bring down the whole program.
9. These relationships between the spectacular and the everyday are the theme of the 2009 Biennale de Lyon curated by Hou Hanru, The Spectacle of the Everyday.

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Dossier | Joker : Le sabotage méthodique

  • Maurizio Cattelan, Frank & Jamie, 2002. Photo : permission de la Galerie Emmanuel Perrotin, Paris

Joker Le sabotage méthodique Par Thibault Carles
Le Joker, sabotage incarné

Tiré d’un jeu de cartes, le joker est ce personnage bouffon et saboteur qui peut prendre la valeur que celui qui le détient décide de lui donner. C’est donc une carte potentielle et une figure perplexe qui n’appartient pas à la hiérarchie des numéros ou des figures royales, mais qui assure une rupture dans les choix qui vont marquer le cours de la partie. Il représente la coexistence ambivalente d’une solution inattendue pour les uns et d’une entrave malchanceuse pour les autres. Le joker sabote le jeu parce qu’il n’a pas de valeur intrinsèque, parce qu’il échappe aux règles auxquelles se plient les autres figures tout en les reconfigurant; il se tient à la fois à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur d’un système logique qui pourtant tolère sa présence illogique. C’est un transfuge intégré. Dans le second volet du récent film à succès de Batman, Le chevalier noir, le Joker est un corollaire parasite dont l’existence est inextricablement liée à son alter ego positif, Batman. Selon la culture qui définit le super héros, le bactérien Joker trouve un support somatique et psychique qu’il sabote dans toutes ses composantes. La contamination gagne implacablement la ville et la communauté de Gotham, dans ses lieux, ses moments, son imaginaire. Même éradiquée, l’aura du parasite plane toujours dans des greffons insoupçonnés, étendant la suspicion sur ce qui était encore viable et sain, au-delà de tout soupçon, comme en témoigne le personnage de Harvey Double-Face. Le sabotage dissout le manichéisme originel, et le parasitage déborde le cadre du récit filmique. Le Joker perfore le médium et la pellicule des caméras IMAX en se faisant héros du marchandisage et porte-parole de la superproduction (1), en occupant les affiches publicitaires et les esprits des spectateurs aux dépens du super héros, lui-même réduit à un titre. Il gâche tout, vole la vedette dans la fiction et hors de celle-ci, perturbe et reconfigure le système qui, comme un jeu de cartes, est un jeu de valeurs dans la double acception métaphysique et numérique du mot.

Valeurs
L’idiosyncrasie du sabotage est son action en termes de valeur. C’est un acte fondamentalement transitif, qui dévie et ricoche sur ce qui l’entoure. S’il suggère souvent des révoltes à caractère politique et illégal, qui chercheraient à outrepasser la Loi, il semble que chez nombre de plasticiens un enracinement bien plus profond témoigne de méthodes qui tenteraient plutôt à briser la Règle, beaucoup plus forte, beaucoup moins flexible, intransigeante. Le sabotage est dès lors moins celui de l’objet que celui du sujet.

Dans la construction de ses œuvres, l’intention initiale de Maurizio Cattelan est de privilégier l’inévitable malentendu qu’elles provoquent, «car les gens peuvent en faire ce qu’ils veulent (2)». De son côté, Carsten Höller et son incontournable Laboratoire du doute désolidarise le monde des valeurs de celui des certitudes pour laisser cours à une perplexité décomplexée et informelle. Ceal Floyer travaille en utilisant son insatisfaction, en se rendant vulnérable et en manifestant ce scepticisme comme de l’art afin de pousser la situation plus loin (3). Didier Faustino intitule sa première agence d’architectes LAPS – Laboratoire d’Architecture, Performance et Sabotage – et détourne des commandes passées par des organismes ou des personnages publics en pointant cruellement leurs défaillances. Norma Jeanne est une artiste qui n’existe pas et qui crée la confusion entre une identité vide et des travaux bien réels. Dans ces différentes pratiques, le sabotage ne se place pas dans l’objet créé ou dénoncé, mais dans le gâchis d’une méthode qui se trouve élargie, acceptant un principe de non-assurance, d’expérience de la fragilité et de l’incertain.

Le joker artistique est moins une production qu’un ensemble de motivations et de méthodes élargies. Dans nombre de ces travaux, l’art n’est pas le lieu de la création d’objets raisonnés mais plutôt celui du vécu et du partage d’une expérience particulière et paradoxale, insuffisante, du monde actuel, un état de vulnérabilité. L’impossibilité de donner des formes exclusives à ces sentiments et à ces idées prolonge le jeu de la création sur un terrain réflexif, sur une conversation élargie et décrispée de sa médiatisation et de ses contraintes matérielles. Comment incarner l’insatisfaction? Comment informer le doute, le trouble, l’irritation, le sentiment de ne pas pouvoir faire ou de mal faire? Si nombre de productions achevées contiennent un coefficient critique important – ce qui est un signe de qualité de l’œuvre dans notre société et notre approche de l’art – et mettent en doute nos systèmes de valeurs, l’anticipation et l’intégration de ce coefficient critique au niveau même des méthodes élaborées par les artistes (le bien faite, mal faite, pas faite d’Agnès Thurnauer, 2004) constituent un doux mais néanmoins inexorable sabotage, autrement plus accompli et novateur quant à la transformation des modes de pensée et de fonctionnement de l’art actuel.

