Fallon Simard

Lindsay Nixon
  • Fallon Simard, Calm, 2017. Photo: courtesy of the artist
  • Fallon Simard, Self Destructive Behaviours, 2017. Photo: courtesy of the artist
  • Fallon Simard, Disassociated, 2017. Photo: courtesy of the artist
  • Fallon Simard, my ptsd hurts, 2017. Photo: courtesy of the artist

Monetized, But Agential, Bodies in Ghost Worlds

Sad Boi extraordinaire, reproductive justice fighter and unabashed tenderqueer — Fallon Simard is a rare voice within Indigenous art. Picking up on the quick wit and viral culture of Generations Y and Z, Simard’s memes light-heartedly consider the complex effects of colonialism on the Indigenous body as if to say, yes, we are hurting and our embodiments can be painful but we are still here — alive, laughing, coping, and loving, despite it all.

Simard’s work should not be relegated to the realm of web-art because of its presumed digital inspirations. Their memes disrupt the assumed disconnection between digital worlds and real life by asking, aren’t Indigenous bodies commodities just like web-based productions: monetized, objectified, and their parts deconstructed for settler consumption?

Settler colonialism and resource extraction result in what Achille Mbembe has called “death-worlds,” which Indigenous bodies resist through articulating practices of haunting, ghosting, and gendered resentment. Simard argues that Indigenous bodies are animated corpses, ghosts even, extinct, dying and of the past — incapable of enacting and embodying the modernity of settlers, and thereby encroached upon by settler colonialism.

But Simard’s depictions of Indigenous ghostings resist representations of the “imaginary Indian” and its logics of disappearance — a literal death imaginary ascribed to Indigenous bodies — through the making of memes that portray Indigenous hauntings, or continuance, as a means of resistance. One meme displays a blur of colours representative of dissociative numbness and a sense of confusion, with a text that reads, “my ptsd hurts.” Simard confronts the viewer with a destigmatized representation of mental health issues that can become associated with Indigenous continuance. Another meme displays McDonald’s fast food, accompanied by the statement “just a little disassociated” — a visualization of coping mechanisms that are often deemed unhealthy or harmful, but actually help in the survival of colonial trauma.

Simard’s work considers the harms of colonialism — and resource extraction in particular — as played out on Indigenous bodies. Though Indigenous bodies are corpses, they too yearn to love themselves back to life. Indigenous bodies are ghosts haunting settler communities, subverting the death imaginary ascribed on them through concerted acts of resistance and refusal.

Captions
Image 1: Fallon Simard, Calm, from the series meme, 2017. Photo: courtesy of the artist
Image 2: Fallon Simard, Self Destructive Behaviours, from the series meme, 2017. Photo: courtesy of the artist
Image 3: Fallon Simard, Disassociated, from the series meme, 2017. Photo: courtesy of the artist
Image 4: Fallon Simard, my ptsd hurts, from the series meme, 2017. Photo: courtesy of the artist

Number: 
91

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Fallon Simard

Lindsay Nixon
  • Fallon Simard, Calm, 2017. Photo : permission de l'artiste
  • Fallon Simard, Self Destructive Behaviours, 2017. Photo : permission de l'artiste
  • Fallon Simard, Disassociated, 2017. Photo : permission de l'artiste
  • Fallon Simard, my ptsd hurts, 2017. Photo : permission de l'artiste

Des corps monétisés agissant dans des mondes fantomatiques

Sad boy éblouissant guerroyant pour la justice reproductive, queer ouvertement tendre : Fallon Simard est un cas rare dans l’art autochtone. S’appropriant l’esprit vif et la culture virale des générations Y et Z, Simard produit des mèmes qui explorent allègrement les effets complexes du colonialisme sur le corps autochtone, semblant dire « oui, nous avons mal et notre incarnation est douloureuse, mais nous sommes toujours là : vivants, rieurs, résilients, pleins d’amour malgré tout ».

L’œuvre de Simard ne saurait être confinée à l’art numérique sous prétexte qu’elle s’inspire du Web. Ses mèmes perturbent la coupure présumée entre mondes virtuel et réel en demandant : les corps autochtones ne sont-ils pas, comme les productions web, des marchandises – monétisés, chosifiés, leurs parties déconstruites pour consommation par le colonisateur ?

Le colonialisme et l’extraction des ressources produisent, selon Achille Mbembe, des « mondes de morts », auxquels les corps autochtones résistent en combinant pratiques hantantes et spectrales et ressentiment genré. Pour Simard, les corps autochtones sont des cadavres animés, des fantômes : disparus ou mourants, appartenant au passé, incapables d’exprimer ou d’incarner la modernité pionnière – envahis conséquemment par son colonialisme.

Sa description des fantômisations autochtones résiste aux représentations de « l’Indien imaginaire » et à sa logique de la disparition – l’imaginaire littéral de la mort attribué aux corps indigènes – par des mèmes dépeignant la spectrification (ou la continuité) autochtone comme un moyen de résistance. L’un illustre l’engourdissement dissociatif et le sentiment de confusion par une masse colorée accompagnée des mots My ptsd hurts : Simard confronte les spectateurs à une représentation des problèmes mentaux déstigmatisée, éventuellement rattachable à la continuation autochtone. Un autre montre des aliments McDonald et la phrase Just a little disassociated : visualisation de mécanismes d’adaptation souvent jugés malsains ou nocifs, qui aident pourtant à survivre au traumatisme colonial.

L’œuvre de Simard s’intéresse aux maux du colonialisme – notamment l’extraction des ressources – marquant les corps autochtones qui, tous cadavres qu’ils soient, aspirent à se faire renaitre par l’amour. Ce sont des fantômes qui hantent les colonies en subvertissant, par des actes concertés de résistance et de refus, un imaginaire mortuaire imposé.

[Traduit de l’anglais par Sophie Chisogne]

Légendes des photos
Image 1 : Fallon Simard, Calm, de la série meme, 2017. Photo : permission de l'artiste
Image 2 : Fallon Simard, Self Destructive Behaviours, de la série meme, 2017. Photo : permission de l'artiste
Image 3 : Fallon Simard, Disassociated, de la série meme, 2017. Photo : permission de l'artiste
Image 4 : Fallon Simard, my ptsd hurts, de la série meme, 2017. Photo : permission de l'artiste

Number: 
91

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Rubriques



Boutique

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598