Dossier | J’ai peur, donc je vis

I Fear, Therefore I Live
By André-Louis Paré

That thing we feel as our own—and that we therefore dread all the more—, is very precisely fear. It is of our fear that we are afraid, of the possibility that this fear is ours, that it is in our very selves that we are fearful.
- Roberto Esposito (1)

For a while now, the phenomenon of fear has mainly been dealt with from a political perspective. As an exploitable human emotion, fear is then associated with issues of power. In the name of security, what Amnesty International calls “the politics of fear” becomes a strategy to justify controls that can lead to abuse. Understandably then, as political scientist Robin Corey argues in a recent book, (2) one must combat fear. As a major instrument of domination, Corey says, fear is a purely negative emotion that paralyses our capacity for judgement. Certainly, from a political point of view, fear can prompt negative reactions or tear at the social fabric in a community. Also, not only can it lead to the subjugation of an individual, but, under a terror regime, it can become a collective frame of mind. (3) Notwithstanding these considerations, however effectively the psychological interpretation may explain the effects of fear on a targeted population, one cannot reduce the sense of fear, as Corey does, to a “political idea.” Like boredom, sadness, or joy, fear is first an emotion, thoroughly grounded in human subjectivity, a basic manifestation of our emotional connection to the world. It allows us to see and to feel, unthinkingly and for a moment, the formidable, menacing, even terrifying fact of the world. That is why, as an emotion that affects our way of being, fear becomes worthy material for many authors who attempt to render it in words. Since the advent of cinema, fear is also felt vicariously through image and sound in narrative sequences composed to produce an atmosphere of dread.

But what of the visual arts? Are we limited to representation, as in sculpture and painting? In the latter case, Edvard Munch’s The Scream is probably one of the more effective renditions of fear on a horrified human face; but one could also look to fantastic painting, some works of which suggest the idea of a death that we must dread. (4) Yet, when one tries to offer spectators devices other than representation for interrogating the real, rendering the phenomenon of fear is no simple matter. Of course, one might wish to attempt a critique of “the politics of fear” by various means, as some artists successfully do; (5) in an entirely different vein, one might also want to approach fear exclusively as affect. But then one must be wary of how one aestheticizes the emotion. On an aesthetic level, the mood emanating from this fear must avoid maudlin sentiment and rather strive for a particular “tone”—a Stimmung Heidegger might have said—from which a relationship with the ambient world might be felt. Concerned with the social dimension of fear, Sébastien Cliche, in his multidisciplinary work, attempts to create revelatory moods that disclose various reactions to it. While referring to certain literary texts, I propose to examine what Cliche’s work has to tell us of the phenomenon of fear, especially when that phenomenon is closely connected to our shared sense of existence.

From an existential point of view, fear is a manner of involvement with the world that helps instantly transform our apprehension of things and of others. As a wholly gripping experience, the affect of fear is then an integral part of what it means to be alive, to exist. Fear, then, is hardly an accident that we can be rid of. Before being a “thinking thing,” as Descartes says, man is an emotional being. And to believe Joseph Conrad, in his Heart of Darkness, as an emotion, fear would seem to have priority. One may always deny love, faith, hate, and even doubt, but as long a human being wishes to remain alive, fear will not be denied. Fear and life are forever entwined. At the very end of Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, for instance, when her husband poses the question inscribed in the title, and Martha replies, “I am . . . George . . . I am,” it is because this fear confirms the realization of the couple’s powerlessness to create anything together. (6) For, despite the explicit allusion, the title refers less to the famous English writer than it does to a children’s song about the big bad wolf. But in this story of a raging argument between spouses, what feeds the fear isn’t the danger of a ferocious beast so much as the distress of one who, faced with life, feels utterly at a loss. The same troubling mood haunts the main character in Rainer Werner Fassbinder’s film Fear of Fear. Expectant with a second child, Margot Staudte also comes to experience a strange and mysterious situation in which she feels suddenly “out of tune” with the things and people close to her. (7)

