Duke & Battersby

Mylène Ferrand
  • Duke & Battersby, Here is everything, video still, 2013. Photo: courtesy of the artists
  • Duke & Battersby, Here is everything, video still, 2013. Photo: courtesy of the artists
  • Duke & Battersby, Here is everything, video still, 2013. Photo: courtesy of the artists
  • Duke & Battersby, Here is everything, video still, 2013. Photo: courtesy of the artists
  • Duke & Battersby, Lesser Apes, video still, 2013. Photo: courtesy of the artists
  • Duke & Battersby, Lesser Apes, video still, 2013. Photo: courtesy of the artists
  • Duke & Battersby, Lesser Apes, video still, 2013. Photo: courtesy of the artists

Subtitling their website with the motto “Art is for Empathy,” Canadian artist duo Duke & Battersby take a philosophical interest in the relationships between human and non--human animals. Emotion lies at the heart of their video installations and experimental short films, in which they mix animation, shot sequences, and found footage to present animal characters expressing reflections that are both satirical and poetic.

In Here is Everything (2013), ethical lessons are delivered by a cat and a rabbit that have come from the future. They make use of video, which they consider an essential form of communication for Homo sapiens. In their philosophical-mystical discourse, the two characters conjure death in the following terms: “Trauma is the problem, not death itself…. It’s a mistake to think death is the enemy…. Fight suffering.” By foregrounding the question of suffering, common to all beings endowed with sensitivity, Duke & Battersby detach the work from an anthropocentric point of view to broach an ethical perspective that embraces all living beings.

Pushed to its limits, the question of empathy and interspecific attachment mutates into love in Lesser Apes (2011). This video recounts the love story between Farrah, a primatologist, and Meema, the female bonobo she is studying. The mutual affection is not exclusively platonic but has a sensual dimension. With its tinge of humour, the work is sometimes reminiscent of Nagisa Oshima’s film Max, mon amour (1986), which tells of a romance between Margaret, a young woman, and Max, a chimpanzee escaped from the zoo. Lesser Apes pushes more on the limits of anthropo-heteronormative union, however, as the protagonists, though of different species, are of the same sex.

Duke & Battersby challenge the deeply suprematist idea that there is a single way of being in the world. Their work brings to light the fact that modes of appearance and physical realities of living beings are incomparable, composite, and yet symbiogenetic. The concept of empathy that they envisage reconsiders equality and difference, the particular and the general, within structures of domination or power relationships. Although some modes of existence are still unimaginable today, the effect of foreign contagion that Duke & Battersby develop gives birth both to the monstrosity of art and to potential discoveries.

Translated from the French by Ron Ross

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Features



Shop



esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Duke & Battersby

Mylène Ferrand
  • Duke & Battersby, Here is everything, capture vidéo, 2013. Photo : permission des artistes
  • Duke & Battersby, Here is everything, capture vidéo, 2013. Photo : permission des artistes
  • Duke & Battersby, Here is everything, capture vidéo, 2013. Photo : permission des artistes
  • Duke & Battersby, Here is everything, capture vidéo, 2013. Photo : permission des artistes
  • Duke & Battersby, Lesser Apes, capture vidéo, 2013. Photo : permission des artistes
  • Duke & Battersby, Lesser Apes, capture vidéo, 2013. Photo : permission des artistes
  • Duke & Battersby, Lesser Apes, capture vidéo, 2013. Photo : permission des artistes

La devise « Art is for Empathy » est inscrite sur le site web de Duke & Battersby, duo d’artistes canadiens qui s’intéresse, sous un ancrage philosophique, aux relations entre les animaux humains et non humains. L’émotion est au cœur de leurs installations vidéos et courts films expérimentaux qui – mélangeant animation, images tournées et enregistrements trouvés – présentent des personnages animaliers portant une pensée à la fois satirique et poétique.

Dans Here is Everything (2013), une leçon morale est donnée par un chat et un lapin venus du futur. Ceux-ci font appel à la vidéo, soit une forme de communication qu’ils considèrent comme fondamentale pour les Homo sapiens. Entre autres discours philosophicomystiques, les deux protagonistes évoquent la mort en ces termes : « Le problème, c’est le traumatisme et non la mort en soi. […] C’est une erreur de penser que la mort est une ennemie. […] Combattons la souffrance. » En mettant ainsi de l’avant la question de la souffrance, commune à tous les êtres doués de sensibilité, l’œuvre s’éloigne d’une position anthropocentrique afin d’aborder une perspective éthique pour l’ensemble du vivant.

Poussée à son paroxysme, la question de l’empathie et de l’attachement interspécifique se mute en amour dans Lesser Apes (2011). La vidéo narre l’histoire d’amour entre Farrah, primatologue, et Meema, bonobo femelle qu’elle étudie. Le lien d’affection réciproque n’est plus uniquement platonique, mais possède une dimension charnelle. Non sans humour, l’œuvre peut parfois évoquer le film Max mon amour (1986), de Nagisa Oshima, qui raconte l’idylle entre une jeune femme, Margaret, et Max, chimpanzé rescapé d’un zoo. Lesser Apes repousse toutefois davantage les limites de l’union anthropo/hétéronormative, les protagonistes étant d’espèces différentes, mais de même sexe.

Le travail de Duke & Battersby conteste l’idée profondément suprématiste qu’il n’existerait qu’une manière d’être au monde. Leurs œuvres mettent ainsi en lumière le fait que les modes d’apparition et les réalités physiques des êtres vivants sont incomparables, composites et pourtant symbiogénétiques. Le concept d’empathie, tel que le duo l’envisage, sert à penser l’égalité et la différence, le particulier et le commun, et ce, dans les structures de domination ou les rapports de pouvoir. Si des modes d’existence sont encore inimaginables à ce jour, le travail de contagion empathique étrangère développé par les artistes fait naitre la monstruosité de l’art et son potentiel de découvertes.

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598