editorial

66 - Disappearance - Printemps / été - 2009
Sylvette Babin

In this issue on the theme of disappearance it is no way our intention to announce the death of art, which has been repeatedly predicted for several decades. At most we will, once again, confirm the recurrent tendency to forego the art object in favour of the artistic device, encounter or experience, an attitude which certainly marked our previous thematic issues (“Waste” and “Fragile”) and which we could have combined with this one to form a trilogy. Do we thus dare to proclaim the disappearance of the object or more precisely the end of the art object’s reign? It is notably this question that some authors took up in their reflections on many artists’ choice “of producing no tangible object while remaining within the system” (Desmet). This is perhaps the first observation to be made here: with or without an object, visible or invisible, and promoting the ephemeral, the so-called artists without works persist in taking a place in the system, in leaving a trace, an image, a story. Furthermore, the following pages are not without works; for the most part, very high definition digital photographs. If there is not always a presence of “objects” (in many cases one is indeed confronted with empty rooms), this is not any less proof that artistic acts were carried out. Nobody questions that these traces, which artists or dealers take great care of, now serve as artworks to be displayed in various exhibition places after the experience has dissipated. The inevitable process of the preservation of memory is such that the intangible is inexorably materialized in the archive. The art object thus resists its disappearance.

The theme of disappearance has not only been explored in terms of the absence of works or objects, but also in relation to the immaterial, impalpable and evanescent. Devices that work on perception, works erased before the gaze, poetic fictions on death or the decomposition of matter are part of the propositions, which in this issue, refer rather to the disappearance of the subject. Moreover, aside from the main thematic we here include a more politically informed and consequently more disturbing essay on the disappearance of the citizen in totalitarian regimes (Vera). However, in this case, not a trace has been left.

The active participation of viewers is also one of the recurrent elements in this thematic issue. In order for the “disappeared” works to regain their status as artworks and find themselves within these pages, one certainly had to undertake a “reconstitution” task that was in several cases left to those who took part in the experience. Whether by walking through a work to make it effective (Schneider), by looking for it (Fridfinnsson), by memorizing it (Pope) or by literally inventing it (Tiravanija), the viewer has become the one through who the work has been granted existence. This Duchampian affirmation, which does not appear to be waning in twenty-first century art, perhaps confirms that if the artist tends at times to make the artwork disappear, s/he nevertheless entrusts others with the mandate to make it reappear.

[Translated from the French by Bernard Schütze]

65 - Fragile - Hiver - 2009
Sylvette Babin
Patrice Duhamel, Molsk 25, Petit Carnet, 2007. Photo: Patrice Duhamel

This issue is published in continuity with the themes of “Mutual Actions” and “Waste” that were previously explored in our publication. The current theme of “Fragile” allows us to examine how art’s various parameters, materials, apparatuses and production modes, even the figure of the artist itself, have been weakened. Contributors have answered our invitation in the same spirit and have expanded their consideration of the fragile in physical terms—the friability of the object or the fleetingness of the artwork and, subsequently, their modes of conservation—to its various ontological underpinnings. Fragility thus finds its way in an essay on the sublime and the aesthetics of inadequacy where photographic still lifes are paralleled with the Renaissance vanitas (Falvey), while another essay opposes individual singularity (and, by extension, fragility) to the notion of plasticity, with a particular emphasis on attempts to go beyond matter (glass and plastic) “to reveal its ‘spirit,’ that is, its cultural and civilizational import” (Poulin).

Numerous analytical avenues are based on works dealing directly or indirectly with fragility. We’ve noticed that writers in this issue have been particularly driven by the artworks, by their delicate aspect, precarious presentation or symbolic materials and subjects. The fleetingness of Chih-Chien Wang and Joanne Poitras’s installations, the figurative import of sugar in Aude Moreau’s work, Patrick Beaulieu’s immaterial projects and Sophie Calle’s intimist approach have all offered a solid basis for the formulation of various theories and contributed to striking a balance between the work and its analysis, which certainly adds to the strength of this issue.