In short, fear cannot be dislodged, unless one accepts to forgo life, like the Kamikazes who, on ideological grounds, conquered the ultimate fear, that of dying. Otherwise, death menaces the living being with its annihilation. Existentialist phenomenology, as we know, has made this its leitmotif. According to Heidegger, being-for-death is life’s very concern. Fear becomes our anguish for the sake of the life that is given us. Besides, fear of death distinguishes us from animals. While the animal lives only in the present, man can foresee the threat, the danger, can imagine his own disappearance. In short, human beings have the capacity for frightening themselves. Sensory human existence isn’t just physical, it is also part imagination. In other words, the emotion is also self-emotive. Indeed, man has the ability to be stirred by his own devices—de s’émouvoir—, which, on an aesthetic level, can also afford pleasure.

Cliche stages our fear of death, fuelled by its anticipation, in an installation titled DisastAir. (8) In the form of a parody, it reminds spectators of the horror of experiencing a plane crash. What can one do then, if not give up and let the irremediable take its course? Relying on drawings inspired by survival guides, a video, and texts that somewhat humorously remind us to let go, the installation shows how little control we have over the course of events in such fateful circumstances. We can no longer control anything but our attitude toward ourselves. Fear, though, is often connected to the unknown. Fear is fear of oneself before that which one does not understand. In the borderline area between that which we fear and anguish before the void, is the feeling of being isolated from the world of others. Yet, even in these circumstances, the “I” is never totally alone. The fear “that we feel as ourselves” is also foreign to us. It is, as Roberto Esposito points out, “our ‘other,’ which constitutes us as a subject infinitely separated from ourselves.” (9)

Several of Cliche’s works also explore the difficulties of life in society. In an exhibition cycle presented in 2002-3 with the general title “L’Existence simplifiée”, and made up of three installations—Vivre blessé [“living wounded”], La Réserve / Utility Room, and Accidents de la vie courante / A Place Where You Feel Safe—the artist emphasizes the need for security generated by our anxiety in the face of fear. Using mainly text and images, he examines our “desire to live without accidents.” Even within the banality of everyday life, fears of all kinds can develop into various pathologies. In an obviously ironic treatment based on the image of home, Cliche disrupts the border line that is supposed to separate the outside from the inside, the private from the public, the inner from the outer. In its modern context, the home is thought of as “a place where you feel safe.” In these exhibitions, however, it comes to signify a malaise. The ambient space of the household absorbs our obsessions with security. Especially when we are obsessed with perfectly controlling our everyday surroundings.

Yet, this desire for overprotection, spurred on by consumer society, renders us still more fragile. Fear will not be forgotten. Like any truth that wants to hide, it remains present. In these three installations, it shows up in several figures—male and female—wearing balaclavas, or hoods. Where, in Vanitas, the human skull represents our mortal being, here the masked figures symbolize the visceral fear that we project on each other. The other is an alter ego who threatens my peace of mind, making me fear the worst, destroying sought-for harmony in the community. Is man, Thomas Hobbes asks, not a wolf to his fellow man?

The series of photographs presented in 2006 and titled “Refuges” also concerns the desire for security prompted by fear. The photographs are imbued with a strange visual atmosphere. One sees a cabin, for instance, made of planks and covered with a tarp, facing a cliff on the edge of a forest; there’s also a night scene within a forest, and a kind of shelter set in the woods where one might think an individual lives in seclusion. The forest, when apparently wild, can elicit fear. It is the natural habitat of animals, some of them fierce. In our imagination, the forest lies on the frontier of the domestic and the fantastic; between plant and animal life and the rather artificial domain of human beings. Already, in a previous exhibition, “La vie en forêt”, Cliche had drawn attention to the fear of finding oneself in this unfamiliar world, alone with a survival kit. In “Refuges”, though, the forest is mainly considered a source of comfort. According to Jean-Paul Sartre, the refuge is one possible response to a world from which we wish to escape. (10) Taking shelter is then one of the reactions we develop in the face of fear. The titles accompanying the works could not be clearer in this respect: We derive greater satisfaction from suffering our defeats alone, Mistrust is all that you need to maintain good human relationships, and In solitude there is no betrayal. But this refuge in willing solitude is obviously also an evasion. It is a type of behaviour that gives us a temporary sense of security. In other words, this evasion issues from a consciousness that fervently wishes that solitude may allay one’s fear. The statements forming the titles in the “Refuges” photographs suggest a solipsist vision of our rapport with others. But do they really lead to no other conclusion?