Transferts, assimilations
Un coup d’œil rétrospectif sur le 20e siècle fait apparaître la diversité et la complexité structurelles des motivations des artistes et des formes de leurs engagements, de leurs rôles, bref la construction de l’être-artiste. Le modernisme considérait la méthode comme un plan d’action défini, voire prédéfini qui fédérait les individualités autour de convictions politiques, sociales, métaphysiques dans un espace et un temps progressistes. Le Manifeste apportait le point d’orgue à un ensemble de procédés destinés à contrecarrer l’irruption de l’incertain, de l’inexplicable, du défaillant et de l’insuffisant : pas de doutes, pas d’incertitudes possibles. Le postmoderne nous a légué une culture et un monde de l’art coextensifs de l’économie capitaliste où la massification consumériste et spectaculaire ne laisse, idéalement, aucune place aux ratés et au défectueux. Si les incertitudes de l’Époque ont pourtant toujours existé, impossible pour un artiste d’exposer, de revendiquer ou d’utiliser sa vulnérabilité, son incompétence, son doute dans le processus créatif. Le non-fiable est réservé au jugement sur autrui et constitue une critique dévalorisante.

Aujourd’hui dans l’art du «post-post (4)», les ennemis sont tombés et ne sont plus identifiables (recul de la téléologie), l’engagement politique de l’artiste – du moins pour les plasticiens – a fortement régressé, et l’esthétique, évaporée et généralisée dans la totalité de nos existences, n’est plus l’enjeu premier que la meute doit se disputer. Parce qu’il n’est plus possible d’affronter ou de penser la société sans en faire partie, parce que les micro-utopies quotidiennes et la conquête des libertés singulières ont remplacé les révolutions de masse, l’ensemble des conflits qui autrefois s’exprimaient «ouvertement», accompagnés de visions et d’engagements rédempteurs que chacun pouvait imaginer et créer, sont aujourd’hui intégrés et intériorisés dans le mode de fonctionnement et de développement même des œuvres des récentes générations de plasticiens. Parce que « le mal » est partout et parce qu’au contraire de Dan Graham ou de Hans Haacke on ne peut plus proposer des formes qui reflètent et dénoncent à la fois le réel, le sabotage le plus efficace n’est pas celui qui viserait un ennemi invisible, obsolète, vidé de tout sens et de toute réalité – la société, un parti adverse, une idéologie ou Big Brother – mais celui qui entrave, irrite et affecte la nature des relations qui gouvernent cette société, la carte joker.

Pointless, mutants
Le sabotage méthodique, en altérant et remettant en cause ses propres capacités de jugement, d’action et d’appréciation, ajoute une couche de production immatérielle à la production d'œuvres d’art en tant qu’objets, installations, médias divers et actions, documents, en tant que rapport au monde matérialisé par des formes. Visuellement, perceptiblement, rien ne change. Parce qu’il est aussi impossible d’essayer d’informer l’informe, la plupart des travaux, comme ceux du doute de Höller (5), relèvent même d’une esthétique minimale – sa voiture comme ready-made aidé (6)-, voire d’aucune esthétique du tout car ne pouvant être réalisés et restant à l’état de projets, de souhaits impossibles, existant seulement dans la conversation des artistes comme une dolce utopia. Certains, comme Kendell Geers, Kader Attia, Laurent Grasso ou Wang Du, travaillent avec affirmation sur le doute et les paranoïas généralisés issus des médias, des chocs culturels, des croyances ou de la science et des technologies (les Idéologies) et produisent des œuvres fortement plastiques, denses, environnementales avec une esthétique personnelle et singulière qui est à l’image du sabotage général dénoncé. D’autres, comme Boris Achour et ses actions-peu (1993-1997), Mircea Cantor, Martin Creed ou encore Mark Lewis dans ses dernières réalisations, préfèrent travailler avec une indécision, une irrésolution et un doute assumés sur l’affirmation généralisée.

Ces œuvres ont en commun cette mince couche évanescente et poreuse, ce précipice du signifiant qui s’ajoute aux innombrables autres couches signifiantes habituellement préexistantes et repérables d’une œuvre d’art actuelle (matériaux, contexte, fonctionnement, relation au spectateur) et qui dans l’expérience offerte à autrui laisse percevoir des mécanismes qui ne sont motivés ni par la recherche d’une esthétique, ni par la commande d’un tiers (institution ou individu), ni par l’influence d’un lieu, d’une Histoire ou d’un contexte défini, mais bien par la vulnérabilité et la non-assurance éprouvées par une individualité irréductible, en l’occurrence celle de l’artiste. Le sabotage induit un réalisme opératoire puissamment transitif qui prolonge le réel en double schizophrénique et mutant. Pour utiliser un néologisme, il «perplexifie» le réel. Un mutant (7) est cet objet ou cette personne que rien a priori ne distingue des autres mais qui pourtant, une fois identifié, entretient la confusion en apparaissant complètement autre sinon antagoniste. Le sabotage méthodique est un plan de travail mutant qui conduit à des œuvres mutantes, la couche invisible d’incertitude, de mal-fait, de dégradé étant à la fois la fragilité et la force perturbatrice de l’œuvre. Loris Gréaud propose des ErsatZ hyperréalistes de ses travaux, une image mutante, qui remplace et détruit toutes les images existantes documentant l’œuvre : rien ne change, et tout change. Mathieu Laurette se mêle à ses sujets et, dans l’hypermarché, remplit des chariots de courses comme tout le monde, mais seulement avec des produits «satisfait ou remboursé», et prend le système à son propre jeu en le faisant courir à sa perte (Money-back products, 1993-2001).