The works brought together in the portfolio section also reveal how diverse the perception of fragility is in art. Here too, we must take into consideration the materials used, such as glass, porcelain, ice and ashes. But beyond their risk of being broken, the works reproduced ask us to contemplate life’s impermanence, our fragile relationship to the other, to disappearance, loss or death. Thus, the breakable leads to the precarious, the tactile to the evanescent, the material to the spiritual.

In choosing this theme, we hoped to elicit thoughts that would go beyond artistic fragility and address, among others, human fragility. We certainly did not anticipate having such a close experience with death. We would have preferred watching it from afar, simply evoking its role as an essential source of inspiration in art and literature. It turned out otherwise. The untimely death of a colleague and friend, artist, writer and curator Patrice Duhamel, has confronted us abruptly, violently, with our fragility as human beings. In an unpublished text entitled “Les seuils de l’inquiétude” [The Thresholds of Restlessness], Patrice wrote: “I’m listening because I’m a restless subject in a state of alert. It’s already a sort of suspense. I’m trying to understand the place that’s been given to me, the place I occupy in this world. I’m listening because I want to decipher, because in so doing I ‘gather’ and I ‘read’ according to the etymology of this word, and so I record. I’m listening because, as wrote Roland Barthes, I’m also saying, imperatively, ‘listen to me.’” The greatest tribute that we could pay this artist who was active in every aspect of art will certainly be to “listen” to him through his work and to continue to disseminate his voice. So we’ve invited Jean-Pierre Vidal, who wrote a brilliant piece on a Patrice Duhamel exhibition in issue no. 51 of esse, to take a fresh look at his recent work, as beautiful and rich as what preceded it. We hope that these few pages will contribute to keep Patrice Duhamel’s work alive in our collective memory.

[Translated from the French by Colette Tougas]

Image: Patrice Duhamel, « Molsk 25 », Petit carnet, 2007. Photo: Patrice Duhamel

64 - Waste - Automne - 2008
Sylvette Babin

The presence of waste in contemporary art certainly doesn’t have the same provocative impact as when the avant-gardes used it at the beginning of the twentieth century. Similarly, the debunking of the art object through the use of “poor materials” instead of “noble materials” makes little sense at a time when garbage bins, landfill sites and drop-off centres have become the new suppliers of artists’ materials. However, the collection of discarded items, the transformation of rubbish, scrap or refuse—pick your designation—and the use of waste as subject matter for photography are recurrent practices in today’s art. What does this gesture mean nowadays? Has provocation been replaced by exposure?

Now that waste accumulation has become an increasing source of worry and that recycling is no longer just an option, the ecological question certainly stands out in the association between art and waste. Moreover, one could read in this encounter a critique of consumer society. In the last decades, we have witnessed the production—in excessive quantity, at infernal speed and, moreover, at a cheap cost in Chinese factories—of objects that are more readily discarded than repaired. As a result, the supply in material resources is particularly easy for the gleaner artist—a sad privilege. Our intention is not to state a situation of which we are all aware.1 Twenty-first century citizens, including artists, are certainly the most informed in the history of humankind. However, they continue to consume massively as if this state of affairs were unsolvable or as if it were the price to pay for our species’ comfort. Obviously, we cannot blame the sole production of waste for all our environmental problems—even if the word refers not only to domestic garbage but also to industrial and toxic refuse, etc.—but neither can we entrust the task of finding a solution to citizens only. As mentioned in a excerpt from Libération quoted by Éloïse Guénard on page 16 of this issue, “While attributing culpability to citizens and in proposing a facile expiation of their sins by means of small, individual gestures, we forget to explain to them that a good number of the public policies to which we subscribe are anti-ecological.” While we should not, at the risk of destroying any sense of individual responsibility, give the impression that personal gestures have no impact on the environment, can we expect significant change to happen if our leaders don’t take drastic measures?