First, one should know that the aphorisms serving as titles to these photographs are derived from work developed during a residency at Chambre Blanche (Quebec City), which resulted in an on-line virtual book titled Principes de gravité. (11) In the table of contents, reader-spectators find six chapters. One of these, the last, is “Vie en société.” To read this chapter, we must make choices. In the preface, we were already warned that the founding principle of the book is that the upshot of making choices was to accept “losing something”—another aphoristic piece of advice. As in most of Cliche’s work where text is as significant as visual presentation, such aphorisms express precepts that urge us to confront life. But one must add that these lessons tend to come with paradoxes. With respect to the theme of fear and to the resulting mistrust or desire for solitude, this chapter also warns us that “the group is a necessary evil,” or that “failing within a group is reassuring.”

In short, “Vie en société” proposes a kind of redemptive mistrust vis-à-vis the other. However one might withdraw into magical attitudes, fear of the other is here to stay. Consequently, we had better practice the courage of being afraid or, as the title of Fassbinder’s play reminds us, the fear within will devour the soul. (12) Indeed, fear only destroys us if we react negatively through flight and consequently attempt to construct an identity based on exclusion. We cannot vanquish fear through exclusion. One can only wish to flee or forget it, which does not prevent it from existing. When night falls, in Bernard-Marie Koltès’ wonderful text, Dans la solitude des champs de coton, two characters—the dealer and the client—begin a riveting dialogue on the rapport two people can have when it takes shape between desire and the fear of knowing what the other, as stranger, may bring to us. (13) Each is then confronted with their own fear, with their own desire for the unknown, especially when aware that each of us is capable of extinguishing the other’s existence.

It was Hobbes’ great insight to place fear at the heart of human sociability. Like the fact of living, fear is what we have in common. One may want to exploit it politically, or to supplant it, as the philosopher urges, with voluntary submission to the Monarch and life under stringent laws; but as affect, one can not completely master it. That is why fear has been such an inspiration to artists: it explains so many things about the fragile beings that we are. The work of Sébastien Cliche is an example. In his various installations, he shows the effects of fear in our modern societies, and their penchant for security; he recalls the painful relationships that fear engenders within communities. But, at the same time, from a strictly aesthetic point of view, he wishes to place the spectator in an ambiguous situation. For instance, the photographs in “Refuges” might well convey a “heavy emotional charge,” but the artist also points out that they cultivate “ambiguity before an unresolved situation,” as if it were better to ask spectators to do more than simply to be moved. Just the advice one might take if one wished to practice the courage of being afraid.

[Translated from the French by Ron Ross]

