Angela Grauerholz

Dominique Sirois- Rouleau
  • Angela Grauerholz, Reading Room for the Working Artist, 2003-2004, VOX, Montréal, 2006. Photo: Michel Brunelle
  • Angela Grauerholz, Reading Room for the Working Artist, détail, 2003-2004. Photo: courtesy of the artist
  • Angela Grauerholz, from the series The Empty Shelf, work in progress. Photo: courtesy of the artist
  • Angela Grauerholz, from the series The Empty Shelf, work in progress. Photo: courtesy of the artist
  • Angela Grauerholz, from the series The Empty Shelf, work in progress. Photo: courtesy of the artist
  • Angela Grauerholz, from the series The Empty Shelf, work in progress. Photo: courtesy of the artist

The Collection: Sense and Absence

Angela Grauerholz’s work offers an archival perspective of the image. At the intersection of different theoretical and sensory perspectives of photography, Grauerholz challenges the autonomy of the image and its potential for holding memory by observing shared sites of modern Western visual culture. In this sense, more than facts, Grauerholz’s documentary manipulations and conservation systems preserve and disseminate, beyond the factual, modes of communication and interpretation of daily life. The identity-related and cultural themes of the work borrow the notion of collection from the form of the library and reveal the institution’s power to assemble things.

Grauerholz’s photographic work sometimes spills over into installation and sculptural — even architec-tural — concerns. She melds photographic language with the language of design and modulates both, sourced from private and public archives, in a way that structures a visual world at the confluence of history and memory. She thus triggers a reflection on the use, the proliferation, and the possible loss of documents. The encounter of unique temporalities and sensibilities suggests a fluctuating, temporary system of representation.

Acting as both curator and librarian, Grauerholz conveys the processes of classifying heterogeneous documents and their influence on modes of reception through spatial organization, in Reading Room for the Working Artist (2003–04), or through the intangible space of the Internet, in atworkandplay (2009). Inspired by the reading room presented by Alexander Rodchenko at the Paris World Fair in 1925 and by the convoluted world of the Web, Grauerholz stages diverse experiences for the reading of documents that echo her image-focused approach to collection, selection, and reflection. The collections and their archiving systems are exposed as stagings of content to be explored and invested with personal perspective.

In Grauerholz’s work, the conditions and codes of the image and the archive allow for the subjective deployment of collective meaning. The spectator may freely translate the arborescent form of the suggested content and participate in the memory — or the amnesia — of the world.

Translated from the French by Käthe Roth

Photo captions
Photo 1: Angela Grauerholz, Reading Room for the Working Artist, 2003-2004, installation view, VOX Centre de l'image contemporaine, Montréal, 2006. Photo: Michel Brunelle
Photo 2: Angela Grauerholz, Reading Room for the Working Artist, détail, 2003-2004. Photo: courtesy of the artist
Photos 3, 4, 5 and 6: Angela Grauerholz, from the series The Empty Shelf, work in progress. Photo: courtesy of the artist

Subscribe to the Newsletter

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

esse arts + opinions

Postal address
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Office address
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598

Angela Grauerholz

Dominique Sirois- Rouleau
  • Angela Grauerholz, Salle de lecture de l'artiste au travail, 2003-2004, vue d'installation, VOX Centre de l'image contemporaine, Montréal, 2006. Photo : Michel Brunelle
  • Angela Grauerholz, Salle de lecture de l'artiste au travail, détail, 2003-2004. Photo : permission de l'artiste
  • Angela Grauerholz, de la série The Empty Shelf, projet en cours. Photo : permission de l'artiste
  • Angela Grauerholz, de la série The Empty Shelf, projet en cours. Photo : permission de l'artiste
  • Angela Grauerholz, de la série The Empty Shelf, projet en cours. Photo : permission de l'artiste
  • Angela Grauerholz, de la série The Empty Shelf, projet en cours. Photo : permission de l'artiste

Sens et absence de la collection

L’œuvre d’Angela Grauerholz porte un regard archivistique sur l’image. Au croisement de différentes perspectives théoriques et sensibles sur la photographie, l’artiste interroge l’autonomie de l’image et son potentiel de mémoire en observant les lieux communs de la culture visuelle moderne et occidentale. En ce sens, les manipulations documentaires et les systèmes de conservation de Grauerholz préservent et diffusent, plus que des faits, des modes de communication et d’interprétation du quotidien. En effet, les thèmes identitaires et culturels de l’œuvre empruntent à la forme de la bibliothèque la notion de collection et révèlent le pouvoir d’assemblage de l’institution.

Le travail photographique de Grauerholz tend parfois vers l’installation et les préoccupations sculpturales, voire architecturales. L’artiste joint le langage photographique à celui du design, module les deux à partir de ses archives personnelles et de la mémoire collective de manière à structurer un univers visuel au confluent de l’histoire et du souvenir. Elle amorce ainsi une réflexion sur l’usage des documents, leur multiplication et leur possible perte. La rencontre des temporalités et des sensibilités singulières suggère un système de représentation fluctuant et impermanent.

À la fois commissaire et bibliothécaire, Grauerholz traduit les processus de classement des documents hétérogènes et leur influence sur les modes de réception, notamment par une organisation spatiale, Salle de lecture de l’artiste au travail (2003-2004), ou par l’espace intangible d’Internet, atworkandplay (2009). Inspirée de la salle de lecture présentée par Alexandre Rodchenko à l’exposition internationale de Paris, en 1925, et par l’univers alambiqué du Web, Grauerholz met en scène diverses expériences de lecture des documents qui font écho à sa démarche de collecte, de sélection et de réflexion centrée sur l’image. Les collections et leurs systèmes d’archives s’exposent comme des mises en scène de contenu à explorer et à investir d’un éclairage personnel.

Les conditions et les codes de l’image et de l’archive affirment chez Grauerholz le déploiement subjectif du sens collectif. Le spectateur traduit librement l’arborescence des contenus suggérés et participe enfin à la mémoire – ou à l’amnésie – du monde.

S'abonner à l'infolettre

 Retrouvez nous sur Twitter !Retrouvez nous sur Facebook !Retrouvez nous sur Instagram !

Publications



Archives


Rubriques



Boutique

Encan


Informations



Contact

esse arts + opinions

Adresse postale
C.P. 47549,
Comptoir Plateau Mont-Royal
Montréal (Québec) Canada
H2H 2S8

Adresse de nos bureaux
2025 rue Parthenais, bureau 321
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H2K 3T2

E. : revue@esse.ca
T. : 1 514-521-8597
F. : 1 514-521-8598