The previous paragraph might suggest that this issue has a strong ecological content. It is not however the main perspective privileged by our authors. It doesn’t mean that such preoccupations are not echoed in their essays but rather that they chose to consider waste for what it is, i.e., a meaningful object, with an important cultural and historical background, which has the potential to make us think and the capacity to be transformed into an artwork. Some examples of such work can be seen in our portfolio section, where artists, in the descriptions they give of their work, show that beyond aesthetic concerns they want to question lifestyles that lead to the overproduction of waste. In her book Quand les déchets deviennent art, Lea Vergine writes: “Trash is a direct, meticulous and indisputable document of the habits and behaviours of those that produce it, that goes even beyond their own convictions or self-perception.” [2] This sentence encapsulates rather well this issue where waste, in its multiple forms and locations, and the artworks derived from it show us a bit more who we are.

NOTES :

1. Those who are not that aware might want to consult a very lucid book written by astrophysicist Hubert Reeves, Mal de Terre, a dark yet realistic portrait of the current state of the Planet, with a rather exhaustive description of various forms of waste that have disastrous consequences on the environment. Hubert Reeves (with Frédéric Lenoir), Mal de Terre (Paris, Seuil, 2003).
2. Lea Vergine, Quand les déchets deviennent art. Trash, rubbish, mungo, (Milano: Skira, 2007).

[Translated from the French by Colette Tougas]

63 - Mutual Actions - Printemps / été - 2008
Sylvette Babin

This issue on “Mutual Actions” is an exploration of two overlapping notions: interactivity, which refers mainly to the relationship between a person and a machine—notably in technological pieces calling for the viewer’s participation—and interaction, which elicits a connexion between individuals, i.e., the artist and members of the audience. In both cases, we can turn to the word “spect-actor,” a neologism which despite its sometimes arbitrary use raises exactly this question of active participation on the part of the viewer in contemporary artistic practices. This participative aspect, although it goes back a long way, still deserves to be questioned not only in terms of its constitutive modalities, but also with regards to its genuine efficiency in opening up to the Other.

Our theme was put forward to writers as a series of questions, and some of our contributors drew directly from them for inspiration. Here are some examples. Has technology become a necessary interface to address interactivity? How can the artist’s role be differentiated from that of the participant or the work itself? How can we rethink the public sphere and intersubjectivity under the sway of technique? Is the image a passive or active entity? Does it accept the gaze or is it a vehicle for subjection? Can it be grasped as a pragmatic entity, i.e., as the subject of mutual action? In a society of the spectacle, what does participation mean? Does the sphere of mutual action go beyond the sphere of representation? Has contemporary art succeeded in renewing mutual action as effective political action?

Deliberately open to various perspectives, this issue tries to answer one or several of these questions. It features essays reflecting upon practices that use so-called relational strategies or questioning the idea of interactivity as such, as well as analyses of various media and web art practices. The writers also examine more indirect or symbolic types of participation, with mirrors and reflection acting as forms of engagement with the viewer. From the practices studied here, be they interactive or interactional, a constant seems to emerge: the desire to develop a less autarchic form of art. It is in fact the main objective of mutual actions. Do these so-called interactive technological apparatuses make it really possible for the viewer to interact with or even modify the work? Do interactional works truly open zones of significant exchange between artist and viewer? These questions remain open.

[Translated from the French by Colette Tougas]

62 - Fear II - Hiver - 2008
Sylvette Babin

The Other Fear
By Sylvette Babin

From the thoughts shared by authors and artists alike, it’s hard not to notice how widespread fear is in our lives. The publication of this second issue on the theme of fear allows us to further examine the vast expanse of human anxieties. Designed as a diptych, the issues graphically mirror and complement one another (beginning with the reversed translation of the word on the covers) with texts and images that explore fear in various social and emotional manifestations through a vast array of artistic mediums. Aside from film and video (more readily associated with the theme), painting, installation, performance and web art have been addressed in both issues.