NOTES
1. Roberto Esposito, Communitas. Origine et destin de la communauté (Paris: Presses Universitaires de France, Collège International de Philosophie, 2000), 36.
2. Robin Corey, Fear: The History of a Political Idea (New York & London: Oxford University Press, 2006).
3. In Peur, dit le spectre (http://multitudes.samizdat.net/spip.php?article2241), published online on February 10, 2007, Brian Massumi examines the “politicization of fear” orchestrated by the Bush Administration after September 11, 2001.
4. One might think of Johann Heinrich Füssli’s The Nightmare, or of the works of Gustave Doré, The Enigma in particular. Also, in view of later considerations, one should point out that Doré illustrated many children’s tales, including The Little Red Riding Hood.
5. A group exhibition with the theme La culture de la peur / The Culture of Fear that took place in Leipzig, Germany, in summer 2006, at the Federkiel Foundation, indeed presented works dealing with the perception of fear in our societies. Among the artists were Mandy Gehrt, Maria Friberg, and the Yes Men collective.
6. Written by Edward Albee, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? appeared in 1962. The play was adapted to the screen by Mike Nichols (Warner Bros. Pictures, 1966, 131 min).
7. This film was produced for television by WDR (1975, 88 min).
8. DisastAir was presented in two parts, first in 1998, at Galerie Verticale, Laval, then in 1999, at Espace Vidéographe, Montreal. All the works discussed in this article are presented on the artist’s Web site, available at www.aplacewhereyoufeelsafe.com.
9. Esposito, 39.
10. Jean-Paul Sartre, Esquisse d’une théorie des émotions (Paris: Hermann, 1975), 45-47.
11. This work was presented in winter 2007, at Galerie de l’UQAM, as part of the group exhibition titled “Basculer”, curated by Julie Bélisle, Mélanie Boucher, and Audrey Genois. The work may be viewed online at: www.gravityprinciples.ca.
12. Rainer Werner Fassbinder, La peur dévore l’âme (Paris: L’Arche, 1992); the film’s original title, Angst essen Seele auf, translated in English as Ali: Fear Eats the Soul.
13. Bernard-Marie Koltès, Dans la solitude des champs de coton (Paris: Minuit, 1986).

Tags artistes: 

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Dossier | J’ai peur, donc je vis

J’ai peur, donc je vis
Par André-Louis Paré

Ce quelque chose que nous sentons nôtre – et que justement pour cela nous craignons à l’extrême –, c’est très exactement la peur. C’est de notre peur que nous avons peur, de la possibilité que la peur soit nôtre, que ce soit nous en propre qui ayons peur.
- Roberto Esposito (1)

Depuis un certain temps, le phénomène de la peur est surtout abordé dans un contexte politique. Comme sentiment humain, facilement exploité, la peur s’identifie alors à une question de pouvoir. Ce qu’Amnistie internationale appelle « la politique de la peur » est donc utilisée comme stratégie afin de justifier, au nom de la sécurité, certains contrôles pouvant mener à des abus. Dans ce cas, il devient compréhensible qu’il faille combattre la peur. C’est la thèse que défend, dans un livre récent, le politicologue Robin Corey (2). Selon ses dires, comme « instrument majeur de domination », la peur est un sentiment purement négatif qui paralyse notre capacité de juger. Sans doute, d’un point de vue politique, la peur peut engendrer des réactions négatives et, notamment, nuire au lien social au sein de la communauté. Elle peut aussi conduire à la soumission d’individus et même, sous un régime de terreur, devenir une forme de conscience collective (3). Nonobstant ces faits, lesquels expliquent, à partir d’une interprétation psychologique, les effets de la peur sur une population, il ne faut pas réduire le sentiment de la peur, comme le fait Corey, à une « idée politique ». Tout comme l’ennui, la tristesse ou la joie, la peur est d’abord une affection ancrée au cœur de la subjectivité humaine. Elle est une manifestation élémentaire de ce qui nous lie émotivement au monde. Elle fait voir et sentir, sans raison et pour un instant, le monde redoutable, menaçant, sinon effrayant. C’est pourquoi, comme émotion qui affecte notre manière d’être, la peur est pour plusieurs écrivains une source d’inspiration. De plus, depuis l’avènement du cinéma, la peur est aussi ressentie par l’entremise d’images et de sons insérés dans une trame narrative et agencés de manière à produire une atmosphère d’épouvante.