Les années 1970 voient nombre de pratiques d’artistes telles que celles de Robert Barry, de Robert Irwin ou encore du groupe Art Language s’orienter vers des questionnements subversifs qui rétractent leurs réalisations dans des systèmes évaporés et immatériels, le plus souvent simplement encadrés par (donc assimilés à) leurs environnements institutionnels. La transformation du régime visuel alors en cours fait encore aujourd’hui ressentir ses effets tant esthétiques que politiques dans les pratiques. L’infirmation du projet bénéfique et matériellement créateur de l’art oriente les artistes vers des démarches qui prolongent cette défectuosité du visible et du praticable, un principe de non-assurance là encore; celui qui veut sortir du spectaculaire et de la marchandisation de l’œuvre et de l’esthétique, celui qui veut s’extraire de l’assurance culturelle ne peut plus proposer un projet librement disponible à sa médiatisation publicitaire, à son transport, de white cube en biennales et de biennales en white cube. Dans l’«empire global» qui n’a pas de dehors, une affirmation, un progrès s’applique à tous, et s’adresse au collectif de masse sans distinctions particulières, alors qu’un doute, une irritation, une insatisfaction se confie et brise le collectif uniforme au profit de l’ensemble des individualités qui le composent. Le sabotage méthodique entrave la mission culturelle et publique du musée comme présentateur de l’art en tant qu’objet de consommation (8) dont on peut immédiatement disposer ou qu'on peut rentabiliser en une expérience ou un savoir.

Disruption, serendipité
Avec la reproductibilité mécanique de l’œuvre et l’inondation du réel par l’art, ou de l’art par le réel, l’aura comme unique lointain perceptible était perdue. Une seconde aura, celle non plus de l’art mais de l’esthétique, de plus en plus souvent et clairement identifiée ces récentes années, a fait son apparition, en multipliant non les lointains perceptibles, mais les points de vue à partir desquels les lointains étaient rendus perceptibles. Le sabotage ici commenté peut être perçu alors comme un ensemble de méthodes élargies qui dégradent cette jeune mais incroyablement puissante – aliénante – aura de l’esthétique. En sabotant leurs modes de travail, de perception et de création du monde, en disparaissant, les artistes créent aujourd’hui moins une esthétique des formes qu’une dynamique des états d’esprit, un état de serendipité, c’est-à-dire l’exploitation créative de l’inconnu, avec pour seuls défauts assumés ceux de l’impromptu, de l’imprévisible, de la peur et des doutes liés à cet inconnu exotique, autre et profondément autre, inaliénable par nos codes de représentation et de communication massifiés (9).

NOTES
1. Voir à ce propos le développement des sites Internet pour le marketing du film, notamment whysoserious.
2. Conversation avec Hans Ulrich Obrist, Yokohama, septembre 2001.
3. « Have Trojan Horse, Will Travel. A conversation between Jonathan Watkins and Ceal Floyer », Ceal Floyer, Birmingham, Ikon Gallery, 2001.
4. Yves Michaud, L’art à l’état gazeux, Paris, Stock, 2003.
5. Rappelons le doute sur le « doute » confié par l’artiste lui-même, mot utilisé faute de mieux.
6. L’expression «ready-made aidé» est tirée de l’exposé de Marcel Duchamp au Musée d’Art Moderne de New York effectué au cours d’un colloque organisé dans le cadre de l’exposition L’art de l’assemblage, en 1961. Le texte de cet exposé est disponible dans le recueil des écrits de Marcel Duchamp, Duchamp du signe aux éditions Flammarion, 1994.
7. Le terme « mutant » est ici prolongé de la réflexion de Marc-Olivier Wahler, « Le réel : combien de couches ? », Fresh Theorie, Éditions Léo Scheer, 2007.
8. On peut ici rappeler toutes les pratiques d’artistes qui ont pris les « expositions » et plus particulièrement le « contexte institutionnel » comme médium exclusif depuis les années 1960, comme celles de Robert Barry, de Marcel Broodthaers, de Ben ou de Bethan Huws parfois en tentant même de faire échouer la programmation.
9. Ces relations entre quotidien et spectacle sont le thème de la Biennale de Lyon 2009 Le spectacle du quotidien, dont le commissaire est Hou Hanru.

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598