Of all the fears that overwhelm us—death being the ultimate one—fear of the other seems the most common. It is at least the most worrying, judging by the multiplicity of conflicts that stem from it. It’s an insidious fear, often based on ignorance, that hits us at our most vulnerable—cultural identity, for example—and that finds social justification in collectively acknowledging some sort of “threat.” Fear of the other is increasingly accepted, even encouraged as a normal attitude towards otherness. In such a context it’s not surprising that fear of the other is mentioned in most of the essays published in this issue. Thus, strangeness is evoked as an artistic means of disruption (Albano); fear as well as citizens’ and artists’ reactions to it are observed in various political and economical contexts (Llevat Soy, Krpic); the doctoring of information to create panic situations and the role of the media in fabricating fear are also analysed (Cramerotti, Paris). On the latter, the notion of “creative propaganda” suggests that fear campaigns are not the prerogative of the media or of power structures but that they are also used as means of persuasion by organisations involved in “noble” causes.

But fear is not solely political, writes André-Louis Paré, it also has to do with our being-together. The fear of death and of the everyday, the difficulty of life in society, and the fear of difference or the fear of rejection for one’s own singularity are some of the affects that artists explore in these pages. Moreover, whereas most of the essays deal with various attitudes of mistrust against the Other, Alberto Aceti expresses with a wry sense of humour his own fear that religious fundamentalisms might become obstacles to freedom of expression. His position certainly has the potential to rekindle the debate on intolerance but it also reminds us that embracing the other is not just a nice theory. The almost clichéd example of reasonable accommodations in Quebec shows us that the much needed recognition and respect of differences requires first and foremost the ability to recognise one’s self in order to defeat the fear of loosing one’s identity. From all of this, let’s remember how important encounter and presence are in bringing down the culture of fear. Being-together not only opposes isolation and the formation of media fed opinions, it also gives us the opportunity to learn directly about and from the other.

[Translated from the French by Colette Tougas]

Pages

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

éditorial

66 - Disparition - Printemps / été - 2009
Sylvette Babin
David K. Ross, Martha Fleming/Lyne Lapointe: 50,400 seconds, 2008. Photo : David K. Ross

Nulle intention dans ce dossier portant sur la disparition d’annoncer la mort de l’art maintes fois prédite depuis quelques décennies. Tout au plus confirmons-nous, encore une fois, la tendance récurrente à délaisser l’objet d’art au profit du dispositif, de la rencontre ou de l’expérience artistique, une attitude qui a certainement marqué nos dernières thématiques (Déchets et Fragile), et dont nous aurions pu, avec celle-ci, faire une trilogie. Oserions-nous alors proclamer la disparition de l’objet ou plus précisément la fin du régime de l’objet d’art ? C’est notamment sur cette question que certains auteurs se sont penchés, réfléchissant sur le désir de nombreux artistes de « ne pas produire d’objet tangible tout en existant dans le système » (Desmet). C’est peut-être d’ailleurs le constat premier que nous pourrions faire ici : avec ou sans objet, visibles ou invisibles prônant l’éphémère, les artistes soi-disant sans œuvre persistent à s’insérer dans le système, à laisser une trace, une image, une histoire. Les pages qui suivent ne sont d’ailleurs pas dépourvues d’œuvres : pour la plupart, des photographies numériques de très hautes définitions. S’il n’y a pas toujours présence « d’objets » (dans de nombreux cas, nous sommes bel et bien devant des pièces vides), ce n’en est pas moins la preuve qu’il y a eu gestes d’art. Ces traces, dont les artistes ou les galeristes prennent grand soin, font maintenant office, personne n’en doute, d’œuvres d’art qui, une fois l’expérience dissipée, seront exposées dans différents lieux de monstration. Processus inévitable de préservation de la mémoire, l’intangible se matérialise inexorablement dans l’archive. Ainsi l’objet d’art résiste à sa disparition.

Le thème de la disparition n’a pas seulement été exploré en termes d’absence d’œuvres ou d’objets, mais aussi dans son rapport à l’immatérialité, à l’impalpable et à l’évanescent. Dispositifs œuvrant sur la perception, œuvres effacées aux regards, fictions poétiques sur la décomposition de la matière ou sur la mort sont des propositions qui, dans ce numéro, font plutôt référence à la disparition du sujet. D’ailleurs, en marge de ce dossier, nous retrouvons dans une approche plus politique et d’autant plus troublante un essai sur la disparition du citoyen au sein des régimes totalitaires (Vera). Ici toutefois, aucune trace n’a été laissée.