Mais qu’en est-il dans les arts visuels ? Faut-il s’en tenir, comme pour la peinture et la sculpture, à la représentation ? Dans ce cas, Le cri d’Edvard Munch est sans doute une des œuvres peintes qui représente bien l’effet de la peur sur un visage ; mais on pourrait aussi regarder du côté de la peinture fantastique, dont certaines œuvres suggèrent l’idée de la mort qu’il nous faut craindre (4). Par contre, lorsqu’il s’agit d’échapper à la représentation et d’offrir aux spectateurs d’autres dispositifs d’interrogation sur le réel, rendre compte du phénomène de la peur n’est pas aussi simple. On peut, bien sûr, vouloir par divers moyens critiquer la « politique de la peur », comme savent le faire certains artistes (5) ; on peut aussi, dans une toute autre perspective, vouloir approcher la peur uniquement comme affection. Mais, dans ce cas, il faut se méfier de la manière d’esthétiser cette émotion. Sur le plan esthétique, l’atmosphère qui se dégage de la peur doit éviter les « états d’âme » et viser plutôt une « tonalité » – une Stimmung aurait dit Heidegger – à partir de laquelle une relation au monde ambiant sera éprouvée. Or, justement, en s’intéressant à la dimension sociale de la peur, l’œuvre multidisciplinaire de Sébastien Cliche tente de créer des ambiances où se découvrent diverses réactions face à celle-ci. Tout en faisant référence à certains textes littéraires, je me propose d’examiner ce qui nous est montré du phénomène de la peur dans le travail de cet artiste, surtout lorsque ce phénomène se trouve intimement lié à notre être en commun.

D’un point de vue existentiel, la peur est une manière d’être en situation dans le monde qui contribue à transformer instantanément notre appréhension des choses et des autres. S’agissant d’une expérience qui nous saisit tout entier, l’affection de la peur est alors partie prenante de ce que veut dire vivre, exister. Ainsi, la peur est loin d’être un accident dont on pourrait se débarrasser. Avant d’être une « chose pensante » – comme le mentionne Descartes –, l’homme est un être affecté. Et, à en croire l’auteur d’Au cœur des ténèbres, Joseph Conrad, la peur comme affection semble être première. Il est toujours possible de nier l’amour, la foi, la haine, et même le doute, mais aussi longtemps qu’un être humain tient à la vie, il ne peut supprimer la peur. C’est que la peur et la vie sont unies à jamais. Par exemple, si Martha, à la toute fin de la pièce Qui a peur de Virginia Woolf ?, répond à son mari : « Moi, j’ai peur... Moi, Georges, j’ai peur », c’est que cette peur révèle un constat d’impuissance devant l’impossibilité du couple de construire quelque chose à deux (6). Dès lors, le titre a beau mentionner le nom d’une célèbre romancière anglaise, Qui a peur de Virginia Woolf ? réfère plutôt à une chanson pour enfant où il est question du grand méchant loup. Mais, dans cette histoire où la dispute entre les deux époux fait rage, ce qui alimente la crainte est moins le danger représenté par la bête féroce que la détresse d’un être qui se sent complètement désemparé face à la vie. C’est cette même troublante humeur que ressent le personnage principal du film La peur de la peur de Rainer Werner Fassbinder. Enceinte d’un deuxième enfant, Margot Staudte se retrouve à vivre également une situation étrange et énigmatique où elle se sent soudainement « désaccordée » face aux choses et aux autres qui lui étaient familiers (7).

En somme, la peur demeure indéracinable jusqu’au moment où nous acceptons d’abandonner la vie. Les kamikazes, par idéologie, sont des gens qui ont vaincu la peur, l’ultime peur : celle de mourir. Autrement, la mort inquiète l’être de son anéantissement. Comme on le sait, la phénoménologie existentialiste en a fait son leitmotiv. Selon Heidegger, l’être-pour-la-mort est l’essence même du souci pour la vie. C’est pour cette vie qui nous est donnée que la peur se fait angoisse. D’ailleurs, la peur de la mort nous distingue de l’animal. Alors que l’animal ne vit que dans l’instant, l’homme peut anticiper la menace, le danger. Il peut imaginer sa propre disparition. Bref, il a la capacité de se faire peur. C’est que l’être sensible chez l’humain n’est pas que physique, il a sa part d’imagination. Autrement dit, l’affection est aussi une auto-affection. Il y a en effet chez l’homme un pouvoir de s’émouvoir ; ce qui n’est pas sans nous procurer parfois, sur le plan purement esthétique, du plaisir.

