Small is beautiful?

Sylvette Babin

Things tiny and things gigantic — or every entity that greatly differs in size from that of humans — have an immense power to fascinate. Perhaps it is because small-scale objects inevitably call to mind the world of childhood and the numerous miniatures it contains (dollhouses, scale models, figurines) and, by association, the phantasmagorical universe of such fairy tales as Little Thumb, Alice in Wonderland, and Gulliver’s Travels. Or perhaps it is these miniature works’ fine details and apparent perfection that create a sense of wonder. As John Mack notes in The Art of Small Things, “Enlargement magnifies imperfection; reduction diminishes it. One aspect of the miniature is that it erases such physical defects and resolves them, in the eye of the beholder, into fragile beauty.”(1) But what lurks behind such frail beauty? Are miniatures really about ideal and marvellous worlds?

The small scale of miniatures allows one to take in that which in normal circumstances would exceed one’s visual capacities. Beyond such a utilitarian function, which makes models useful in such fields as architecture, cinema, and theatre, small-scale representations afford the possibility of a panoptic vision of things normally lying beyond the visual field. As a result, new perceptions of the world are sometimes engendered. When Jonathan Swift’s Gulliver observes the customs of the Lilliputians from his “giant’s” vantage point, that society’s shortcomings come into sharp focus. Although such microcosms, be they literary miniatures or small-scale artworks, seem merely to contain wonderful kinds of worlds, a closer look reveals, in many cases, that they are in fact the stage on which particularly sombre situations are played out.

This issue’s thematic section is devoted to the analysis of a few cases of miniaturization in contemporary art. Be it due to chance or to the nature of current artistic preoccupations, the majority of projects covered are three-dimensional or photographic. Here, the works’ delicate natures will no doubt initially catch one’s fancy, and to the inattentive viewer they might remain bucolic landscapes, quaint genre scenes, or even pleasant utopias. However, in many instances a more attentive eye will discover hidden dystopias. In fact, the works at hand are a far cry from the world of fairy tales, as these miniatures reproduce very real situations. Ecological disaster, the excesses of industrialization, historical conflicts, or the undermining of modernist architecture — such are some of the issues addressed by these works — which openly sustain a form of social critique. Moreover, the essays’ respective authors argue the case for the pertinence of the miniature in contemporary art from diverse vantage points. Thus, their potentially expansive readings of these minute constructions make use of such categories as the playful, the deceptive, and the simulacral; some texts also address the beholder’s relation the intimate.

In the final analysis, to broach the question of works in miniature is to change one’s relation to space. It may well be that miniature worlds have little impact on our understanding of them when we regard them from our human scale. A closer look is often insufficient. Since we cannot become tiny at will like Alice in Wonderland and enter into these small universes, we are compelled to make use of our imagination. We are thus required to constantly shift our attention to-and-fro: as giants we seize the work in totality; as Lilliputians we take part in the situations they present.

[Translated from the French by Eduardo Ralickas]

1. John Mack, The Art of Small Things, Harvard University Press, 2007, 12.

Auteurs: 

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



Auction


Information



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Small is beautiful?

Sylvette Babin

Le minuscule, comme le gigantesque et au demeurant tout être ou chose dont la dimension s’éloigne de l’échelle humaine, exerce sur l’individu un immense pouvoir de fascination. Probablement est-ce parce que l’objet de petite taille nous ramène inévitablement au monde de l’enfance et à ses nombreuses miniaturisations du réel (maisons de poupée, modèles réduits, figurines), nous plongeant par le fait même dans l’univers fantasmagorique du conte, évoquant tour à tour le Petit Poucet, Alice au pays des merveilles ou les voyages de Gulliver. Ce sont peut-être aussi la finesse du détail et l’apparence de perfection des œuvres miniatures qui émerveillent, comme le souligne John Mack dans son ouvrage The Art of Small Things: « L’agrandissement amplifie les imperfections ; la réduction les atténue. Un aspect de la miniature est qu'elle efface les défauts physiques et les dissipe, dans l’œil de celui qui regarde, en une beauté fragile (1). » Mais que trouve-t-on derrière cette frêle beauté ? Sommes-nous réellement en présence de mondes idéaux et merveilleux ?

L’échelle réduite de la miniature permet d’embrasser du regard ce qui à l’origine ne pourrait être perçu dans son ensemble. Au-delà de cette fonction utilitaire que l’on attribue généralement aux maquettes, par exemple dans les domaines de l’architecture, du cinéma et du théâtre, la possibilité de poser un regard panoptique sur ce qui habituellement se soustrait à notre champ de vision suscite parfois de nouvelles perceptions du monde. Ainsi, lorsque le Gulliver de Jonathan Swift observe les us et coutumes de la société lilliputienne de son point de vue de « géant », il en constate rapidement les travers. Que l’on se réfère aux miniatures littéraires ou aux créations artistiques de dimension réduite, ces microcosmes qui, de prime abord, semblent contenir des univers fabuleux, s’avèrent parfois le théâtre de situations particulièrement sombres lorsque nous les observons d’un peu plus près.

Le présent dossier propose d’analyser quelques-unes des différentes manifestations de la miniature en art. Concours de circonstances ou reflet des préoccupations des artistes actuels, la majorité des projets couverts relèvent surtout de l’objet en trois dimensions ou de la photographie. Ici également, la délicatesse des œuvres fascine d’emblée et laisse présumer au regardeur non attentif quelques paysages bucoliques, de sympathiques petites scènes de la vie quotidienne ou d’amusantes utopies. Pourtant, dans plusieurs cas, une observation attentive nous amène à découvrir les dystopies qui s’y dissimulent. On remarquera d’ailleurs que nous nous éloignons de plus en plus du conte pour nous retrouver devant les reproductions miniatures de situations bien réelles. Désastres écologiques, industrialisation à outrance, drames historiques ou remises en question de l’architecture moderniste sont alors au cœur de certaines œuvres, témoignant d’une critique sociale évidente. Les auteurs contribuant à ce dossier proposent en outre plusieurs angles d’analyse à l’égard de la miniature. Ainsi, le jeu et le ludique, le leurre et le simulacre ou le rapport à l’intime offrent à ces minuscules constructions d’immenses possibilités de lecture.

Il faut néanmoins changer notre rapport à l’espace pour aborder les œuvres miniatures. À échelle humaine, le monde du minuscule pourrait n’avoir que peu d’incidence sur notre compréhension de ce qui s’y joue, et se rapprocher peut ne pas être suffisant pour en saisir l’ampleur. Puisque nous ne pouvons pas, telle Alice, rapetisser à volonté pour entrer dans ces petits univers, un effort d’imagination s’impose. Cela implique de constants allers-retours entre la position du géant, pour saisir l’œuvre dans son ensemble, et celui du lilliputien, pour prendre part aux situations qui nous sont présentées.

1) John Mack, The Art of Small Things, Harvard University Press, Cambridge, Massachussetts, 2007, p. 12. [Trad. libre]

Auteurs: 

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598