La participation active du public fait aussi partie des éléments récurrents dans ce dossier. Pour que les œuvres « disparues » reprennent leur statut d’œuvres et se retrouvent en ces pages, il a certainement fallu un travail de « reconstitution », qui dans plusieurs cas a été laissé aux soins de ceux qui ont prit part à l’expérience. Que ce soit en parcourant une œuvre pour la rendre effective (Schneider), en la cherchant (Fridfinnsson), en la mémorisant (Pope) ou en l’inventant littéralement (Tiravanija), le spectateur est devenu celui par qui l’œuvre a pu exister. Cette affirmation duchampienne, qui ne semble pas prête à disparaître dans l’art du 21e siècle, confirme peut-être que si l’artiste tend à faire disparaître l’œuvre d’art, il n’en remet pas moins à autrui le mandat de la faire réapparaître.

65 - Fragile - Hiver - 2009
Sylvette Babin
Patrice Duhamel, Molsk 26, Petit carnet, 2007.

C’est en continuité avec les dossiers précédents portant sur les actions réciproques et le déchet que nous avons voulu produire ce numéro, en posant un regard sur la fragilisation des différents paramètres de l’art, de ses matériaux, de ses dispositifs et de ses modes de production, jusqu’à la fragilisation de la figure même de l’artiste. C’est aussi dans cet esprit que les auteurs ont répondu à notre appel, rendant possible une réflexion élargie où le fragile apparaît sous sa forme matérielle – par la friabilité de l’objet ou le caractère éphémère de l’œuvre, et subséquemment par leurs modalités de conservation –, et où il est également pensé sous les divers aspects ontologiques qui le sous-tendent. Ainsi la fragilité trouve-t-elle sa place dans un essai sur le sublime et l’esthétique de l’inadéquation rencontrés dans des natures mortes photographiques – celles-ci mises en parallèle avec les Vanités de la Renaissance (Falvey) –, tandis que la singularité de l’être (et par extension sa fragilité) est opposée à la notion de plasticité, soulignant notamment les tentatives de dépasser la matière (en l’occurrence le verre et le plastique) « pour en révéler “l’esprit”, c’est-à-dire sa teneur culturelle et civilisationnelle » (Poulin). Bien sûr, les multiples orientations des analyses ont été inspirées par autant d’œuvres traitant, directement ou indirectement, de la fragilité. Plus que jamais nous remarquons que ce sont les œuvres elles-mêmes, par leur délicatesse, par la précarité de leur mise en forme ou par la symbolique des sujets et des matériaux choisis, qui ont motivé les propos des auteurs. Ainsi la nature éphémère des installations de Chih-Chien Wang et Joanne Poitras, la charge figurative du sucre chez Aude Moreau, les projets immatériels de Patrick Beaulieu et l’approche intimiste de Sophie Calle ont-ils servi de base solide à la formulation des différentes théories et contribué à l’équilibre entre l’œuvre et son analyse, une des forces de ce dossier.

Le portfolio fait également état de la diversité de la perception du fragile dans l’art. Ici encore, un regard sur la matière est incontournable : l’usage du verre, de la porcelaine, de la glace et des cendres en sont de beaux exemples. Mais au-delà du risque de voler en éclats, les œuvres publiées appellent une réflexion sur la délicate essence de l’être, sur la fragilité des relations avec l’autre, sur la disparition, la perte ou la mort. Ainsi, le cassable fait-il place au précaire, le palpable à l’évanescent, le matériel au spirituel.