Dans une installation intitulée DisastAir, Sébastien Cliche met en scène notre crainte de la mort, alimentée par son anticipation (8). Sous le mode de la parodie, celle-ci rappelle aux spectateurs l’horreur de vivre une catastrophe aérienne. Que faire alors, sinon s’abandonner, laisser l’irrémédiable suivre son cours ? S’appuyant sur des dessins inspirés des guides de survie, d’une vidéo et de textes nous rappelant, non sans humour, de lâcher prise, l’installation souligne combien à cette heure fatidique notre volonté n’a aucun contrôle sur l’événement. Il n’est plus question de maîtriser ce qui est hors de soi. Seule importe notre attitude vis-à-vis de nous-même. Or, justement, la peur est souvent liée à l’inconnu. La peur est la peur de soi devant quelque chose que l’on ne comprend pas. Dans cette zone frontière, celle qui se trouve entre ce devant quoi on a peur et l’angoisse du néant, il y a le sentiment d’être isolé du monde commun. Pourtant, même en ces circonstances, le « je » n’est jamais totalement seul. La peur « que nous sentons nôtre » nous est aussi étrangère. Elle est, comme le précise Roberto Esposito, « notre “autre”, qui nous constitue comme sujets infiniment séparés de nous-mêmes (9)».

Plusieurs œuvres de Sébastien Cliche explorent également les difficultés de vivre en société. Dans un cycle d’expositions présenté en 2002-2003 ayant pour titre générique L’existence simplifiée et constituée de trois installations : « Vivre blessé », « La Réserve » et « Accidents de la vie courante », l’artiste met l’emphase sur le besoin de sécurité causé par notre inquiétude face à la peur. Il analyse surtout par l’image et le texte notre « désir de vivre sans accident ». Même au sein du plus banal quotidien, les craintes de toutes sortes peuvent développer diverses pathologies. Sous un mode visiblement ironique, Cliche ébranle, à partir de l’image du chez-soi, la frontière qui supposément distingue le dehors et le dedans, le privé et le public, l’intérieur et l’extérieur. En somme, dans son contexte moderne, la maison est conçue comme un endroit où l’on se pense à l’abri. Pourtant, selon ces diverses expositions, elle symbolise un malaise. Comme milieu ambiant, l’espace domestique est aussi un endroit où s’infiltrent nos obsessions face au besoin de sécurité. Surtout lorsque nous sommes obsédés par un quotidien parfaitement contrôlé. Or, ce désir de surprotection, encouragé par une société de consommation, nous fragilise davantage.

C’est que la peur ne s’oublie pas. Elle demeure présente comme toute vérité qui aime se cacher. Dans ces trois installations, elle se manifeste sous la figure de plusieurs personnages – hommes ou femmes – portant des cagoules. Dans les Vanités, le crâne humain représente notre être mortel ; ici, les têtes cagoulées symbolisent la peur intestine que l’on projette sur l’autre. Comme alter ego, autrui est alors celui qui menace ma quiétude et me fait craindre le pire. Il vient détruire l’harmonie souhaitée au sein de la communauté. L’homme n’est-il pas, comme le dit Thomas Hobbes, un loup pour l’homme ?

La série de photographies présentée en 2006 et intitulée Refuges porte de nouveau sur ce désir de sécurité provoqué par la peur. Visuellement, ces photographies se présentent sous des atmosphères d’étrangeté. On y voit, par exemple, une cabane faite de planches et recouverte d’une bâche devant une falaise en bordure d’une forêt ; il y a aussi l’intérieur d’une forêt à la lueur de la nuit ou encore une sorte de refuge situé en forêt où l’on peut présumer que quelqu’un vit en reclus. La forêt, lorsqu’elle est apparemment sauvage, peut susciter des craintes. C’est l’habitat naturel des animaux, dont certains peuvent être féroces. Dans notre imaginaire, la forêt trace une frontière entre le monde domestiqué et le monde fantastique ; entre les mondes végétal et animal et celui plutôt artificiel de l’humain. Déjà, dans une exposition antérieure, La vie en forêt, Cliche avait pointé du doigt la peur de se trouver dans cet univers méconnu, sans autres repères qu’une trousse de survie. Mais dans cette exposition, la forêt est surtout considérée comme un lieu de réconfort. Au dire de Jean-Paul Sartre, le refuge est une réponse possible face à un monde dont on souhaite s’évader (10). Se réfugier est donc une des réactions que l’on développe face à la peur. Les titres qui accompagnent les œuvres sont à ce sujet on ne peut plus clairs : On retire une plus grande satisfaction à vivre ses échecs seul ; La méfiance est tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour garder de bons rapports humains et Dans la solitude, il n’y a pas de trahison. Mais ce refuge dans l’isolement volontaire est évidemment une fuite. Cela relève d’une conduite qui nous fait croire, pour un temps, que nous sommes en sécurité. Autrement dit, cette fuite opère au niveau d’une conscience qui souhaite ardemment que la solitude puisse permettre d’avoir moins peur. À ce compte-là, la leçon que nous proposent les divers préceptes présentés comme titres aux photographies de Refuges encourage une vision solipsiste. Mais est-ce vraiment ce qu’il faut en conclure ?

D’abord, il est bon de savoir que les aphorismes qui servent de titres à ces photographies proviennent d’un travail développé lors d’une résidence à la Chambre Blanche (Québec) et qui a eu pour résultat un livre virtuel à consulter sur le web et intitulé Principes de gravité (11). En découvrant la table des matières, le lecteur-spectateur se retrouve devant six chapitres. L’un de ceux-ci, le dernier, a pour titre « Vie en société ». Pour prendre connaissance de ce chapitre, il nous faut faire des choix. Dans la préface, on nous a déjà avertis que le principe fondateur de ce livre est qu’en faisant des choix il nous fallait accepter de « perdre quelque chose », soit un autre conseil livré sous forme d’aphorisme. Comme la plupart des œuvres de Cliche où le texte importe autant que le visuel, ces aphorismes expriment des préceptes qui nous invitent à faire face à la vie. Mais, il faut aussi ajouter que ces leçons aiment les paradoxes. En ce qui a trait au thème de la peur et au désir de solitude ou de méfiance que cela engendre, ce chapitre nous avertit également que « le groupe est un mal nécessaire » ou encore qu’« échouer en groupe est rassurant ».

En somme, « Vie en société » suggère une sorte de méfiance salvatrice vis-à-vis de l’autre. On a beau fuir dans des attitudes magiques, la peur de l’autre en soi ne meurt jamais. Par conséquent, mieux vaut pratiquer le courage d’avoir peur sinon, comme le rappelle le titre d’une pièce de Fassbinder, cette peur nous dévore l’âme (12). En effet, la peur nous détruit seulement si l’on réagit négativement par la fuite et que, par conséquent, on tente de se construire une identité à partir de l’exclusion. Or, on ne peut vaincre la peur dans l’exclusion. On ne peut que vouloir la fuir, l’oublier, ce qui ne l’empêche pas d’exister. Dans le merveilleux texte Dans la solitude des champs de coton de Bernard‑Marie Koltès, deux personnages – le dealer et le client – entament, la nuit venue, un dialogue percutant sur la relation à deux lorsqu’elle prend forme entre le désir et la peur de savoir ce que l’autre peut apporter lorsqu’il nous est étranger (13). Chacun est alors confronté à sa propre peur, à son propre désir de l’inconnu, surtout lorsqu’on sait que chacun est un être capable de mettre fin à l’existence de l’autre.