En choisissant cette thématique, nous avions souhaité solliciter des réflexions qui se positionneraient au-delà de la fragilité de l’œuvre, en traitant, notamment, de la fragilité humaine. Nous n’avions certainement pas envisagé de côtoyer la mort d’aussi près. Nous aurions préféré l’observer de loin, l’évoquer simplement comme une source inévitable d’inspiration pour l’art et pour la littérature. Il en fut autrement. Le décès prématuré d’un collègue et ami, l’artiste, auteur et commissaire Patrice Duhamel, nous confronte brusquement, violemment, à la fragilité de l’être. Dans un texte inédit intitulé « Les seuils de l’inquiétude », Patrice écrivait : « J’écoute parce que je suis un sujet inquiet et en état d’alerte. C’est déjà une sorte de suspense. Je cherche à comprendre la place qui m’est octroyée et que j’occupe en ce monde. J’écoute parce que je veux déchiffrer, parce qu’ainsi je “cueille” et je “lis” selon l’étymologie de ce mot et donc j’enregistre. J’écoute parce que, comme le pense Roland Barthes, je dis à la fois, impérativement, “écoutes-moi” ». Pour cet artiste qui a travaillé sur tous les fronts de l’art, le plus bel hommage à lui rendre sera certainement de « l’écouter », à travers son œuvre, et de continuer à faire connaître son travail. Aussi avons-nous invité Jean Pierre Vidal, qui avait brillamment écrit sur une exposition de Patrice Duhamel dans le numéro 51 de esse, à poser un nouveau regard sur ses toutes dernières œuvres, aussi belles et riches que les précédentes. Nous espérons que ces quelques pages contribueront à préserver l’Œuvre de Patrice Duhamel dans la mémoire collective.

Image : Patrice Duhamel, « Molsk 26 », Petit carnet, 2007. Photo : Patrice Duhamel

64 - Déchets - Automne - 2008
Sylvette Babin

La présence du déchet dans l’art actuel n’a certainement pas le même pouvoir de provocation qu’à ses premières apparitions au tout début des avant-gardes, tout comme la désacralisation de l’objet d’art par l’opposition entre « matériau pauvre » et « matériau noble » a peu de sens à une époque où les poubelles, les sites d’enfouissement et les écocentres sont devenus les nouveaux fournisseurs de matériel d’artistes. Pourtant, la collecte de matières abandonnées, la transformation des détritus, des rebuts ou des ordures – les dénominations foisonnent – et l’utilisation du déchet comme sujet photographique sont des pratiques récurrentes dans les nouvelles manifestations artistiques. Quelle portée donne-t-on à ce geste aujourd’hui ? La provocation aurait-elle fait place à la sensibilisation ?

À l’heure où l’accumulation des déchets devient un sujet de plus en plus préoccupant, et le recyclage une attitude indispensable, la question écologique nous apparaîtra comme une évidence dans l’association art et déchet. On pourrait, par ailleurs, y entrevoir une critique de la société de consommation. Les dernières décennies nous ont vu produire en quantité excessive et à un rythme infernal – qui plus est, à des coûts dérisoires sur le marché du cheap labor chinois – des objets qui sont plus facilement jetés que réparés. Conséquemment, l’approvisionnement en ressources matérielles s’avère particulièrement facile pour les artistes glaneurs. Triste privilège. Toutefois, notre intention n’est pas de faire état d’une situation dont nous sommes tous parfaitement conscients (1). Le citoyen du 21e siècle, dont l’artiste, est certainement l’être le plus conscientisé de toute l’histoire de l’humanité. Pourtant, il poursuit sa consommation massive comme s’il s’agissait d’un état de fait irrémédiable ou du prix à payer pour le confort de l’espèce. Bien entendu, on ne saurait attribuer tous les problèmes environnementaux à la seule production de déchets – quoique le mot ne réfère pas simplement aux ordures domestiques, mais aussi aux déchets industriels, aux émanations toxiques, etc. – ni en confier la cure au seul citoyen. Comme le mentionne un extrait de Libération cité par Éloïse Guénard en page 16 de ce dossier, « tout en culpabilisant les citoyens et en leur proposant une expiation facile de leurs péchés par des petits gestes individuels, on oublie de leur expliquer que nombre de politiques publiques que l’on choisit de mener sont anti-écologiques ». Bien qu’il ne faille pas, au risque de se déresponsabiliser, laisser croire que les actions individuelles n’ont aucun impact environnemental, pourra-t-on réellement espérer un changement significatif si aucune mesure draconienne n’est prise par nos dirigeants ?