Ce fut la grande intuition de Thomas Hobbes de mettre la peur au cœur de la sociabilité humaine. Comme le fait de vivre, la peur est ce qui nous est commun. On peut vouloir l’exploiter d’un point de vue politique, la substituer, comme le propose le philosophe, par une soumission volontaire au souverain et vivre ensemble sous une forte législation ; comme affect, on ne peut cependant totalement la vaincre. C’est pourquoi, sur le plan artistique, on s’est souvent inspiré de cette émotion qui explique tant de choses sur l’être fragile que l’on est. Le travail de Cliche en est un exemple. Avec ses diverses installations, il illustre les effets de la peur dans nos sociétés modernes, enclines au besoin de sécurité ; il rappelle aussi les difficiles relations que génère la peur au sein de la communauté. Mais, en même temps, sur un plan strictement esthétique, il souhaite placer le spectateur dans une situation ambiguë. Par exemple, les photographies de Refuges ont beau transmettre une « forte charge émotive », l’artiste souligne également que celles-ci cultivent « l’ambiguïté devant une situation non résolue », comme s’il valait mieux demander aux spectateurs de faire plus que de simplement s’émouvoir. Or, il est vrai que c’est sans doute la voie à suivre pour qui veut pratiquer le courage d’avoir peur.

NOTES
1. Roberto Esposito, Communitas. Origine et destin de la communauté, Paris, Presses Universitaires de France (Collège International de Philosophie), 2000, p. 36.
2. Robin Corey, La peur : histoire d’une idée politique (traduit en français par Christophe Jaquet), Paris, Armand Colin, 2006.
3. Dans Peur, dit le spectre http://multitudes.samizdat.net/spip.php?article2241, mis en ligne le 10 février 2007, Brian Massumi analyse le processus de « politisation de la peur » orchestré par le gouvernement Bush à la suite du 11 septembre 2001.
4. Pensons à l’œuvre de Johann Heinrich Füssli intitulée Le cauchemar ou aux œuvres de Gustave Doré, notamment L’énigme. Il n’est pas inutile de rappeler, pour la suite de notre propos, que Doré a illustré de nombreux contes pour enfants dont Le petit chaperon rouge.
5. Une exposition collective ayant pour thème La culture de la peur / The Culture of Fear a eu lieu à l’été 2006 à Leipzig (Allemagne) à la Fondation Federkiel et présentait justement certains travaux d’artistes portant sur la perception de la peur dans nos sociétés. Parmi ces artistes, on retrouvait Mandy Gehrt, Maria Friberg et le collectif The Yes Men.
6. Écrite par Edward Albee, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf ? est parue en 1962. On en trouve une traduction française chez Acte Sud (1996). Cette pièce a été adaptée au cinéma par Mike Nichols (Warner Bros. Pictures, 1966, 131 min).
7. Ce film a été produit par la WDR pour la télévision (1975, 88 min).
8. DisastAir a été présentée en deux volets : d’abord en 1998 à la Galerie Verticale (Laval) ; ensuite en 1999, à l’Espace Vidéographe (Montréal). Toutes les œuvres dont il est question dans cet article sont présentées sur le site de l’artiste : www.aplacewhereyoufeelsafe.com.
9. Roberto Esposito, op. cit., p. 39.
10. Jean-Paul Sartre, Esquisse d’une théorie des émotions, Paris, Hermann, 1975, p. 45-47.
11. Ce travail a été présenté à l’hiver 2007 à la galerie de l’UQAM dans le cadre d’une exposition collective intitulée Basculer (commissaires : Julie Bélisle, Mélanie Boucher et Audrey Genois). Vous pouvez voir cette œuvre à l’adresse suivante : www.principesdegravite.ca.
12. Rainer Werner Fassbinder, La peur dévore l’âme, Paris, L’Arche, 1992.
13. Bernard-Marie Koltès, Dans la solitude des champs de coton, Paris, Minuit, 1986.

Tags artistes: 

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Rubriques



Boutique

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598