Le paragraphe précédent laisse sous-entendre un dossier fortement engagé dans des questionnements écologiques. Ce n’est pourtant pas la voie principale empruntée par les auteurs. Non que ces préoccupations ne trouvent pas échos dans leurs essais, mais plutôt parce qu’ils répondent également à un désir d’observer d’abord le déchet pour ce qu’il est : un objet riche (ou lourd) de sens, possédant un important bagage culturel et historique, le potentiel de susciter la réflexion et le pouvoir d’être transformé en œuvre d’art. Nous pouvons notamment apprécier quelques-unes de ces œuvres dans la section « Portfolios », et constater dans les descriptions de celles-ci que les artistes, au-delà de leurs préoccupations esthétiques, ont aussi cette volonté de questionner les modes de vie menant à la surproduction de déchets. Par ailleurs, dans son livre Quand les déchets deviennent art, Lea Vergine écrit : « Les déchets sont un document direct, minutieux et incontestable concernant les habitudes et les comportements de ceux qui les ont produits, au-delà même de leur propre conviction ou de la perception qu’ils ont d’eux-mêmes (2). » Une phrase qui résume assez bien l’essence d’un dossier où les multiples formes de déchets, les lieux qui les reçoivent et les différentes œuvres qui en découlent pourront nous en apprendre un peu plus sur nous-mêmes.

NOTES
(1) Mais pour ceux qui ne le seraient pas, mentionnons au passage le très lucide ouvrage de l’astrophysicien Hubert Reeves, Mal de terre, qui trace un portrait sombre mais réaliste de l’état actuel de la planète, avec une description assez exhaustive des différentes formes de déchets ayant des effets néfastes sur l’environnement. Hubert Reeves (avec Frédéric Lenoir), Mal de Terre, Paris, Seuil, 2003.
(2) Lea Vergine, Quand les déchets deviennent art. Trash, rubbish, mungo, Milan, Skira, 2007.

63 - Actions réciproques - Printemps / été - 2008
Sylvette Babin

Le dossier « Actions réciproques » propose une réflexion où se chevauchent l’interactivité, qui renvoie surtout à la relation entre individu et machine – notamment dans des œuvres technologiques nécessitant la participation du spectateur – et l’interaction, qui appelle plutôt une relation entre individus, ici entre l’artiste et les membres du public. Dans les deux cas, nous pourrions solliciter le néologisme « spec-acteur » qui, malgré un usage parfois arbitraire, soulève justement cette question de participation active dans les pratiques artistiques contemporaines. Cet aspect participatif, qui ne date pas d’hier, mérite encore d’être questionné, non seulement dans ses modalités constitutives, mais aussi en ce qui concerne son efficience réelle quant à l’ouverture souhaitée sur l’autre.

D’entrée de jeu, la proposition lancée aux auteurs a pris la forme d’une série de questions qui en ont inspiré plusieurs. En voici quelques exemples. L’interface de la technologie est-elle devenue nécessaire pour aborder l’interactivité ? Comment départir le rôle de l’artiste de celui du participant ou de l’œuvre elle-même ? Comment doit-on repenser la sphère publique, voire celle de l’intersubjectivité, sous l’emprise de la technique ? L’image est-elle une entité active ou passive, réceptacle du regard ou vecteur d’assujettissement ? Peut-elle être saisie en tant qu’entité pragmatique, c’est-à-dire en tant que sujet d’une action réciproque ? Que signifie « participer » dans une société du spectacle ? La sphère des actions réciproques déborde-t-elle de la sphère de la représentation ? L’art contemporain a-t-il su renouveler l’action réciproque en tant qu’action politique effective ?

Volontairement ouvert sur différents points de vue, le dossier tente de répondre à l’une ou l’autre de ces interrogations. On y retrouve, par exemple, des réflexions sur des stratégies dites relationnelles, des questionnements sur le sens même du terme interactivité ou sur son utilisation parfois inadéquate, ainsi que des analyses de différentes pratiques dans les arts médiatiques et l’art web. On y aborde également des types de participation plus indirects ou symboliques, dont ceux utilisant le miroir et la réflexion comme forme « d’engagement » avec le spectateur. Que les pratiques étudiées dans ces pages soient interactives ou interactionnelles, une certaine constante semble se dessiner quant au désir de développer un art moins autarcique. Il s’agit bien là, d’ailleurs, de l’objectif principal des actions réciproques. Quant à savoir si les dispositifs dits interactifs laissent vraiment au public la possibilité d’interagir avec l’œuvre, voire de la modifier, ou si les œuvres interactionnelles ouvrent réellement, entre l’artiste et le spectateur, des zones d’échanges signifiantes, la question demeure ouverte.

62 - Peur II - Hiver - 2008
Sylvette Babin

L’autre peur
Sylvette Babin

Il faut que la peur soit grande pour susciter autant de réflexions chez les auteurs et les artistes. Aussi la publication d’un second dossier sur le sujet nous permet de parcourir un peu plus le vaste territoire des inquiétudes humaines. Conçus comme un diptyque, les deux numéros se répondent graphiquement (déjà par le jeu de traduction en page couverture) et se complètent par leur contenu traitant de la peur sous ses différentes manifestations sociales et affectives, le tout par le biais d’un large éventail de disciplines artistiques. Ainsi, en plus du cinéma et la vidéo (que l’on associe plus spontanément au thème), la peinture, l’installation, la performance et l’art web ont été abordés dans ces dossiers.

De toutes ces peurs qui nous accablent – outre celle, ultime, de la mort –, la peur de l’autre semble la plus fréquente. Du moins est-elle la plus préoccupante, si l’on en juge par la multiplicité des conflits qu’elle génère. C’est une peur insidieuse, souvent basée sur l’ignorance, qui s’infiltre là où l’individu se sent le plus vulnérable – dans son identité culturelle par exemple – et qui se justifie socialement dans la reconnaissance collective d’une « menace ». De plus en plus, la peur de l’autre est une peur acceptée et même entretenue comme une attitude normale face à l’altérité. Dans un tel contexte, il n’est pas étonnant de constater que la peur de l’autre est évoquée dans la plupart des textes de ce numéro. On y traite notamment de l’étrangeté comme moyen artistique de susciter le malaise (Albano), de l’évolution de la peur dans différents climats politiques et économiques, ainsi que des attitudes adoptées par le citoyen ou par l’artiste, pour y répondre (Llevat Soy, Krpic), de la manipulation des informations pouvant créer des situations de panique et du rôle que jouent les médias dans la fabrication de la peur (Paris, Cramerotti). À ce sujet, la notion de « propagande créative » suggère que les campagnes de peur ne sont pas l’apanage des médias ou des structures de pouvoir, mais s’avèrent aussi des moyens de persuasion employés par des organismes engagés dans de « nobles » causes.

La peur n’est pas que politique, nous dit André-Louis Paré, elle est aussi une affection liée à notre être en commun. Ainsi, la peur de la mort, la peur du quotidien, la difficulté de vivre en société, la crainte de la différence ou du rejet de sa singularité sont quelques-uns des affects explorés par les artistes en ces pages. Par ailleurs, si la plupart des textes déplorent, en quelque sorte, les nombreuses attitudes de méfiance envers l’autre, Alberto Aceti exprime, quant à lui, non sans humour, sa crainte que les fondamentalismes religieux ne deviennent une entrave à la liberté d’expression. Une position qui pourrait certainement réactiver le débat sur la tolérance, mais qui nous rappelle aussi que l’ouverture à l’autre n’est pas qu’une belle théorie. L’exemple quasi cliché des accommodements raisonnables au Québec démontre bien que le nécessaire travail de reconnaissance et de respect des différences demande avant tout une capacité de se reconnaître soi-même pour se défaire enfin de la peur de perdre sa propre identité. À travers ces diverses réflexions, retenons finalement l’importance de la rencontre et de la présence pour contrer la culture de la peur. Car si l’être ensemble fait opposition à l’isolement et à la formation des opinions par le biais unique des médias par exemple, c’est aussi cet être ensemble qui permet l’apprentissage de l’autre.

Pages

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Rubriques



Boutique

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598